We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
GreenLeadersSilver level
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed on my husbands birthday weekend as we had a reservation at the Hand & Flowers for dinner. On arrival we struggled to park as a result of the overflow car park being submerged in water, obviously no fault of the hotel though. Check in was swift and we were soon in our hotel room which was lovely, a bit on the small side with a view of the car park but spotlessly clean and every luxury thought of. Bathrobes included and heated floor in the bathroom were nice touches in a standard room.
We had afternoon tea in the restaurant and this was a lovely relaxing experience, restaurant itself was nicely decorated with an open fire and we sat with a view of the weir. Service was very attentive, nothing was too much trouble, with refill of tea and coffee being brought over frequently. The food itself was good, with a good selection of cakes although unfortunately we couldn't managed them all!
We had a wonderful nights sleep in a comfy bed and a delicious breakfast the next morning, felt quite disappointed to be leaving. The only slight negative would be the wait to check out, there are only 2 desks and the queue at 11am was quite long. Only a minor thing however and this would obviously not put me off recommending the hotel and we will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your very recent stay at the hotel. You may have noticed that there has been another recent review from guests that also dined at The Hand and Flowers. I am sorry that you struggled to park. Fortunately, the water is almost back to normal levels and away from the car park. I am pleased that you liked the extras such as the under floor heating and bathrobes. For a small charge, it is worth the extra for an Executive River facing double room or for a Feature room that is much larger and with a private balcony overlooking the weir.

I am pleased that you also had the opportunity to enjoy an afternoon tea and enjoy both the cakes and the service and that your evening ended with a comfy bed, followed by a delicious breakfast the following morning. Our beds are made by Hypnos, who have a Royal Warrant. Our reception area is now being refurbished and made slightly larger that we hopefully help with speed on a busy Sunday morning.

I hope we welcome you back again soon,

Kind regards

Gaius Wyncoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    575
    329
    166
    105
See reviews for
261
1,132
25
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Enjoyed the location and venue of the hotel Excellent service at breakfast. Room very nice overlooking weir. However, noise of the weir did keep us awake at night!
Also after checking bill at home found that an extra £3.00 was charged for use of credit card
and also a £1.00 charitable donation which we were not advised about.

Room Tip: Found the "weir view" noisy at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TERESA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for celebrating your anniversary here at The Compleat Angler. I am sure that most people staying at the hotel on a leisure trip and celebrating either a birthday or an anniversary - the location lends itself perfectly for a relaxing break.

I am sorry that the noise of the weir was a little too strong. This may be due to the water levels that we have been experiencing recently. I am sorry if you were not informed about the optional charity donation – we do provide a leaflet of the charities that we support with your key card on arrival. We charge an administration fee to cover some of the credit card costs, whereas there is no charge for the use of a debit card or cash in order that we are transparent and only pass on the relevant costs to those paying by these means. I do hope that this helps explain this. I do hope, however, that you will still return for another special occasion in the near future.

Kind regards

Gaius Wyncoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Celebrated our wedding anniversary with a two night DBB stay and leave feeling refreshed and pleased on all levels.  The hotel, staff and their commitment to guest service and relaxation have been a delight. The dinners and breakfasts in the commended Bowaters restaurant on the edge of the Thames River were of the highest quality for food (and wines at dinner!) and service with a lovely selection of locally sourced, finest food choices. The views from the dining areas overlooking the Thames are picture perfect and were the source of much chatter due to the flooded embankments and the sense of being on a river vessel approaching the raging weir at Marlow! 


The accommodation is very good and our river-facing room was spacious, comfortable, clean and as good as home from home.


Free cloud WiFi is an added bonus for those who need to get connected online occasionally.


A stroll along the Thames Path, both toward the Marlow Lock and in the opposite direction beyond the suspension bridge on the river bank opposite the hotel gardens wants you either clicking the camera shutter with every photo opportunity or envying the eye and skill of artists who can sit quietly and sketch and paint it as we noticed someone doing in the gardens of All Saint's Church.


A short walk into Marlow over the suspension bridge is recommended for a good range of interesting trading stores and much of the charm of bygone shop fronts and historic architecture retained.


Highly recommended and Compleat in every way. Keep up the good work McDonalds and a big thank you to your staff who provide the welcome and personality that make a stay like this memorable and the reason to return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your two night stay at the Compleat Angler. It’s a pleasure to read that you chose the Compleat Angler to celebrate your wedding anniversary and how much you enjoyed the experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences in our award winning Bowaters restaurant and found the service provided both a delight and relaxing. Our executive rooms have partial river views and our feature rooms have full river views which make a stay in the historic town of Marlow unique. It will be my pleasure to share your review with the team here and I am pleased that your stay was memorable for all the right reasons. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Compleat Angler with a newly refurbished Bowaters restaurant in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Gaius Wyncoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Had a wonderful time again. The food was superb and the disco excellent. The fireworks were brilliant despite the weather. A comfortable room with many nice touches. Superb location, looking forward to future stays.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coldan_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay at the Compleat Angler. I was delighted to read that you chose the Compleat Angler to celebrate New Years Eve. It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your New Years Eve meal including the fillet of Scottish beef, served with foie gras. The Piper and the fireworks at midnight most definitely contributed to what was a brilliant evening. I will be passing your kind words of praise onto all those involved in making the evening such a success. I look forward to welcoming you again soon, hopefully before the next New Year.

Kind regards

Gaius Wyncoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent a 2 night New Year Break here. What a lovely experience, cannot fault anything. Room nice and comfortable, plenty of room, food excellent, staff all attentive and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, really dog friendly, can take them in lounge and bar, which is excellent, even offered dog beds on arrival, but we had taken our own. Super location. The New Years Eve fireworks were stunning, (almost as good as London!!). Breakfast choice was tremendous, absolutely everything you could have wanted. Really enjoyed it, we will be going back, soon I hope.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be equally as good as ours I am sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your visit to the Compleat Angler. I am pleased to read that you found the team attentive and friendly and that the food in our award winning Bowaters restaurant was excellent. The firework display shortly after midnight was indeed stunning and contributes towards making the New Years Eve package such a success each year. The Compleat Angler is as you say a dog friendly hotel and I hope he/she was equally as well looked after by our food service team and will join you on your next visit. I will be sure to pass on your kind feedback with the team here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Gaius Wyncoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Being a Venuefinder and booking Hotels daily UK and globally, I needed to be in the Marlow area. Having used the Hotel for some of my clients I decided to check it out for a potential Conference.
What an amazing location, our check-in was good, and very professional, we were shown to our room which was, simply amazing with outstanding views, and really large exceptionally clean and very comfortable. We had drinks in the Bar which is totally lounge sevice, which again was perfect, just one small comment " no draught beer" which seemed a little odd for a hotel of this size, and a prime Venue for Weddings / Events. We decided to walk into the Town fo dinner, where there are so many Restaurants and Bars to choose from. Breakfast was delightful with so much choice and cooked to perfection. The staff and service at this Hotel is just commendable, very very refreshing.
Thank you for such a lovely stay wish we could of stayed longer look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: If possible book feature room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank absolutevenues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review on your recent visit to the Compleat Angler. I am pleased to hear that you had time to relax and enjoy a drink in our cocktail bar and that you found the lounge service “perfect”. The Compleat Angler is indeed an ideal venue for both conferences and weddings with a dedicated team allocated to each event. Our newly refurbished conference rooms will enhance the experience of any business meeting and as you stated the “amazing views” will contribute to making a romantic getaway that little more special, or help the corporate traveller unwind and relax to the sound of the weir. I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team here and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kind regards

Gaius Wyncoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We visited the Compleat Angler for a Christmas family lunch in Bowaters as we live nearby and we enjoyed the experience so much a couple of years ago.

Off to a bit of a sticky start - no one took our coats and we waited in the lounge for 20 minutes before any champagne or canapes arrived - and this was after a prompt. We had been 'checked in' and paid in advance so weren't quite sure what was happening.

However once we were shown to our table -right by the window with amazing views of the river as we had requested - things improved and both the food and the service were sublime.

We had coffee in the quaint little bar area - please can someone replace the sofas here - they have lost any semblance of spring or support and are a bit dangerous to the backs and hips of anyone over 40! The last time we visited there were carols sung at this point but not this year unfortunately.

We did enjoy our meal but would just suggest that that more attention is paid when guests first arrive and also that the furniture is upgraded as suggested.

Overall I would recommend and would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loobylou994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your experience at the Compleat Angler especially relating to your initial experience upon arrival. I apologise for the “sticky start” and will ensure that procedures are put into place to stop this happening in the future. I am pleased to hear that once you were shown through to the Bowaters restaurant with a window table that you found the food and service on what was a particularly busy Christmas day to be sublime. You will be pleased to know that our lounge, bar, reception and restaurant are all under refurbishment at present which will help make future visits as comfortable as possible. Once the children had been informed that Santa was on his way, the Christmas carols did take place by the piano with Santa taking centre stage at approximately 2.45pm. I can only imagine that your party had been taken through to the restaurant at this stage. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to both Saurabh, our Restaurant Manager and Sanobia, our Head Chef and look forward to welcoming you here again on your next visit.

Kind regards

Gaius Wyncoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
2.4 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
3.7 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hurley House Hotel
Hurley House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hurley
62 reviews
9.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Compleat Angler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Compleat Angler

Property: Macdonald Compleat Angler
Address: Marlow Bridge, Marlow SL7 1RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Compleat Angler 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after Izaak Walton's famous book on angling, the beautiful four-red star Macdonald Compleat Angler is idyllically located on the banks of the River Thames. The hotel is just a short walk from the Georgian town of Marlow, 10 minutes drive from the M4 and just over an hour away from Central London by train. Beautiful both inside and out, enjoy mouthwatering meals from the recently refurbished, three AA rosette-awarded Riverside Restaurant overlooking Marlow Weir or delicious afternoon tea on the terrace. Alternatively, dine in Sindhu by Michelin-starred Indian Chef, Atul Kochhar. For meetings, strategy days or conferences, our meeting facilities are ideal and our 2 brand new SMART board technology board rooms perfect for inspiring great ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Compleat Angler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Compleat Angler Marlow
Macdonald Compleat Angler Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing