We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hipping Hall
Nearby Hotels
Snooty Fox(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$182
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Redwell Inn(Arkholme)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orange Tree Hotel(Kirkby Lonsdale)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Whoop Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
408
84
33
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
408
84
33
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menumichelin starwine packagecottage roompre dessertthe main housewine flightspiral staircaseamuse bouchedining experiencethe bed was extremely comfortablematched winesa la carte menufood and winebefore dinnerporridgeunderfloor heating
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed in room 6 which was amazing!!! The staff and service were second to none.
Celebrating a special Birthday with friends who kindly treated us. The wonderful 5 course dinner, with all the extras, Fab cocktails and pre dinner nibbles made it all very special!
The afternoon tea on arrival in the beautiful gardens added that extra treat....

Room Tip: Room 6 lovely decor and fab bathroom!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I have just enjoyed a lovely night away at Hipping Hall. On arrival we were told that we had been upgraded to a lovely, large room overlooking the gardens. We were then served tea and cake in the orangerie. Dinner was a sublime, culinary experience. All dishes were perfectly executed; both tasty and beautiful. Afterwards we enjoyed more drinks in the cosy lounge and had a chat with the NZ head chef. All of the staff were very welcoming and attentive. Couldn't ask for better. We will definitely be back! Thank you all!!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Big thankyou to the staff at the hotel for taking care of us so well.

We were celebrating a birthday with family.
Staff were very attentive. We enjoyed afternoon tea on arrival in the beautiful gardens. It was a beautiful sunny day so that helped to show the gardens off to their best.

Dinner was very nice - we opted for the 5 courses. The value I think is good - although the food not as 'amazing' as previous reviews have suggested - it was very nice. Small thing - we were a little disappointed with the petit fours!!

Breakfast was great - decent portions, not too over facing, very tasty.

The dining room is pretty smart as is the bar and sitting area(s). Really comfortable and great places to have pre-dinner canapes / drinks and after dinner coffee.

We hade rooms 2 and 4. Two has a lovely view over the gardens - with three windows giving the room lots of light and a beautiful view. The beds are very comfortable.

Overall our stay here was very enjoyable. We were made to feel very welcome and all members of our party thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and am sure will return (or visit the sister hotel in the lakes)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tonydUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way home from a holiday in Scotland. The location was perfect for us as it was exactly halfway between our holiday location in Perthshire and home in Lincolnshire. We have been planning to stay here for a while now as the reviews have always been so positive and so we were really looking forward to our stay but we were sadly disappointed with the accommodation and feel that the quality of the room and some of the other areas need to be brought up to the same standard as the quality of the dining experience which is first class.
There are a number of little issues that combine quickly to detract from the experience which is a real shame.
The first thing we noticed is that there is a lick of paint badly needed in a number of places on the outside of the property. We saw a lot of peeling paint particularly on window frames which makes the property look a little neglected and shabby. Next, the reception entrance is not easily found when you first arrive as it is hidden away on a side entrance to the building instead of through the main, and very beautiful, front door which is blocked on the inside as it is part of the lounge. This means that you just don't get the sense of arrival at a beautiful property that should be possible in such an interesting old building.
In both the bedroom and the lounge the furnishings are sadly old-fashioned and did not feel luxurious at all - in fact we thought some things felt very cheaply done indeed. The TV in our bedroom was very small and mounted on the wall using an expanding wall bracket - the kind of thing you might find in a cheap motel. Bedroom furniture was cheap and looked as though it had been carelessly selected from a third rate furniture warehouse. Soft furnishings were dated and lacked good taste. Whilst our bathroom was quite nice and the towels were thick and fluffy the biggest disappointment for us was that the bedding was all man-made, synthetic materials (pillows and duvet) and when I called down to reception asking for feather pillows instead I was told there were none. Come on - even the Holiday Inn provide feather pillows on request and this is supposed to be a plush experience is it not? This should really be standard at a hotel of this price. The overall effect of these little issues is that instead of feeling delighted to be there you feel that one night is enough and you may not return to stay again.
Quite the opposite is true for the dining experience which is simply superb. The dinner menu is appealing, the food is delicious and the service is excellent. The chef and his team have really achieved something very special here indeed and we would recommend dining here but probably best to find somewhere better to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the main road as it can be noisy throughout the night.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MoneypennyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I booked one night with dinner, with a slight discount but still not cheap (it's on several web sites discounted at the moment), but having read the reviews I decided we should have a treat and was really looking forward to it.

The food was fantastic, both breakfast and dinner, but the hotel and room are in dire need of tlc. Lots of little issues makes the place feel a little unloved. We know the area well and to be honest I think you'd probably get better value for money staying in a B&B and just booking dinner here.

So the high point was dinner. We decided not to do the taster menu but to share the 3 course (actually 5) and have cheese as an extra. The cost of £55 per head sounds a lot but given the total room cost is av £299 you can see it maybe better value to stay elsewhere. We couldn't fault the food, and the very young staff were friendly and had been well briefed on the food being served. Breakfast was also good but they didn't seem ready 15 mins after the advertised breakfast start.

Seems odd to complain about the room when we had such a good meal, but when we put it all together we realised the whole place needed attention. We stayed in room 5 , advertised as overlooking the garden - not forgetting the office and store for the kitchen. The sash windows in the bedroom were broken, so as it was a warm night we had to find something to prop them open - thankfully no noise overnight. Not helped by the bedroom blind being broken not dropping fully to cover the window, and the curtain tie back missing. The hairdryer kept cutting out, necessitating a log hunt for a replacement. As there is no mobile reception and the hotel wifi is quite limited we tried to use the room phone for an essential phone call, only to find it was broken, and no replacement could be found.... so we must have had 3/4 visits to our room in the space of an hour before dinner (and me in my dressing gown)! And then one of the bathroom lights was hanging loose....and yes we also had the blowing bathroom curtain.

Sounds like I'm going on and we were just unlucky (and having booked a deal), but then we saw a chair in the bar with springs hanging down below the seat, and then sat in the dining room to see a plug socket hanging off the wall next to us.

Sounds like we hated the place, we didn't, but just felt someone needs to have a good look round, and have the room quality match the food.

So whilst we loved the food, we wouldn't rush to stay there again, even discounted.

Room Tip: Definitely not room 5 unless all the issues I have raised have been resolved, you'll not get chance to relax and enjoy it - good sized room, comfy (soft) bed, but no bath.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank banstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews