We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Lol.travel
£189
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Chris W
Sorede, France

Great location.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Aug 2021via mobile
We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The hotel is on the side of the Thames with views across the river to the picturesque church as well as views of the suspension bridge and weir. Our room overlooked the latter and the river. The room was comfortable and offered all we needed while the hotel has two restaurants- the Sindhu and Riverside ones (reviewed separately) and a garden with the same views as mentioned above. The latter was ideal for having a drink and taking in the view.
The staff were very friendly and helpful which added to the ambiance of our stay. There is also the opportunity to walk both ways along the river which we did and thoroughly enjoyed them while Marlow town centre is basically just across the bridge.

Well worth staying here if in the area.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erick Kervaon, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review
Responded 2 Sept 2021
Dear Chris

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. we truly appreciate it.

Thank you also for staying 3 nights with us

we can't wait to have you back very soon

many thanks

Erick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £114
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
Free Wifi
Restaurant
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.6 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premier Inn Marlow Hotel exterior
PremierInn.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tranquil fountain
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • CrownePlaza.com
    £116
  • Hotels.com
0.9 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £224
  • Booking.com
2.4 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front view of the small B&B in a quiet neighborhood
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
0.3 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
Free Wifi
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
3.1 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Marlow
Reviews (3,293)
Filter reviews
3,293 results
Traveller rating
1,478
816
495
297
207
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,478
816
495
297
207
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riverside restaurant marlow bridge complete angler overlooking the river indian restaurant lovely location afternoon tea scones the general manager nespresso machine birthday treat special occasion tasting menu lovely room car park cooked breakfast one night stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
483 - 488 of 3,293 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2021

They are charging £280 per night and dying its a great deal, They are hitting the public hard financially.
We have been going here for years and the chain has lost their way especially in the south of England

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erick Kervaon, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2021

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2021

Beautiful location, very attentive service and extremely well presented afternoon tea.
Good selection of teas, slightly let down with the sandwich offerings but the scones more than made up for it. It would have been perfect if the jam had been homemade instead of a jar.

Room tip: find table by the river
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aburyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erick Kervaon, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2021

Hi Abuyfield

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

As soon as we have the right number of staff in our brigade, i have no doubt chef will be making his own jam.

thank you

Erick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2021

We had a most enjoyable two night stay at The Compleat Angler.

I phoned the hotel after I had made the booking, mentioning that the visit was for my wife’s birthday and with the help of the concierge we were allocated a beautifully appointed room which overlooked the weir and this provided everything we needed for a memorable stay. When we arrived at the room there were balloons and petals on the bed, pastries and a birthday greeting from the staff. A nice touch, which was much appreciated.

The staff in reception, at breakfast and in the bar were friendly and efficient and the room was spotlessly clean.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 56Reddoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erick Kervaon, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Dear Reddoor

Thank you so much for coming to visit us and also for taking your valuable time to write such a lovely review.

We are so grateful.

We can't wait to have you back very soon

Many thanks

Erick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

We stayed for a night to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. This hotel has the most stunning location and our room had the ultimate wow factor with a view over looking the weir.
The staff are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble. They made us feel very special and looked after.
Thank you do much, we would 100% recommend and would love to come back.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank emmal870
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erick Kervaon, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Dear Emma

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write such a lovely review.

We are so appreciative of it.

We can't wait to welcome you back very soon.

Many thanks

Erick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021

The new wing looks tired with worn out carpets and in need of redecoration. The lift floor was filthy and floors in corridors worn out. Friendly s taff did not make up for the lack of upkeep of the hotel. The bar food and restaurant had little choice and very small portions. I stayed at the hotel many times when owned by Trust House Forte, and back then would have given a rating of 5.

Date of stay: August 2021
2  Thank UKworldflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erick Kervaon, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

UKworldflyer

Thank you for your valuable feedback. This will help us a lot.

I hope to welcome you for a 5 star review after our refurbishment.

Many thanks

Erick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews