We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend in beautiful barn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Barn at the Old Cottage
Ranked #14 of 21 Marlow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a relaxing weekend in Little Marlow (mainly so that we could visit the excellent Hand and Flowers for lunch). We highly recommend the Barn at the Old Cottage. Guy and Nicky Rigby are charming, friendly and welcoming people and their converted barn at the bottom of their garden is a beautiful building for a couple to spend a weekend in.
Good value for money.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Benga_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed for 3 nights midweek and although experiencing monsoon weather the space of the accommodation meant that even when unable to venture out we did not feel coped up and had the lovely cottage garden of the owners as a view. The barn has wonderful character with the oak beams and high ceiling. It is a nice idea to have the makings of a good breakfast supplied and be able to choose at what time you eat so, unlike the usual B&B you can have a nice lie-in if you wish. Would recommend and will visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovehotelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We spent a week in this amazing place. Located in a 14th Century barn conversion in the gardens of a beautiful English cottage. The barn is quite large with a good size eat in kitchen and loft bedroom. The bathroom s small but well fitted, the lounge room on the other hand is HUGE, it has a sitting area with TV and good sound system, there is a large desk and plenty of room to dance, it the mood takes you. We spent a fantastic week exploring Henley, Marlow and with Windsor a short drive away. The cost was very reasonable at UKP80 per night with breakfast supplies in the fridge daily. There are 2 good pubs walking distance and even a local farmers market at the end of the road with all the fresh vegies and even a shop providing meat and fresh seafood. If you want a place to chill out then we could not recomend this place highly enough. The owners Guy and Nicky made us feel very welcome and having our own self contained area with our own parking made us fel like we were in our own home. Very private, amazing garden and should you go in the cooler months it has its own central heating!!

Room Tip: The bedroom is in the loft so if its cold dont turn the heating up too high otherwise it get very ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozteam888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

This b&b was lovely, situated in a little village with two pubs; The Queens Head served lovely food and had a good atmosphere. The owners of the b&b were very friendly and gave advice about what to do in the surrounding area. The breakfast was plentiful and well cooked, it set us up for the day and the owner asked how we liked our breakfasts and they came exactly as requested. The room was lovely, the only issue was there was no shower but the bathroom was adequate and I enjoyed having a long leisurely bath. There was tea making facilities and a little fridge just out of the room with milk in which was a lovely, welcomed touch. All in all this is a lovely homely b&b and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sezwez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

My fiancee, myslef and another friend stayed at Old Barn Cottage following a game shoot in Little Marlow. We had a very warm welcome, and were pleased that the rooms were clean, tidy, cosy, warm and quiet.

The Old Barn is in a great location, with the local pub less than one minute walk around the corner.

We all had breakfast, and my full english certainly lived up to expectations. It wasn't even too much trouble for them when my fiancee at the last minute deicded she wanted breakfast, having initially decided the previous evening that she wouldn't.

I thought it represented great value for money, and I would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shercostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Staying at Old Barn Cottage was an interesting and enjoyable experience. From the efficient response, within hours of our enquiry, to our departure after 2 nights stay we found David and Anthea welcoming and helpful. Our room was spacious, comfortable and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent and with a copious supply of lovely coffee.
We were provided with helpful information on where to visit in the Chilterns for both places of interest and to see the re-established Red Kytes. David's knowledge of local places to eat of all types is also very useful. This is an ideal place to stay for visiting this area of Buckinghamshire and with free WiFi an alternative for the business visitor to the impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiraethBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Little Marlow. Cottage full of character - big bedroom, comfortable bed and very quiet. Friendly hosts and a relaxed atmosphere. Village - quaint and with two good pubs just a short walk away. Yummy breakfast and great value. Only slight gripe was no hot water for a bath when we arrived but this was soon rectified. Otherwise faultless.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollymlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marlow hotels
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
1.8 mi away
The Chequers Marlow
The Chequers Marlow
#4 of 21 in Marlow
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glade End Guest House
Glade End Guest House
#3 of 21 in Marlow
540 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Dog & Badger - Gillman's Cottage
4.2 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn at the Old Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn at the Old Cottage

Address: Old Barn Cottage Church Road, Marlow SL7 3RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Marlow
Price Range: £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barn at the Old Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing