We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the way all BnBs should do it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Super bed and breakfast,just the way I would love to do it myself.
Lovely rooms,good size and superb en-suite.
Lovely well presented breakfast.Well done to Bill and Sue for your hospitality.
I would go again and very highly recommend.
Kirby Lonsdale,very quaint.
If you fancy some golf try the 9 hole casterton club,2 mins away

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had to spend a long weekend doing the Three Peaks and needed somewhere to stay. After reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor for the Blue Pig we booked it and have just returned from a really lovely trip. Sue and Bill are the most welcome and caring hosts you could wish for. The location is magnificent being right in the centre of town. Despite this there is an allocated parking space a short walk away - although you can park outside when you arrive to offload bags and again when you leave.
If you have any questions about the area or need help with anything this lovely couple will make you feel extremely special. The rooms are cosy with good power showers and comfortable beds and unbelievably quiet considering the location. Breakfast is excellent with everything sourced locally from butchers and farms. You may find bigger rooms in town but I can assure you - once you have experienced the hospitality and warmth of the Blue Pig you will not want to go anywhere else. We are already working out when we can go back!
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you don't mind twin beds go for the twin bed room as it is slightly larger than the other two...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDuchesne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Have just spent 2 nights at the Blue Pig. Had a warm welcome from Sue and Bill. Clean and cosy rooms; excellent breakfast; friendly and helpful hosts, in the heart of the little interesting town. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have been lucky enough to visit the very beautiful Kirkby Lonsdale several times over the past twelve months. My choice of accommodation has always been The Blue Pig. Sue and Bill have always been so welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are cosy, clean, comfortable and quite honestly the best bed I have ever slept in!. I have stayed there alone on business and have always felt very happy with my choice of place to stay. The breakfasts are cooked perfectly with fantastic local produce of the highest quality. It really is an outstanding place to stay and I will miss this place as it has felt like a second home to me! Highly recommend and can't wait to find an opportunity to go back :)

Room Tip: I have stayed in both of the double bed rooms and both are equally as lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just spent another brilliant weekend at the Blue Pig with Bill Sue and Mac.
We have visited the Blue Pig every year for the past five years and from the first visit to the one last week, the hospitality from Bill and Sue remains the same,friendly,welcoming and above all they genuinely want your stay to be perfect. The breakfasts are still the best we have had anywhere, fresh local produce used and enough to keep anyone going all day.
If you want to stay with two of the nicest people you are likely to meet, in a home with character, comfortable beds and everything you need to feel like your at home, then you won't get anywhere better than the Blue Pig.

We will continue to stay at the Blue Pig as long as Bill and Sue are open for business.
In the words of the advert for a well known drink, "if Carlsberg did guest houses, they would be just like the Blue pig"

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenDave1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We chose to stay here for our wedding anniversary because of its location and good reviews. I can tell you it is a first class and so glad we didnt book into the boutique Platos next door! Sue and Bill are wonderful hosts of this comfortable and outstanding B&B. I have to agree with other reviewers that this is the best B&B we have stayed at. I will definitely be recommending this little gem to our family and friends. The room was very comfortable especially, the bed and the breakfast was excellent and helped sort my husbands hangover!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Mere words can't properly describe our one night stay at the 'Blue Pig'. Sue and Bill made us welcome right from the start, and their friendliness lasted until we left the next morning. The rooms are bright and airy, and the bed had the most comfortable mattress we have experienced in a B&B. During one of our many conversations, Sue noted that she buys all of the breakfast items in the early morning, prior to cooking. She offered 'black pudding' (a real North of England treat), which was gratefully accepted, and served to totally complement the hearty breakfast that was provided.
In closing, whilst Kirkby Lonsdale does not offer much for the casual visitor ('Devil's Bridge' and 'Ruskins View notwithstanding), it's worth visiting the town for the pleasure of staying at the 'Blue Pig'

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkby Lonsdale hotels
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,128 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copper Kettle
Copper Kettle
#12 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4 Mill Brow, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: £63 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful bed & breakfast accommodation is situated in a newly renovated 17th Century cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Pig b&b
Blue Pig Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Blue Pig Bed And Breakfast Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing