We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, easy living!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lilac Cottage

Lounge/dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge/dining
Front of cottage kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Lounge/dining
Front of cottage
kitchen
Double bedroom
Bathroom
Log burner
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Ensuite bathroom to master bedroom
Toiletries
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Garden seating area
Front entrance
front of cottage
Ruskim's view
Seating in the cottage garden
Entrance to the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

hmanicols...
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, easy living!”
Reviewed 7 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Having visited KL many times before, we know the last thing you need is a car and the hassle of parking. Checking in was simplicity itself. Sharon provides a very detailed manual on the cottage and info on the immediate and surrounding areas. Car parking is free down at the Devil's Bridge and you have choices to walk back to the cottage. Very comfortable cottage with our newly five year old granddaughter virtually taking up residence in the elevated roll top bath. Everything is virtually on your doorstep, a short stroll up Salt Pie Lane lands you on the main street with its broad range of shops and hostelries. The Xmas Fayre weekend was magical for our grandchildren. Well done, KL.
Lilac Cottage will serve you well during your stay. We'll be back.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Dec 2017
Thanks Hugh and family for your lovely review, it makes it all worth while when our guests enjoy our cottage as much as we do. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janey0808...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at lilac cottage”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed at lilac cottage for my husbands birthday with friends, the cottage is beautiful, it has everything you need and more, The cottage is right in the middle of the village close to all the bars and restaurants will be recommending a stay here to all our friends.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Jan 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, I’m so glad you had a fabulous stay at Lolac cottage for your husbands birthday with your friends and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
789marid
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I spent last weekend with my siblings in the lovely picturesque town of Kirkby Lonsdale, but what made it more special was the gorgeous 'not little' cottage called Lilac - smack in the middle of the village. You couldn't get a better position, everything is on your doorstep, from Cafés & Pubs to Contemporary shops for that small need of retail therapy.

The cottage has all you need and more for a very luxurious stay, including underfloor heating in the kitchen and a log burning fire, although our stay wasn't cold enough to warrant using it, it does add a touch of comfort.

Sharon and Vaughan you have created a beautiful home from home, we will definitely be coming back to stay again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're so glad you had a lovely break and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankiedi...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My family and I have just returned from spending the weekend at Lilac Cottage. On arrival we were met by a lovely 'Welcome' basket full of luxury goodies in the kitchen, which was a lovely surprise. The house itself is in a fabulous location within a minutes walk from the main town, the cottage is beautiful and cozy but large enough for 6+ people. It's beautiful finished with quality decor and I will definitely be visiting again. Thank you Sharon.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thanks Frankie for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your weekend with your family.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Regards Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“We loved your cottage.”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I stayed at Lilac Cottage with some family members over the weekend. I have to stay that it's a gorgeous cottage. I had already seen photos online but it is even more stunning in the 'flesh'. I stayed here with 6 other adults and not once did it feel too small, the accommodation is over 3 floors and the number of bedrooms and bathrooms was more than adequate. Lilac Cottage is also in a superb location. It is situated down a little street right in the centre of Kirby Lonsdale, so is perfect for sightseeing, shopping and lazy evening strolls to local pubs or restaurants for dining out.
Thank you for a wonderful stay...we'll be back.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thanks Christine for your kind review so glad you loved Lilac cottage and we hope to see you back again in the near future.
Thankyou also for our lovely gift you are very talented.
Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique P
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Stay here with my brothers and sisters for are mums Anniversary, It was very homely beautiful and spacious inside, it had everything you needed in the kitchen, the internet was great .when we arrived Sharon the owner had left a basket of goodies, wine chocolate tea coffee etc for us which was lovely of her . We had a amazing time . The location was great 2 min in to town were there's a few cute pubs ,tea rooms and shops . We'll definitely visit again

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thanks Monique for your fabulous review, I'm so happy that you enjoyed Lilac cottage and what a lovely thing o do with your family celebrating your mums anniversary.
Glad to here that you will be returning, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Thanks Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
771kimber...
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I stayed in this cottage over a weekend in September. The dark nights had started to draw in and it was a warm, cosy place to stay with a roaring log burner (which Sharon had set up ready to go!).

The cottage is really close to all local amenities, restaurants and shops but still tucked away enough to feel tranquil and away from the hustle and bustle of the main street.

The decoration is spotless and it seems as though everything has been thought of to make the holiday easy and hassle free. There was even a welcome hamper for our arrival!

I couldn't recommend it highly enough! Thanks for a fab little break :)

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Kimberley Thank you for your fabulous review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your break with your family and hope you return to Lilac cottage in the future.
Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.