We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glade End Guest House
Ranked #3 of 21 Marlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
402 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked Glade End after reading tripadvisor as we were visiting the Hand & Flowers. It is ideally situated, just 3 miles off the M40 and in a nice and quiet residential area. We stayed in the Peacock room in the house just across the road, self check in was really easy and having parked on the free car park we were in our room in 5 minutes. The room was stunning, having a huge bed, flat screen tv, DAB ipod station, a huge bathroom with walk in shower and separate bath and all the amenities you could possibly hope for. Having contacted them before I went they arranged flowers and champagne for my wife's birthday and also left some complimentary chocolates and a card for her. It was a warm night and the room was so quiet we were able to leave all the windows open and not hear a single thing all night. The walk to Marlow was a pleasant 10-15 minutes and Marlow really is a beautiful town with lovely shops, pubs and restaurants.
In the morning we went to the main house and had a superb breakfast included in the price. I can highly recommend Glade End, it really was a great way to spend my wife's 50th birthday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilyGrant, Manager at Glade End Guest House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Ben J,
Thank you for staying with us recently to celebrate your wife's 50th. I am so pleased to hear you had a lovely evening and that you found the Peacock room comfortable and enjoyed Marlow. We were only to happy to arrange the extras for your wife.
We look forward to welcoming you back on another special occasion.
With best wishes
Lily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    166
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
42
250
25
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dronfield woodhouse, derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean B&B with friendly helpful staff. Owner Lily very accommodating, checking on boat trips down the Thames & even storing a birthday cake for us.

Only a short 5 - 10 min walk into Marlow with a wide range of restaurants & shops. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flower1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilyGrant, Manager at Glade End Guest House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Flower1606,
Thank you for staying with us recently. It was a pleasure to have met you and we are only too happy to look at local activities for our guests. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
With kind regards
Lily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We visited Marlowe before and stayed at the Hand & Flowers. They being fully booked we searched for an alternative, and found The Glade End B&B. we were not disappointed as it was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. There was a placed to park and an easy walk into town. Our room was one of the last available rooms it was at the front so the traffic was noisy in the morning and was a little warm. I'm sure we will stay there again but in a different room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiveprimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilyGrant, Manager at Glade End Guest House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear JaynePiper,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and your recommendations.
We appreciate you supporting a small family run guest house as opposed to to returning to the Crowne Plaza.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your room "Peacock" and had a good nights sleep.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Marlow.
With kind regards
Lily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were dining at the Hand and Flowers for our anniversary this week and chose to stay at Glade End based on the positive TA reviews.

A 10-15 minute walk form the H&F, the location is ideal, the rooms spotless (though our room was facing a very busy cut through road so a touch noisy) and the cooked breakfast very good indeed.

All in all, happy to recommend it for a short stay in Marlow

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilyGrant, Manager at Glade End Guest House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear R H
Thank you for staying with us recently to celebrate your anniversary.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay thank you for your recommendation.
With kind regards
Lily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I booked this guest house as part of my wife's birthday present of a visit to Tom Kerridge's Hand & Flowers. It was recommended by a friend due to its location as its within walking distance to the resturant & Marlow High St. Very easy to find. Upon check in the Fast Check In service is great completely hassle free. We were located in 2nd guest house over the road at no. 75 our room was in the front and was ample room although we did have the ensuite option it was very small & bit of a squeeze. The service for breakfast was superb & so was the food itself.
The only thing I could grumble at was the price I paid, yes I was aware prior to booking but don't think the £110 per night was justified for the room.

Great local pub Marlow Donkey on corner of Glade Rd & Lock Rd.

Hand & Flowers was sublime -if you are planning to go book ahead I booked for June last October!!!

Mr N Hall- Liverpool

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilyGrant, Manager at Glade End Guest House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Neil H,
Thank you for taking the time to write and for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your wife's birthday.
I am pleased to hear you found our self check in convenient and easy to use.
You had booked one of our executive double en suites, the compact of our rooms we offer. Our executive king and luxury king en suites are more suitable for couples. Thank you for your comments on the price. Parking, WIFI and a Chef cooked to order breakfast are included in our price, which other local establishments charge extra for.
With kind regards
Lily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We visited Marlow before and stayed in the Crowne Plaza which is perfectly acceptable but 'corporate' and too far out of town to walk in so we went for Glade End on the recommendation of Tripadvisor.

Cannot fault it. We stayed in the peacock room for two nights which is spacious, light (3 windows) with a great comfortable bed, a lovely large bathroom with a brilliant shower and bath and a separate toilet. Very quiet location and we had really good nights sleep.

Breakfast is in the main house over the road (there are brollies in case of rain) which was cooked to perfection - I'm very particular about my poached eggs.

The walk into town takes about 10 minutes down the main road or you can turn right out of no 75 which takes you down to the Thames Path where you can walk into town alongside the river in parts and comes out by the church - this route takes about 15 minutes and you pass a pub called the Marlow Donkey which we didn't visit but looked really nice with an outside drinking area which was in full use on the sunny Sunday afternoon we were there! Glade End is walkable to the station which would be useful if you wanted to get the train in and out although I believe you need to change trains to get to London.

All in all a perfect spot and I would highly recommend to anyone who wants to visit Marlow which is a lovely town with great restaurants and pubs, a really nice place for a few nights away.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaynePiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilyGrant, Manager at Glade End Guest House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear JaynePiper,
Thank you for taking the time to write. We appreciate your support in choosing to stay with us as opposed to returning to the Crowne Plaza. I am pleased your had a comfortable stay in the Peacock room and a good nights sleep. Thank you for your travel and walk recommendations for future guests.
We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
With kind regards
Lily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Went for a couple of nights to sample the wonderful cuisine at the Hand and Flowers and were really delighted with our stay at Glade End This place provides the prefect combination; a quite side road but with quick access to Marlow's centre and a very private stay but with attentive staff when required. The breakfast was first rate and the bed the most comfortable you could wish for. We stayed in the Peacock Suite; light and airy but cosy too with an eclectic mix of old and new furnishings, beautiful towels and linen. The room was immaculately clean and attention to detail was there in every regard. The stay was worth every penny. Thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilyGrant, Manager at Glade End Guest House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Alison B,
Thank you for taking the time to write. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and I am so thrilled to hear you enjoyed the experience and found Glade End to be "worth every penny".
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With kind regards
Lily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Marlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
3.8 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glade End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glade End Guest House

Property: Glade End Guest House
Address: 2 Little Marlow Road | Glade End, Bucks, Marlow SL7 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Marlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glade End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glade End and its en-suite rooms, are a 8 minute flat walk from Marlow town centre and the business park. Marlow offers 15 pubs and restaurants offering a wide range of food tastes, including two top rated UK restaurants. Glade End offers free high speed broadband Wifi, free off road parking, and inclusive "chef prepared" breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glade End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing