We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but special treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive but special treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just had a night at this hotel, we booked an executive room as I wanted a view of the river and this was my wife’s birthday. Arrived just after 3 and checked in very quickly was taken to our room by the receptionist who was very engaging asking if we had travelled far and was our stay for a special occasion.

When we arrived at the room my wife said wow, the room was very tastefully furnished the only problem would be that there is no air con (it’s an old hotel with loads of character), but reception would loan a fan if required.

We had a meal in the Bowater restaurant which was a set meal, the food was delicious and very rich, the portions were quite small. If you didn’t want to eat at the hotel there are loads of restaurants in Marlow which is just a short walk away.

We had breakfast the following morning again in Bowater’s for the money you get a great buffet choice and full English, it’s not cheap but there is plenty to eat.

Overall we had a great stay and although expensive it was great for a special treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swalesBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    791
    555
    312
    155
    98
See reviews for
246
1,092
24
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here for the second time in a number of months. This trip was better due to a nicer room (overlooking the river and Marlow bridge). The setting of the hotel is really what you are paying for. The breakfast and service was excellent. The only thing that lets this hotel down are the tired bathrooms - I am not sure why these have not been upgraded. All in all, a pleasant stay by the river - and its the views, garden and conservatory restaurant that you are paying the higher room rate for. I would recommend this for a quiet stay in the area.

Room Tip: Room overlooking to river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

Recently visited hotel twice for a summer evening drink. First visit was great and the bar staff in the garden were lovely. On another occasion we went inside the hotel for a drink and the foreign bar waiter was clueless, impatient, rude and could hardly understand a word of english. We asked for two gin & tonics and he couldn't even point us to the gin selection on the menu because he didn't understand what spirits meant. This is a classic example of bad management training. NOT acceptable.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra11-3-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Thirty members of a family assembled from all over the world to celebrate a significant birthday. As one of two early arrivals, we were able to enjoy tea on the terrace over looking the river and catch a glimpse of the bride and groom having a short ceremonial boat ride. My room had a lovely view, was spacious and comfortable and naturally had all the amenities expected. The room for the pre dinner drinks created a lovely small part feel and then we went on to have dinner together. The pre selected meals were served well and without any sense of delay. As all were vegetarian the quality and quantity of the veggies was appreciated.
I slipped away early - had a good and peaceful sleep without any disturbance, the younger members carried on till all hours and their reports were positive.
Flexibility at breakfast was appreciated, accommodating odd numbers at tables, and providing an excellent range of food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elephin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Without doubt the hotel is overpriced, both the rooms, breakfast and the bar. I would only suggest that it would be good value if an offer was taken when booking. We did not use the restaurants and cannot comment on them and they may well be worth the accolades, but they are expensive and there is good dining in Marlow within easy walking distance. The dining areas have lovely riverside views but they monopolise this access and there is no really nice riverside area to just sit in and enjoy, as we have found in other hotels along the Thames. Our classic room had river views over a flat rooftop and was spacious but rather tired, particularly the bathroom which had terrible cold water pressure and the most annoying TV speaker which could not be switched off and was louder than the TV itself. Breakfast was just average and not as good as others and at £19.50 would be unacceptable if not included in any prebooked room cost. All in all, this was a hotel which we had always planned to enjoy as something special, and it was OK - but only because we had a good deal and because the location is so excellent, without that it really was nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstcuckoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed recently with two European friends for one night. Treated ourselves to the feature rooms overlooking the weir. Beautiful room and bathroom and no trouble from teh noise of the weir as the double glazing is excellent.. Superb hotel all round from tea on the lawn to breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the river. In all - 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We have always wanted to stay at this hotel and we did a few nights ago but the experience wasn't as one would expect for the prices charged and the reputation. The rooms were ok but nothing special, carpet needs a good clean. Receptionist could've been more friendly and give us keys that would actually open the door! We looked at the menu and there wasn't much choice. I think its totally over priced and may be once it was a 4 star but I don't think so now - needs a total clean/upgrade.

Room Tip: Check before you book - we saw 3 until we finally picked the one we slept in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
2.4 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Marlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
9.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Compleat Angler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Compleat Angler

Property: Macdonald Compleat Angler
Address: Marlow Bridge, Marlow SL7 1RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Compleat Angler 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after Izaak Walton's famous book on angling, the beautiful four-red star Macdonald Compleat Angler is idyllically located on the banks of the River Thames. The hotel is just a short walk from the Georgian town of Marlow, 10 minutes drive from the M4 and just over an hour away from Central London by train. Beautiful both inside and out, enjoy mouthwatering meals from the recently refurbished, three AA rosette-awarded Riverside Restaurant overlooking Marlow Weir or delicious afternoon tea on the terrace. Alternatively, dine in Sindhu by Michelin-starred Indian Chef, Atul Kochhar. For meetings, strategy days or conferences, our meeting facilities are ideal and our 2 brand new SMART board technology board rooms perfect for inspiring great ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Compleat Angler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Compleat Angler Marlow
Macdonald Compleat Angler Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing