We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick pizza or á la carte - both good!”
Review of Royal Hotel

Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“quick pizza or á la carte - both good!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Royal in Kirkby Lonsdale is excellent. The pizza menu is super and well conceived. Go at 4.30 and you pay £4.30, go quarter to five £4.45 , and so on up to about half six. This is for top quality pizzas at £9-£11. The Pizza Spagnola and the vegetarian pizza are particularly good. On a la carte the food is excellent and the building and decor are fantastic. A good spot.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonviveurEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    83
    33
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ormskirk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Food reasonable but surroundings disappointing”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Recently refurbished so was keen to visit this establishment, smart from the outside. Dark depressing decore with very worn table tops and enormous ugly lamps hanging from the ceiling. Food and service good but overall very disappointing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkyOrmskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“quick lunch”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

very nice place and good selection of food which was good value
service friendly and prompt
good location in town

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tonydUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
131 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely, fresh home cooked food.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We ate here as part of a hotel stay so had dinner and breakfast.
The dinner menu had plenty of choice and we were advised there may be a wait as food is cooked fresh to order and the restaurant was busy being a Friday night. We didn't have an excessive wait at all. The red mullet starter was one of the best I've ever had. Everything was beautifully cooked and well presented with menu prices no different to any other restaurant serving this type of food. It's a treat, not an everyday eaterie.
The breakfasts were delicious too - a choice of hot food (smoked salmon, haddock, eggs benedict, etc) and toast was brought to your table on order. Juices and a few cereals were available for you to help yourself.
Would definitely recommend and look forward to visiting again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spanner74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Decided to eat here after good reviews on trip advisor and after a couple of drinks in here earlier in the week we thought it looked nice. We were allowed to stay at the bar area while we waited for our starter dish to be cooked which was a nice touch. Both our meals were delicious and the service was great. The chef even made my other half's dish from scratch as the admitted it was no longer on the menu but would make it for us anyway. The menu was quite pricey but overall a lovely meal out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neillucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Hotel also viewed

Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing