We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful......”
Review of Hipping Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hipping Hall
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Booked last minute for hubbys birthday,very nice indeed.Our Room was lovely with a spacious bathroom. Lovely toiletries provided.Exquisite evening meal and super breakfast.Great for a special occasion.
Must mention the delightful Mel,absolutely delightful ,a credit to your taem...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nell2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is quite expensive, if it's package had fully lived up to our expectations then we certainly wouldn't have minded.

Whilst the bed was lovely and comfortable and the staff friendly and welcoming, the food at the hotel was not particularly great, which was a let down as we stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast package.

Unfortunately the bathroom in the room was also freezing as the towel rail was broken.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xvanillaskyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Had a brilliant time at Hipping Hill. Beautiful room with views across the lawn, welcoming and friendly hospitality and simply delicious 6 course taster menu. Perfect venue for much needed rest, recuperation and relaxation. Only reason not 5 star review is that the grounds are relatively small so this place is all about the lovely room, relaxing lounge area and delicious restaurant dining.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank at23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here for one night for our silver wedding anniversary, and we loved it! We were offered a room upgrade when we arrived, which we accepted, and we stayed in room 4, which was beautiful - spacious, well designed and tranquil. We opted for the tasting menu at dinner, which was amazing. Every course was delicious, but the langoustines were my favourite! Service was excellent throughout. Breakfast was also lovely. We left in pouring rain, and the offer of an umbrella and help with luggage all helped to make our stay feel special. We hope to return!

Room Tip: Room 4 was lovely, with nice view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tegfantrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We loved our stay here. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a modern bathroom and nice toiletries. I was delighted to find that, unlike most dimly lit hotel rooms, this room had recessed lights that you could put on if you needed more light, ie: doing makeup/hair etc., but still had the dim lighting option. The service is excellent, and all the staff were very pleasant and professional. It was really nice to have complimentary tea and cake brought to our room on arrival, this was much appreciated. Though the hotel is renowned for it's food, we found it actually exceeded our expectations..dinner( we had the taster menu) was absolutely delicious, beautifully cooked and presented, and we relished every morsel! The waiting staff were charming and attentive, and looked after us very well. Breakfast was also excellent, and very generous. We will definitely go again, and can highly recommend this hotel. We enjoyed exploring Kirkby Lonsdale, a lovely town with lovely people..well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had room 2. The bed was very comfortable, nice spotlessly clean bathroom, spacious room with thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

7 course tasting menu excellent. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Dining room slightly quiet but that's probably do to the cavernous room.

Room not as good could do with a bit of a face lift but certainly not shabby. Small things like flakey paint, couple of cracked floor tiles and older fittings could be mended for a five star rating.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Underwhelmed88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Was looking forward to staying here for my birthday especially as the TA family give it a massive thumbs up.

We were not disappointed. Service is simply exceptional - the staff are extremely friendly, professional and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

Check in was quick and we were shown to our room immediately. Room 2 was lovely, clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. One thing I did find a bit odd was the high pile carpet, don't come across this type in hotels very much nowadays!

Slight hiccup when a fuse blew the main lights out but within 30 seconds of calling reception they had come upstairs and sorted it out so not an issue at all.

What I did love was the fact that staff were waiting outside the lounge to welcome people in and serve drinks before dinner. So many times have hotels got this wrong where people are sat unattended. Hipping Hall got it spot on. Welcomed straight away, drink and food menus provided and drinks came immediately. Good selection of wines and menu choice was lovely.

Taken to the restaurant area, lovely place, comfortable with roaring fire. Quite private as well, each of the tables are placed so you are not encroaching on others.

Service in the restaurant again exceptional, food glorious and timings of serving each course was perfect.

Great nights sleep in comfortable bed. TV had tons of channels, shower was powerful and plenty of hot water, lots of decent towels and some nice toiletries. A plate of fruit and bottles of water in the room. No tea and coffee tray but you can ask for one to be put in - plus they serve it to your room whenever you want (with yummy cake!).

Breakfast service once again fabulous as was the menu.

The location is just on the way into Cowan Bridge and to be fair, if you are not a massive fan of walking, there is very little to do in the immediate vicinity. Kirby Lonsdale is ok but not very much to see/do there unless you like little market towns, was nice enough to spend an hour looking in the shops and having a coffee. The location cannot of course be a critisim of the hotel by any means!

Bravo to all involved in the running/management of this hotel, loved our stay and have recommended it to everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitlam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.5 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,139 reviews
20.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
610 reviews
18.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,403 reviews
7.6 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipping Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipping Hall

Address: Cowan Bridge, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: £176 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hipping Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hipping Hall is a modern country restaurant with 3 AA Rosette dining and luxuriously appointed bedrooms.Sitting between the beautiful English Lake District and the rugged Yorkshire Dales, Hipping Hall is the perfect venue to explore the very best of what the North-West has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hipping Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipping Hall Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing