We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
catparry
Preston, United Kingdom

Joel was a fantastic waiter!!!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Mar 2023
We went for a business lunch on the 24th February with some clients and Joel was our waiter. He was absolutely amazing and could memorise all of our meal choices and did not use a pad and there were 7 of us! Joel deserves a pay rise as he was a good sport throughout the meal and saved us from getting a parking ticket! All the group agreed he was a first class waiter!!
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Willcock, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review
Responded 15 Mar 2023
Dear Catherine P

Thank you very much for your review and your glowing feedback in Joel. This is fantastic to hear!

Regards

John Willcock
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£113
  • Expedia.com
    £113
  • Hotels.com
    £113
  • Vio.com
    £113
0.3 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£61
    0.6 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Tranquil fountain
    £110
    • Algotels
    • Vio.com
      £106
    • Expedia.com
      £110
    0.9 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    £242
    • Expedia.com
      £242
    • Vio.com
      £186
    • Hotels.com
      £242
    2.4 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    £131
    • Trip.com
      £147
    • Vio.com
      £127
    • Priceline
      £133
    0.2 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    £95
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      £105
    • Agoda.com
      £105
    • Vio.com
      £105
    3.1 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Premier Inn Marlow Hotel exterior
    • Vio.com
    • Algotels
    • Hotels.com
    0.1 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Boats for Hire
    £151
    • Expedia.com
      £151
    • Vio.com
      £121
    • Hotels.com
      £151
    0.0 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    £115
    • Agoda.com
      £115
    • Vio.com
      £115
    • eDreams
      £115
    0.7 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    pool view
    £125
    • Trip.com
      £154
    • Agoda.com
      £88
    • Priceline
      £138
    1.2 miles from Macdonald Compleat Angler
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Marlow
    Reviews (3,307)
    Filter reviews
    3,307 results
    Traveller rating
    1,488
    817
    495
    298
    209
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    1,488
    817
    495
    298
    209
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews riverside restaurant marlow bridge complete angler overlooking the river indian restaurant lovely location afternoon tea scones the general manager nespresso machine birthday treat special occasion tasting menu lovely room car park cooked breakfast one night stay
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    295 - 300 of 3,307 reviews
    Reviewed 20 February 2023

    had a fantastic overnight stay at this lovely hotel overlooking the Thames, I paid extra to upgrade to a river view & it was well worth it, Yuris on reception made sure we had the upgraded room we asked for & looked after us very well. went to the indian restaurant inside the hotel which was superb for our evening meal, excellent breakfast in the morning

    Date of stay: February 2023
    Thank Steve C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    John Willcock, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2023

    Dear Steve

    Thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent stay at the Compleat Angler. I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable experience.

    We very much look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back when you can be assured of a very warm welcome.

    Regards

    John Willcock
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 February 2023

    Thank you for a lovely one night stay. Sam and Humaira at reception were kind and helpful.
    Lovely room with fantastic view. Marlow is a quaint town with a selection of interesting shops, bars & restaurants.
    Most grateful !

    Date of stay: February 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank deepak281
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    John Willcock, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2023

    Dear deepak281

    Thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent stay at the Compleat Angler. I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable experience.

    We very much look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back when you can be assured of a very warm welcome.

    Regards

    John Willcock
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 February 2023

    We booked a Super Deluxe Double as we have done many times before. Our last visit was three years ago & standards have dropped dramatically since then. The room was in urgent need of refurbishment - a shredded curtain, a hole in the bedspread, a badly stained stool & a towel so threadbare it had holes in it. The only redeeming feature was the view of the river which the hotel cannot take credit for.
    The breakfast service in the restaurant left much to be desired. We purposely ate late to avoid the business guests so the restaurant was far from full but the service was very poor. On two occasions we had to ask to place our order & guests arriving after us were served first - very frustrating. The restaurant staff were polite but obviously inexperienced. There were managers present but they did not appear to notice any shortcomings or do anything to rectify the situation. We resorted to room service which was ok but always something got forgotten.

    This hotel no longer deserves its 4* rating.

    Date of stay: February 2023
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank madeleinebQ4542UU
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    John Willcock, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2023

    Dear madeleinebQ4542UU

    Thank you for the review and feedback.

    Regards

    John Willcock
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 February 2023

    Booked into this hotel for a break with family. Complimentary room upgrade welcome - thank you. But the hotel generally was a bit tired, expensive and at times disorganised, especially around meals. Our food was cold and this was not rectified.
    This could be an amazing hotel in a fabulous setting.

    Room tip: Great views, take warm clothes for the restaurants
    Date of stay: February 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank holly2236
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    John Willcock, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2023

    Dear holly2236

    Thank you for the review and feedback.

    Regards

    John Willcock
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 February 2023

    Wonderful location room with river view friendly attentive staff (Noel special mention) 2 nights stay would have liked more will be back also very good breakfast and lovely evening dinner in romantic glass conservatory looking at the river and beautifully lit church opposite

    Room tip: Book river view room
    Date of stay: February 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Gloria S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    John Willcock, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2023

    Dear Gloria S

    Thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent stay at the Compleat Angler. I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable experience.

    We very much look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back when you can be assured of a very warm welcome.

    Regards

    John Willcock
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews