We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful cottage in a lovely town”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lilac Cottage

Lounge/dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge/dining
Front of cottage kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Lounge/dining
Front of cottage
kitchen
Double bedroom
Bathroom
Log burner
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Ensuite bathroom to master bedroom
Toiletries
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Garden seating area
Front entrance
front of cottage
Garden path
Garden
Ruskim's view
Devils Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hannah w
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful cottage in a lovely town”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The cottage was beautifully presented and very handy for shops and restaurants in Kirkby Lonsdale. Everything we needed was to hand and we spent the evening in the garden enjoying the lovely weather

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2018
Thank you for your lovely review.
So glad your enjoyed Lilac cottage and our villiage, it was a pleasure to host you and your family. We hope you come back in the future for another holiday.
Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keltamash...
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, immaculately clean and well-thought-out cottage”
Reviewed 16 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Sharon's cottage is beautiful, immaculately clean and well thought out. We arrived with high expectations from the photos and reviews - and the actual place managed to surpass them all.

The cottage was not only spacious and comfortable, it has been renovated and furnished with a keen eye for detail, and equipped with all the mod cons and an astonishing amount of smart tech - from the windows to the heating.

It was also stocked with everything we could possibly need. Sharon left us a lovely welcome hamper & even set up the log fire - not that we needed it in such lovely weather!

Great location as well - the cottage is tucked away in a quiet lane yet literally round the corner (via Salt Pie Lane) from the main street. Kirkby Lonsdale was the perfect base for exploring the lakes and Yorkshire Dales, and Sharon's exhaustive folder of tips about the area (complete with handwritten annotations and recommendations) came in handy.

In short, all the comforts of home and then some. Sharon is evidently a host who thinks of everything and takes a great deal of pride in her cottage as well as the happiness of her guests. We enjoyed every moment of our stay and would not hesitate to come back. 200% recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2018
Thank you Dawn you and your family were a pleasure to host, your communication was outstanding and you treated our cottage as if your own it was left spotless.
I look forward to hosting you again when you return for another visit.
Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location with so much to do - walks, shopping, fabulous restaurants”
Reviewed 1 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Kirkby Lonsdale has so much to offer for a short break. Lilac Cottage is decorated and furnished in a very contemporary style offering excellent accommodation. Everything is brand new with an eye to detail.
We had one person with us who was not fully fit, so we made use of the Booths car park - £15 for 3 days and left one car in town and the other at Devils Bridge.
Excellent cafes and restaurants all within 5 minutes walk!
Lots of shopping and we bought a pack of local walks from the Tourist Information to enjoy the stunning countryside. We will be back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2018
Thank you for your lovely review and so glad you enjoyed our villiage and stunning countryside. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laura M
1 review
“Beautiful cottage with amazing attention to detail ”
Reviewed 19 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed in Lilac Cottage for a short family holiday with our kids and the grandparents while visiting relatives and it surpassed all of our expectations.

The cottage is beautifully presented. The attention to detail is second to none and it has such a luxurious feel, but it's not over-done. There are quirky wee pieces of art and decorations dotted about the cottage and everything is fresh and clean. There's underfloor heating in the kitchen.

Kirkby Lonsdale is a lovely market town with nice wee shops and side streets. Lilac Cottage is in a perfect quiet location and has a lovely wee garden area with table and chairs.

Although parking isn't available at the cottage we didn't find parking to be an issue. You can buy a 3 or 7 day ticket for the main car parks which means you don't have to worry about finding change all the time.

Sharon left a lovely welcome pack and was great at communicating. We are looking forward to returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2018
Laura thank you so much for your lovely review, you and your family were a pleasure to host. You looked after our cottage as if it was your own and left it spotless. I’m so glad you loved it as it makes all my hard work worth while.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thanks Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari D
2 reviews
“Fab weekend”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I have stayed here a number of times now and it feels like home from home only a little more special each time I come. The cottage is so lovley, homely and luxurious. Can't wait to be back to enjoy it and the village again.

It's a shame to leave when we have to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2018
So glad you had another fabulous break at Lilac Cottage , look forward to welcoming you back Mari.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blueskytc...
Providenciales
1 review
“Lovely cottage with personal touch”
Reviewed 21 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had a really enjoyable family vacation at Lilac Cottage. The Cottage was very clean, light and modern. The village has lots of character with great walks nearby. Personal touches like the gift package on arrival and pre- prepared fire were greatly appreciated. The owner contacted us the day we left to let us know we had left something and arranged the return of it to us at no cost to us which says it all in terms of client care and how our relationship was conducted throughout.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2018
Thank you for your lovely feedback I’m so glad you enjoyed staying at Lilac Cottage.
I look forward to welcoming you back next time you come to Kirkby Lonsdale.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKJMcMaho...
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Lilac Cottage was perfect!”
Reviewed 20 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I booked this cottage for our Christmas holiday visiting family in the area and we had an amazing time. We arrived the day before Christmas Eve very tired having travelled the long journey from San Francisco. The owner really went out of her way to make it special for us with a beautiful Christmas tree and gifts for our 2 children under the tree.

The cottage is beautifully renovated and equipped with everything you could need for a relaxing stay on the edge of the Lake District in the amazing village of Kirkby Lonsdale.

I’ve rented many properties around the world and can definitely say I felt the owner really wants her guests to relax and enjoy. Next time I’m in the area I’ll be booking Lilac cottage again. Hmm, perhaps I shouldn’t be writing this review and keeping this place secret!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Andrew thank you so much for your amazing review, I love my job and reading reviews like yours makes it all worth while. Look forward to welcoming you and your family back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing