We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cantina Del Vino

La Cantina Del Vino
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Marlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A friendly restaurant featuring good authentic Italian food in a comfortable, modern surroundings. La Cantina Del Vino offers alfresco dining in the warm summer months and a variety of eating experiences including seasonal dishes, home-made Italian favourites and the versatility of Italian style dining outside normal lunch and dinner hours.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent value for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We went to La Cantina for lunch with another couple on Monday 18th August 2014, and had a 12.30 booking, being a Monday it was very quiet in the restaurant at that time. We were warmly welcomed in and chose our meal from the 'Market Lunch' menu, two courses for £14.50 (on Mondays to Saturdays). I chose 'Butterfly sardines with herb crust' as a starter, followed by 'Strips of liver with onion, bacon & red wine' as a main. The food was absolutely delicious in taste and presentation. The menu has quite a variety of alternatives, without offering the suspicious 'many too many choices'; we needed to wait whilst our food was prepared for us as individual orders (no ready prepared meals here). Two large glasses of Sangiovese were about £11 and two extra pudding courses added a further £10. The total bill for four came to £86 including an addition for service and the glasses of wine. So all in all we thought the service and meal were very very good, and value for money excellent, so I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to my friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 88mik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    87
    37
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not really traditional mama's food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Not impressed with the food. It lacked the simplicity and flavours of traditional Italian food. The service was not great either.

Helpful?
3 Thank SB_Henley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Molto Bene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Located behind M & S, just off the main road into Marlow town centre, the restaurant is a bit difficult to find and could do with an indicator sign on the main road. That apart, it's certainly a restaurant worth visiting. The ambience is plain but smart with not much of an outlook. However, the choice and standard of food makes up for the location. The menu is extensive and imaginative with an abundant choice of courses. The food is very good and well presented. The staff is very efficient and courteous. The prices are very reasonable. We'll certainly visit again and very happy to recommend it. Note, however, that the restaurant doesn't have its own parking but a very large public car park is within a couple of minutes walk.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MicD30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sunday Luncheon!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Happened to stumble across this absolute hidden gem after parking within the nearby Waitrose car park! It was the stunning floral displays which first caught our attention & led to investigate the menu & this pretty & picturesque eatery! We were soon very tempted by the menu, a set three course for just £18.50 seemed like an absolute bargain, particularly given the abundance of choice & selection for each course! We were greeted most professionally & offered a very friendly welcome indeed as we were invited to dine inside the quaintly presented restaurant or al fresco! We adopted for al fresco since it was such a beautiful, warm day & it was extremely pleasant watching the trickle of people wander by as we enjoyed what turned out to be an incredible Sunday luncheon! The food was thoroughly delicious, fresh & beautifully presented; melon & park ham & avocado & tomato salad with mozzarella to begin, followed by roast beef & amaretto Creme brûlée & tiramisu to finish! The vegetables were al dente & the beef was melt in your mouth, perfection! The service was impeccable, slick, efficient, friendly & a attentive & we will definitely return next time in the area, although we will be sure to make a reservation as despite not having one this time, it soon became extremely busy, which was not surprising given this place is exceptional!

Helpful?
3 Thank Navilluso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Also found this when walking around Marlow. Booked for a Saturday evening.

Great atmosphere - lovely staff and excellent food. Wine a little on the pricey side.

Well worth a visit

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank busyaccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantina Del Vino also viewed

Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to La Cantina Del Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing