We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb weekend”
Review of Plato's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plato's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just spent the weekend at Platos and had a lovely time. Location is superb, rooms are very comfortable - bed & pillows are very cumfy we slept very well. Rooms were very clean. Food was excellent had a delicious evening meal on the Friday night. Staff were very welcoming & friendly. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on the main street & our room was over the main entrance. We did hear some...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitzy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for Plato's
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked Plato's last minute as an overnight stop on our way home from Scotland and were delighted both with the town and the hotel. The rooms are very well appointed - though if you are on the top floor you may have to duck a bit if you are tall! The information book they provide regarding the area is the best i have come across in any hotel. We had tapas in the restaurant in the evening which more than satisfied us after a week of feasting around Scotland and the breakfast was delicious without making you feel you need not eat for the rest of the day. Staff are jolly and friendly and we will certainly return if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor if you are tall.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank silverfirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Thank you so much Alex and Team. Had a wonderful one night stay. From the moment arrived looked after by Ollie. Great welcome, staff had kept our arrival secret as surprising friends.Car park permit given to us to park the car. Great start. We were shown to our room, really loved all the little extras. Sweet jar, kit kats, and fresh milk available to make that good cup of tea. The bathroom had lovely soaps and body lotion and great power shower over the bath. The bed was so comfortable with a crisp white sheet & duvet hence a good night sleep.
Breakfast - a great choice and delicious. We even had Buck's Fizz, well it's not every day your friends celebrating a Big Birthday. Thank you so much for a wonderful time. So looking forward to seeing you soon. Angela & Peter W.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, some overlook the Main Street and others the courtyard.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiler080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Plato's is well known to my wife and I as we've stayed there on previous occasions. So on Tuesday 8th July while travelling north on the M6 we decide to divert to Kirkby Lonsdale to lunch at Plato's.
You may apreciate, therefore, our disappointment on arrival to be told that service was only available in the bar area and not the restaurant. As this meant lunching off low, inappropriate, furniture we declined and went to a nearby alternative. The worst part of this is that no explanation was offered, it was take whats offered or leave it - so we did and are unlkely to return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LancashireVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Friendly welcome, room was small but well appointed, breakfast was good with choice of cooked dishes and locally sourced ingredients. Its a lively centrally located place with music playing most of the time. If you're looking for a quiet break maybe not for you! Good local beers, tapas menu and main courses too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Farple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

See what I did with the title?!!!
Stayed here on Sat 05/07/14 because I mucked up and booked our original hotel for 12/07/14. Kirkby and the surrounding area were very busy and this was the only room we could find. All I can say is thank goodness I did mess up our original booking. My partner and I have stayed in hundreds of hotels over the years but this is one of the nicest in we've ever been to. The room we stopped in was only small and the TV kept switching itself off every five minutes but it was immaculate and there was lovely attention to detail, but it was the staff who really stood out, they are, without exception utterly lovely with Olly and Alex being a very funny double act. Food is local, well cooked unpretentious and delicious, the lamb is to die for - only complaint is that we were supposed to have dinner b&b for a specific price and we were charged individually for food and accommodation and we didn't get our tea and scones so we want double next time! There were also several pints of beer added to our bill and neither my partner nor I drink beer, but when I pointed this out to the girl they were immediately removed.

Room Tip: Room 5 has the dodgy tele but overlooks the courtyard so is wonderful for people watching (being nos...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Whenever we stay in Kirkby Lonsdale we use Plato's. You can always guarantee a warm, friendly welcome from all of the staff, spotless, well appointed rooms and great attention to detail. Not your ordinary biscuits on the tea tray, but Kit Kats! The beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept in, the rooms are spotless and the food is first class. Breakfast is cooked to order and even fussy eaters like myself, who doesnt eat cooked breakfast, are well catered for with plenty of fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissants etc. If you dont see anything that you fancy, then just ask and it will be provided. Our only adverse comment on our stay last week was the noise of people using the stairs as our room was next to the staircase but this did not disturb us late at night, and, to be honest, can only be expected along with creaking floors, due to the age of the building. It adds to the character.

Room Tip: Top floor will be less noisy
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlyKateLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,133 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
500 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
408 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plato's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plato's

Address: No 2 Mill Brow, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: £88 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plato's 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plato’s is set in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale - once discovered never forgotten. On the edge of the Lake District, the Dales and The Forest of Bowland. A pretty little market town set in the Lune Valley with wonderful walking, stunning views and really good shopping.As a boutique hotel, we understand that one of the joys of going away is to have a touch more luxury than you do at home. So that is why in our higgledy piggledy old building, we have made sure that every room is unique. The only thing that is standard is comfort - the ultra luxury Vi-Spring beds, the crisp cotton linen, the stacks of fluffy white towels, the state of the art flatscreen TVs, the luxurious en suite bathrooms some with baths and others with rainfall showers, the complimentary bottle of Plato's wine and gorgeous local Sedbergh Soap Company toiletries.Downstairs we have a Bar and Restaurant - Proper home cooking with a twist made from fresh ingredients sourced on our doorstep, a wine list selected by grape so that you can try new variations of your favourite wine, and honest beers and ales for the drinker who knows the difference.All prices are per room per night and include our sumptuous breakfast which is served until 2.30pm so you really can have a lazy lie in (please note that the room cleaning service finishes at 10am and check out on day of departure is 11am). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Plato's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plato`s Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Plato's Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing