We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My New Local?”
Review of Royal Hotel

Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My New Local?”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having just moved into a Kirkby Lonsdale Townhouse, I was eager to sample our nearest hostelry….a 200m stroll away.

We arrived late at 9pm on a busy Saturday night…although the restaurant was full, Steve the Maitre D' found us a super table pdq!….nice simple menu, and almost colonial atmosphere!

Seafood linguine followed by a Jamaican Eton Mess was an odd combo but both very tasty and VFM

We really enjoyed the evening and would now like to buy a season ticket to go there at will!..please Steve?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    83
    33
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wished we had stayed here!!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Friendly service, the manager even showed us around upstairs in the hotel. Fantastic rooms if you are planning a stay in Kirby Lonsdale.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisP1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful building ”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Slightly stuck up atmosphere and slow service. Coupled with the fact the food was brilliant made an average visit.

Kitchen staff the main reason to go even if you don't see them, top food

Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Lovely..”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed one of the most relaxed, well served, timely and tasty meals we have had in a while.Attentive service whilst managing to create a laid back and calming atmosphere.
The Royal is another James' Place triumph and pizzas as usual are awesome.
Smashing menu with lots of choice, slightly overpriced desserts and side dishes. Having said that all the food we received was faultless.
Chicken Goujons, Pollo Pizza, Fries, Rocket and Parmesan Salad. Well presented, perfect portions.
Delicious desserts; Sticky Toffee and Chocolate Brownie.
Served by unobtrusive, smiley and seemingly interested staff who were all well turned out and very pleasant gentlemen. Just a lovely, lovely lunch.

Helpful?
Thank SayWogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic customer service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Really welcoming and attentive staff without being "in your face". Room was very comfortable - staff were responsive when I pointed out broken towel rail and blown light bulb. They also found and forwarded some possessions I left behind free of charge, which really impressed me. The breakfasts were amongst the best I've ever had and I also ate there two evenings. I had fantastic pizza both times because their "beat the clock" (i.e. early bird) deal was too good to miss! Would definitely recommend and hope to be back soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Hotel also viewed

Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing