We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hand and Flowers
Ranked #1 of 21 Marlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Went with 6 other people last night, had an amazing meal. From the complimentary white bait and gorgeous soda breads to start with, to starter, to main (which was the duck, never had it before but this was by far the nicest duck dish I have had) to the dessert, which, compared to the rest of the tables, wasn't as top notch (crème brulee, very thick top to it!)

Beautiful setting, excellent service.

110% recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11EmilyMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    234
    174
    88
    39
See reviews for
163
792
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I visited with 5 friends I ordered the duck dish which tom won GB menu with, Ive had it before and it was amazing and the dish had completely changed on a plate rather than a board. The skin had been removed from the breast and replaced with a cracker like skin not as good as the duck breast I had before. I asked one of the members of staff about the pork sharing plate that tom also won GB menu with about when that would be on the menu because I would love to try it and she said that they don't do it any more because it wasn't in the fitting with the 2 michelin star and that's why the duck has also changed? I had the duck before when their was2 michelin stars before I really hope the hand and flowers staying true to its self and the food remains amazing pub food and doesn't start to go to fancey don't know if I would go back for this reason

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andrew_birch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Absolutely blown away by the food, real top quality ingredients and the presentation was stunning.
Lovely relaxed atmosphere, definitely still feels like a high end pub, not a snobby Michelin starred restaurant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jace8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Having booked our table some eight months ago we were somewhat disappointed to be told two days ago when checking our booking that in fact the pub had no record of our booking. Once that hiccup had been solved we duly arrived today to find that our table was not ready at the arranged time, not a good start but to be fair our first round of drinks were duly made complimentary.
From that point on we found the menu gave a good choice of interesting dishes and the food to be good but very expensive. The atmosphere was OK but hindered by someone on a nearby table who thought it appropriate to laugh at a level that would smash concrete every couple of minutes!
The service was impeccable with just the right level of attentiveness.
All in all an interesting experience but not one I would necessarily rush back to due to the high cost.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DavidJC1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Very good service, heavenly chips! Lunch menu was very well balanced, it deserves all its accolades, hopefully go back soon. Atmosphere in the dining area was very pleasant, service vey good without being obtrusive, highly recommended,

Room Tip: I have written a restaurant review, we didn't stay in the accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Readong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Myself and my husband ate here 7th July to celebrate our wedding Anniversary. We had to wait 9 months for a table but we heared really good reviews so thought it would be worth the wait, however we were utterly disappointed. The hand of flowers have a 2 hour turn around on tables but we were rushed from start to finish, they removed our wine glasses even though we had half a bottle of wine left, they removed our cutlery before we even placed our dessert order, when the waitress asked us to make our dessert choices we were told to hurry up as another group of ppl were waiting for our table and we were then rushed to the bar to finish our drinks. If you want a relaxed experience then the Hand of Flowers is not the place to go as from our experience we were rushed as soon as we got through the door.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lingo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This trip was booked months ago and involved a trip down from up north.

We arrived early for the booking and were shown to the bar area where we requested pre- dinner drinks while we waited and we were waitress served.
We were also given menus to peruse while we waited. Then we were shown to our table, the waitress transferring our drinks. All very good so far. We were given ample time to make our selection with the waitress asking if we needed any advice. The menu is not overly large, maybe a choice of 8 meals per course but you do get a varied choice.

Our meals were promptly delivered and everything was excellent apart from one thing (and here is the but) part of my meal (the polenta I think) was extremely salty to the point of being inedible.
Now I know seasoning is a personal thing but this was ridiculous. It seemed as though someone had spilled the contents of the saltpot into the polenta. I thought chefs were supposed to taste everything before it left the kitchen! Apart from this aren't we supposed to be cutting back on salt...high blood pressure etc. Wouldn't it be better to under season and let the customer season further if required with salt/pepper at the table?? or is this sacrilege to a chef?

Also be prepared to order sides as the portions were not as big as I have been led to believe.

The bill is presented with a 12.5% service charge automatically added...why. Surely it is up to the customer to decide on remuneration for the serviced received.

Apart from that everything else was spot on.
Congratulations to the front of house staff who were excellent.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chump57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
2.1 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hurley House Hotel
Hurley House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hurley
65 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
597 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glade End Guest House
Glade End Guest House
#3 of 21 in Marlow
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hand and Flowers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand and Flowers

Property: The Hand and Flowers
Address: 126 West Street, Marlow SL7 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Marlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hand and Flowers 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Georgian town of Marlow, having built a huge popularity with its award winning food and now providing luxury suites. Within a year they had earned a Michelin Star, 3 AA Rosettes and 6/10 in the Good Food Guide. Now, having acquired two neighbouring cottages, they offer a similarly high level of accomodation. Relax in the Hot Tub or the huge stone bath, walk-in rain showers and big fluffy robes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hand And Flowers Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing