We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tale of 2 halves. Spa was great, afternoon tea waste of time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A tale of 2 halves. Spa was great, afternoon tea waste of time.”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had a spa deal booked with the crowne plaza in Marlow for my mums 65th birthday. Before booking we phoned to see if they offered a gluten free afternoon tea, the answer was yes so we booked it. It was stated on our booking and it was confirmed. In fact it was confirmed another 6 times. The spa was lovely & the treatments amazing, could not have asked for better service. When we got to the resturant for our afternoon tea they bought out sandwiches for all of us (my mum & sister are not gluten intolerant) a selection of scones & cakes for my mum& sister and some fruit for me. I asked where the cakes where & they said they were just getting them. They came out with a small chocolate mouse & said they were sorry but something had gone wrong. They were apologetic, but not overly. It transpired that they knew about my order at least 24 hours before (and got gluten free bed) but did nothing else. I have been to many places that catered to my dietary needs, but this definitely wasn't one of them. It was frustrating as we wouldn't have booked it if we'd had known they didn't cater & it ruined what was before that a lovely day. The manager seemed embarrassed but offered nothing in compensation as it wasn't booked directly. Would I go there again definitely not!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pinkems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrietparkes, Hotel Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your Spa Day, and will ensure that your compliments are passed on to the team.

However it was with concern that I read that the Afternoon Tea that you had booked to accompany your treatments did not live up to expectation. We cater for individuals dietary requirements on a regular basis and I cannot justify the lapse on this occasion. I have spoken with the respective departments and I can assure you the necessary steps will be taken to ensure similar situations do not occur in the future.

I do understand that this might deter you from returning to the Crowne Plaza Marlow in the future but I can assure you this does not typify the very high standards we pride our selves on and that we do endeavor to cater to everyone's requirements. I do hope that on reflection you will reconsider and we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Harriet Parkes
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    626
    245
    89
    74
See reviews for
381
521
36
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Me and 2 friends came for a spa day back in January. It was a great deal we found on their website. When we arrived we were greeted by professional staff and a lovely atmosphere. We used the gym first which was a bonus (don't usually go to gyms!) then had our treatments. I had a back and head massage, both were great and relaxing. The treatment rooms were lovely and the staff professional. We then had our lunch which was included in the package, it was 2 courses and good value. We then used the facilities, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and outdoor hot tub. The outdoor hot tub was great even though it was freezing outside!! It was quite busy and a big group of people left their towels on the loungers while they were a lunch so we couldn't sit anywhere or leave out gowns anywhere, but that is not really the hotels fault, just inconsiderate guests!
Overall a great spa!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollynws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrietparkes, Hotel Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your Spa Day at Crowne Plaza Marlow earlier this year.

I was delighted to read that your visit to the Hotel was so successful and your day lived up to expectation. I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to enjoy the wide range of amenities the Spa has to offer - including the gym and outdoor hot tub. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Harriet Parkes
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It's all in the title really. This was a one night business stay so meals were organised for about 40 of us. Quality was still good. The staff are clearly well trained and seem happy in their work. Good size swimming pool. Lots of kit in the gym which as a result is a bit cramped but this doesn't stop its use.
I'd certainly stay again... but it isn't that handy for Marlow centre without a car or taxi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopdocBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrietparkes, Hotel Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plzaza Marlow. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards of service our guests expect.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the occasion to experience our wide range of leisure facilities.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Harriet Parkes
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Staff was very accommodating and eager to assist. Place was roomy and was greatly furnished. Very comfortable to be in and definitely a top-range hotel from the many I've been to. The main restaurant was also very good. Perhaps if I were to nitpick, my only complaint would be that there's not much to do in the place and better entertainment would be nice

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrietparkes, Hotel Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us us and that we compared favorably with similar establishments.

Thank you for your suggestions regarding entertainment, please be assured your comments will be discussed with the management team as we move forward in the future.

I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Marlow in the near future.

Kind Regards

Harriet Parkes
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel - we stayed as part of our Legoland package and were very impressed. The restaurant is a bit pricey and the children's buffet had run out of food when we sat down. This took an age to replenish - everything was a bit dried and been under the heat lamps for too long. The only blip though - otherwise we couldn't fault it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Butchandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrietparkes, Hotel Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow.

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us,and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back for a longer break next time.

My sincere apologies about the Children's Buffet, we pride ourselves on an exceptional standard throughout our departments and it is clear that this did not meet expectation.

I do thank you for bringing this to my attention, I can assure you that all feedback is discussed within the management team to ensure that similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Kind Regards

Harriet Parkes
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have just returned from a one night spa break at The Crowne Plaza in Marlow with two friends. We were amazed at the good value, we had two spa treatments each which were super and full use of the facilities during our stay,the three course dinner in the evening was to die for ! and so was the breakfast in the morning ! The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We booked it through Spabreaks.com would recommend this hotel very highly,just beware that they add gratuities on to everything,we just asked them to remove them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary05Marlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrietparkes, Hotel Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent Spa Break at Crowne Plaza Marlow.

I would like to take the opportunity to express my pleasure that your stay with us was so enjoyable, and that you and your friend had a very pleasant, and relaxing spa experience.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you both back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Harriet Parkes
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Two adults and a child stayed for one night in a family room (two double beds) on 21st April. We found the hotel parking to be superb, the public areas were smart and the staff extremely helpful. The welcome we received on checking in was lovely and the lady was chatty and friendly! Our questions were answered patiently and assistance in upgrading from room only to breakfast included (at fantastic value!)
Hubby and son used the pool and found the facilities to be great.
The room was fine - a bit basic, but everything you would need for an overnight stay and nice additional touches, such as mineral water, tea and coffee making facilities and good quality toiletries in the bathroom. We found we were short of towels in the room, so asked for another one - a smiling, friendly lady delivered several more within minutes.
Breakfast was an excellent buffet choice, with continental and cooked options. Newspapers were available free of charge, another nice touch.
So all in all, we booked directly through the hotel chain and got what we felt was a fabulous price and was excellent value. A great hotel to use as a base, like we did, for nearby Windsor and Marlow/Henley.
The only downside, which was out of the control of the hotel, was that it would have been nice if the parents of the child on our floor could have controlled their child and stopped it from racing up and down the corridor loudly until 10pm at night. I couldn't believe the "expressive parenting" that also included very young children helping themselves to the buffet (my pet hate - thinking of the hygiene issue!) As I stress, not the hotel's fault at all, rather the complete lack of consideration for others by some people, while their "little darling" expresses itself!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAMILYRANDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrietparkes, Hotel Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect.

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff provided a friendly and efficient service.

My apologies that your stay was marred by the behavior of other children in the Hotel. We do ask our guests to behave respectfully towards others staying in the Hotel, and in particularly that parents and guardians ensure that the children in their care are well behaved. I so sorry for this disturbance and thank you for your understanding.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Harriet Parkes
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
3.3 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
6.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Marlow Hotel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
2.9 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
Address: Fieldhouse Lane, Marlow SL7 1GJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning lakeside location of this luxury hotel in Marlow, Buckinghamshire, set in 5 acres of beautiful countryside, makes it an ideally place for your meeting and conference. Crowne Plaza Marlow offers 168 contemporary bedrooms including stylish Standard rooms, King Rooms, Executive Club rooms and Luxury Suites. Every detail has been designed to create a highly modern environment different from any other hotel in the Thames Valley area placing it amongst the best places to stay in Marlow. Crowne Plaza Marlow is ideal for events such as training, seminars, product launches, boardroom meetings, interviews, teambuilding and brainstorming events as well as small exhibitions. All meeting rooms offer everything you would expect from a luxurious and contemporary hotel with a dedicated Conference Manager to make your event a success, offering: Experience excellent food and wine in Crowne Plaza Marlow’s stylish Glaze Restaurant, awarded an AA Rosette for culinary excellence, or relax with lighter bites and a delicious cocktail in our Agua Café & Bar. Whether you’re looking for an intimate dining experience for two, or simply meeting with friends for drinks, Crowne Plaza Marlow is the perfect venue for you. Crowne Plaza Marlow is situated in the heart of the Thames Valley and Chiltern Hills on the border of Buckinghamshire & Berkshire. Easily accessible from the M4, M25 & M40 motorways via the A404, the hotel is located within half an hour drive from Oxford, Reading, Windsor and Henley-on-Thames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Marlow
Marlow Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing