We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“what a place!!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights and wow what a place. Sue and Bill are just delightful, so friendly and make you feel so welcome in their home. . Its the best bed and breakfast we've ever stayed in. The room was beautiful typical of a country cottage with a gorgeous en-suite bathroom.. Breakfast was just delicious with plenty of choice from different cereals to full English Breakfast. The central location in the village was perfect with the added bonus of a car parking space close by. If you are to stay in Kirkby Lonsdale you have to stay here Sue and Bill are the perfect hosts you won't be disappointed. We had a fabulous weekend and will definitely be booking a break here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
152
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our first stay at The Blue Pig but it wont be our last. Sue and Bill are the best hosts, lots of helpful advice without being "over the top". Warm, comfortable B&B and the breakfast is just the best, beautifully cooked and served on hot plates. Really, really glad we chose to stay here

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnygirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is the best B and B I have ever stayed in. Bill and Sue are lovely caring friendly hosts who make you welcome in their home. Breakfast was wonderful, beautifully cooked with local produce purchased fresh daily. Our room was extremely comfortable and individually furnished and we really appreciated personal touches. We left half a bottle of wine in our room from the previous night and Sue left lovely big wine glasses for us to use. A big plus point is the B and B's central location is this lovely village, and private free parking just round the corner. The other hotels and B and Bs don't have parking so this is a real advantage. Sue and Bill loaned us a walking book of the area and gave us recomendations of things to do in the area we were exploring. We had a wonderful trip and other guests obviously enjoyed themselves too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in August for 3 nights. Best full English breakfast ever. Bill and Sue excellent hosts. Nothing too much trouble. Lovely room with comfortable beds and extra touches that go a long way to making it very memorable. If you.visit Kirkby Lonsdale you have to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veritysuraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Super bed and breakfast,just the way I would love to do it myself.
Lovely rooms,good size and superb en-suite.
Lovely well presented breakfast.Well done to Bill and Sue for your hospitality.
I would go again and very highly recommend.
Kirby Lonsdale,very quaint.
If you fancy some golf try the 9 hole casterton club,2 mins away

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had to spend a long weekend doing the Three Peaks and needed somewhere to stay. After reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor for the Blue Pig we booked it and have just returned from a really lovely trip. Sue and Bill are the most welcome and caring hosts you could wish for. The location is magnificent being right in the centre of town. Despite this there is an allocated parking space a short walk away - although you can park outside when you arrive to offload bags and again when you leave.
If you have any questions about the area or need help with anything this lovely couple will make you feel extremely special. The rooms are cosy with good power showers and comfortable beds and unbelievably quiet considering the location. Breakfast is excellent with everything sourced locally from butchers and farms. You may find bigger rooms in town but I can assure you - once you have experienced the hospitality and warmth of the Blue Pig you will not want to go anywhere else. We are already working out when we can go back!
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you don't mind twin beds go for the twin bed room as it is slightly larger than the other two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDuchesne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Have just spent 2 nights at the Blue Pig. Had a warm welcome from Sue and Bill. Clean and cosy rooms; excellent breakfast; friendly and helpful hosts, in the heart of the little interesting town. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkby Lonsdale hotels
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plato's
Plato's
#2 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Horse Market B&B
Horse Market B&B
#7 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4 Mill Brow, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful bed & breakfast accommodation is situated in a newly renovated 17th Century cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Pig Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Blue Pig b&b
Blue Pig Bed And Breakfast Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing