We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with friend”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Recently retired and decided to have lunch with a retired work colleague. What a lovely lunch and afternoon. The food was excellent and we spent the afternoon reminiscing and catching up with each other. What a lovely memory. I could not fault the service or the food. I think we may have outstayed our welcome as we stayed most of the afternoon but nobody hurried us or asked us to move. I would recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

An interesting old hotel right on the village square - yet our room and en-suite bath were both very updated and contemporary in decor. A nicely decorated dining room as well, with a good selection for our included breakfast. And a pub on the main floor (though no noise from there on a week night). Parking was the only problem, as the hotel has none (there are somewhat expensive pay lots very close by, and limited time spots on the street -if you can find a spot).
We stayed 2 nights in early May (in the area for a 50th wedding anniversary celebration that was taking place close by), and found the village of Kirkby Lonsdale and surrounding countryside to be charming and lovely.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BandKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were looking forward to our overnight stay in the Royal Hotel as we don't get away that often and for us, this was an expensive hotel. When we arrived we didn't have much of a welcome, just given our key, told our room was upstairs and that the hotel was fully booked for dinner so we would have to go elsewhere. We had room 2 - be warned, this is above the bistro, so you have the music from the bistro until 1am and the bus stop is directly outside, so you have rowdy people outside your window waiting for the last bus. I was disappointed with the lack of extras, that you don't really know you are expecting, such as biscuits, choice of tea and towelling robes. We have stayed in cheaper accommodation which was of higher standard with friendly staff and additions to the room such as biscuits, robes etc Breakfast was of a high standard, but seemed like they were trying to really cut portion size, I have never left a hotel hungry after breakfast before! For the price that we paid I was really really disappointed and would not visit this hotel or any in the chain again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room do not choose room 2, especially on a Saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTravellingMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We called in to the Royal Hotel Saturday 21 June 2014 for lunch while on a day out to Kirkby Lonsdale and were made to feel very welcome. We had our 91 year old grandmother with us who wanted the Sea Bass but wanted different vegetable options to those on the menu - the waitress who served us was very kind and she was also outstanding in terms of customer service. She went back several times to check with the chef who was equally obliging. We had an excellent meal but what was outstanding for us was the friendliness and service of all the staff. We will definitely be going back again when we next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Once again, Jason and his marvellous team delivered a wonderful stay for us! The welcome, accommodation, atmosphere and general experience were all excellent. We dined in the restaurant on the evening of the local music festival and the staff provided a particularly top drawer service during what was an extremely busy time for them. Well done all!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryS390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Royal Hotel is welcoming and comfortable in a very good way! On arrival you are immediately made to feel at home. This is especially due to every single member of staff who are all friendly, helpful and make you feel like nothing is too much trouble. Our room wasn't huge but it had a nice view, a very comfy bed, a lovely bathroom and was spotlessly clean. There were excellent bathroom products from the shop across the road, bottled water and lots of hangers, including some padded ones. All great touches! The pillows were perfect-and I am very picky! We ate in the bistro. The food was great; a good choice and well cooked. Wines were extremely reasonably priced and the service was excellent. Breakfast was also good; not a huge choice but very well cooked and good quality. The hotel is perfectly placed in the middle of Kirkby Lonsdale. It has a lovely atmosphere throughout. It is very good value for money and we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Room 6 has grand furniture and a comfortable corner bath. Though not huge, it is light and has every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited this hotel with mixed feelings but was soon won over by the atmosphere, furnishing and of course the location. The décor has been tastefully (well to mine anyway) carried out it fits in with the essence of the market place & town.

Food was fine, nothing to set the world on fire with but acceptable and the price given the location OK.

Room Tip: Ask for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
0 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
514 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
16 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Main Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: £89 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing