We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb !!!”
Review of Lavender House B&B

Lavender House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkby Lonsdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavender House B&B
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband and I escaped from the kids with a 2 night stay at Kirkby Lonsdale. Diana and John were the perfect hosts in every way, warm and friendly but giving us the space and freedom we craved. The room was ideal, off road parking and breakfast was cooked to absolute perfection :-) 5* !! Diana is a fantastic artist with great style and recommended the best places to eat and john gave us his top tips on walks in the area. Couldn't recommend this more ....considered not saying how great it is to keep this little gem to ourselves !! Thanks we'll be back again soon xx

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Donna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights over the August Bank Holiday 2013. John and Di were very welcoming - we were greeted with tea and cake and made to feel right at home. The B&B is beautifully appointed and very clean. We stayed in 'Lincoln' the double en-suite, which was spacious and comfortable.

The breakfast was second to none - there was a large choice and the quality was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and John was very helpful with advice about walking - we borrowed a map and guide book and enjoyed a nice circular walk around Kirkby Lonsdale.

All in all a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Lavender House was just perfect in every way. The bedroom was spacious and beautifully furnished. The sitting and dining rooms were so interestingly full of life of the family not the bland 'for the guests' decor and contents you so often come across. The hosts full of advice on the area and interesting conversations if invited over breakfast - but left you alone if you did not want to chat. Roaring fire lit for the evenings if you were staying in. The off-road parking is a winner in Kirkby Lonsdale. A most enjoyable stay.
Will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sosew62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Making our way from Scotland to the South, we decided to 'break' the journey by travelling via the Yorkshire Dales.

Lavender House seemed to have a good feel to it, we were not dissapointed.

The house itself is on the main road coming out of the town. It has its own small drive which is just as well as parking is a pain.

Diana greeted us with a wonderful pot of tea and cake, very much appreciated.

The house is quirky with many paintings, our rooms were just fine, comfortable and clean. My mother in law had the double with en suite which made life easier for her. She felt chilly eary on in the evening, our hosts turned the heating on, resulting in a happy lady!

Our room had twins and no en suite. However, we had the use of two, one almost next door, the other, just a couple of feet away. Lots of hot water and nice towels.

Breakfast was plentiful. Plenty of variety.

All in all, what you would expect from a high standard of B&B. Would return

Room Tip: The front bedroom offers a double and en suite. The back backroom provides twins but no en suite as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bikingdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is another B&B from Alistair Sawdays recommended web site. We have been using Sawday for over 15 years and have not found a single bad B&B.

Diane was charming and friendly. The house was superb and the room with on suite first class. She took time to offer advice re where to eat etc and in the morning even put our breakfast on the balcony as it was, unusually for the UK this year, sunny.

Why would anyone stay in a hotel, when for £85 per night, you can have such a personal service and such a wonderful host

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

So very comfortable . . . superb breakfast . .. . what else is there to say zzzzzz

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillybills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Lavender House is far, far more than your average B & B.....it's sheer luxury!! We were late in and exhausted from a long day's cycle...John and Diana could not do enough for us and we were left wanting for nothing. Although our beautifully comfortable (and spotless) room was not en-suite, we had sole use of a very large bathroom just adjacent - it was filled with delicious, high quality smellies...perfect!! Fantastic, lively eateries in KL are just around the corner. Our only pity was that we had to press on, after a truly fabulous breakfast. We will be returning to this welcoming B & B in a gorgeous part of the UK.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlosMaggotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkby Lonsdale hotels
2.7 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
114 reviews
1 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Horse Market B&B
Horse Market B&B
#7 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast
Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender House B&B

Address: 17 New Road, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Lavender House B&B Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing