We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Wonderful location!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel does possess a superb location if nothing else and we thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay, although to be fair it is a bit pricey.
The reception staff were very helpful indeed as was the concierge.
Our room, which only had a view of the car park was very comfortable, in particular the bed. One of the best hotel mattresses we have every slept on.
We ordered two glasses of champagne from the bar upon arrival which were extremely expensive - it would have been cheaper to have got a half bottle but this wasn't even offered which we found disappointing service!
The service at breakfast wasn't the best and didn't befit the standard of the hotel.
One of us ordered eggs benedict and during eating, it was noticed that it hadn't been cooked properly, something which then provided my wife with sickness throughout the rest of the day during our onward travels.
Overall, it was a good hotel, due to its location, but feel it is overpriced!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickcoxwold46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I am pleased that you found the staff to be very helpful and you enjoyed the superb location. Clearly, our executive and feature rooms have the benefit of the river room, however, it appears that you enjoyed the ‘Hypnos’ bed and found the room confortable. I have noted your comment regarding the offer of half a bottle instead of two glasses and have discussed with my Bar Manager. I am concerned that the Eggs Benedict was not cooked sufficiently. I would be pleased to discuss this further and note further details as we do take reports such as this very seriously and investigate these matters thoroughly.

Kind regards

Gaius Wyncoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    581
    331
    168
    106
See reviews for
264
1,144
25
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Loved the place, had fantastic room with balcony, everyone was friendly and made you feel welcomed, bed was comfortable and the food was lovely, had room service for breakfast and woke up earlier than planned and it was no problem to arrange it for an earlier time, would def recommend and I can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonnejulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
I am really glad that you loved it! As you had a balcony in your room, it must have been a feature room where breakfast in your room is even more a treat as you can sit outside and see the water cascading over the weir. I am glad that everyone was friendly and welcoming – this is very important to me and I am glad that it was noticed.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Gaius Wyncoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The hotel is outstanding with a friendly atmosphere throughout the hotel, I stayed in a bedroom overlooking the River Thames.The bedroom was comfortable and very clean,and are furnished to a very high standard,
The new restaurant is modern with excellent food,and all the team members were professional in delivering excellent customer service.
Overall want a lovely hotel,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments following your stay with us. I am particularly pleased to read that you found all team members to deliver excellent service and that you found a friendly atmosphere and enjoyed excellent food. This is exactly the experience that I would want all on guests to experience consistently. Our restaurant and bar has just been fully refurbished and does provide a more modern feel. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Gaius Wyncoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The location of the hotel and restaurant is arguably the best on the river - a view of Marlow bridge to the left, the parish church dead ahead and the wonderful waters of the weir stretching to the right. However, as far as a diner is concerned that is the only thing that is right about the experience. It is sad that after visiting the hotel for different occasions for 40 years under a variety of managements and chefs, we have still never had a good meal. After forty years it is time to give up the effort.

Arriving slightly early for a lunch booking we were asked whether we would like a drink in the bar first which we initially elected to do. However, the bar is gloomy in daylight and does not afford a real view of the river. Also the majority of tables were dirty and filled with coffee cups and glasses which looked as if the were still there from the night before. Therefore we went to the table for a pre-prandial glass of champagne - expensive at £15 a glass, more than London 5* prices.

The set lunch appeared to be value but sadly the quality of the cooking and ingredients did not match even this low price. Service was poor, slow. The staff need to be better drilled and dressed. Spilled wine on the bare and dirty table was not cleaned up. The set lunch fort two with two glasses of champagne and one of the cheaper bottles of Bordeaux was around £150. There are much better offers, at lower prices and higher quality in the region.

Isaac Walton would be embrarssed at what is being done in his name!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woollybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal in our newly refurbished riverside restaurant. You have been kind enough to keep coming back and I am surprised that you have never been happy with the meal. Unfortunately, there are not specific comments regarding the dishes for me to comment further. I would hope that a three course lunch at £25 per person offers very good value. Our wine prices start from £24.50 and we do offer Prosecco @ £6.95 as a cheaper alternative to a glass of Champagne @ £13.50. Clearly, I am sorry that you found the service to be too slow and that staff could have been better drilled and dressed. This is by no means reflective of our normal standards and I would like to assure you that your comments have been discussed with my Restaurant Manager and in turn his team. I do hope that you will give the restaurant another try in the future and I would be happy to make the booking for you should you wish to contact me directly.

Kind regards

Gaius Wyncoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were booked for dinner at Tom Kerridge's Hand & Flowers 2 Michelin starred pub (less than 15 min walk from hotel) and as the Premier Inn was full (which is just around the corner) we opted for this hotel for convenience of location. At £199 for the room it was not cheap and did not include breakfast but the position on the river is lovely and you can walk into lovely Marlow town centre in just a few moments. We did not eat in the hotel but the afternoon tea people were enjoying looked good. Plus, when the weather is warmer the terrace is lovely. The bar staff were friendly but not proactive enough and seemed a little disinterested and that is one side we found disappointing. I heard that the Weir on the river was loud but we did not find this a problem even though we had a lovely river view. The room was really nice - we were in the main part of the hotel. We had a very restful night's sleep but I can imagine it might be a little loud in the summer if a wedding takes over. Would definitely stay again but would wait for a deal.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 in the main part of the hotel which offers a lovely view (see my photo) of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I hope that you had a good meal at the Hand and Flowers – you did well to get a booking! Thank you for booking for us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the proximity to Marlow just across the bridge. Regarding deals, the least expensive day would be a Sunday and then quieter times of the year such as January and February and mid week during the school holidays. Tuesday, Wednesday and Saturdays are peak. I hope that we can welcome you back again and you have the opportunity to dine in our own award winning restaurant.

Kind regards

Gaius Wyncoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Compleat Angler is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location sat on the banks of the Thames. The rooms are of a high standard and the location is ideal, with on site parking and a 5 minute walk into the centre of Marlow. Prices reflect the quality of the establishment and the location and as a treat, I would highly recommend. I hope to return on a personal visit rather than business.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a walk across the carpark from an access perspective, so if you are a lone female tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
It is kind of you to take the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear how you enjoyed the beautiful location and the hotel. In particular, it is good to hear that the price matches the quality, which is important. I hope we can welcome you back for a personal visit soon.

Kind regards

Gaius Wyncoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had the most wonderful weekend in Marlow ataying at the Complete Angler - everything was perfect. The room was fabulous - very spacious with a balcony looking over the weir - and immaculate. We had dinner both nights and the menu was superd - the food and service could not have been better. On Saturday night there was a brilliant piano player who played all of our request! Marlow is a beautiful part of the Country and we will definitely return to the Angler as this made the weekend very special.

Room Tip: We would definitely ask for a room with a balcony as not all rooms have these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ah3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for staying with is and on one of our Feature rooms, which are more spacious and have the benefit of a balcony overlooking the weir. I can see that you dined on two nights and enjoyed the food and the service, as well as the pianist who plays every Friday and Saturday evenings. Marlow is stunning and you don’t even need to drive the car to enjoys a few days in the area – just take a stroll beside the river or a boat trip on the river. Of course, there are the rolling Chilterns where Midsummer Murders and Vicar of Dibley was filmed and nearby Henley and Windsor. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Gaius Wyncoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
2.4 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
3.7 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hurley House Hotel
Hurley House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hurley
65 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Compleat Angler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Compleat Angler

Property: Macdonald Compleat Angler
Address: Marlow Bridge, Marlow SL7 1RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Compleat Angler 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after Izaak Walton's famous book on angling, the beautiful four-red star Macdonald Compleat Angler is idyllically located on the banks of the River Thames. The hotel is just a short walk from the Georgian town of Marlow, 10 minutes drive from the M4 and just over an hour away from Central London by train. Beautiful both inside and out, enjoy mouthwatering meals from the recently refurbished, three AA rosette-awarded Riverside Restaurant overlooking Marlow Weir or delicious afternoon tea on the terrace. Alternatively, dine in Sindhu by Michelin-starred Indian Chef, Atul Kochhar. For meetings, strategy days or conferences, our meeting facilities are ideal and our 2 brand new SMART board technology board rooms perfect for inspiring great ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Compleat Angler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Compleat Angler Marlow
Macdonald Compleat Angler Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing