We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Return Visit”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance and driveway to Biggins Grange Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance and driveway to Biggins Grange Barn
Driveway and garden, parking area Garden and seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Entrance and driveway to Biggins Grange Barn
Driveway and garden, parking area
Garden and seating area
Hallway
Kitchen, with views over the fells
Dining area
18th Century spice cupboard in the kitchen.
Sitting Room, with electric log burning stove.
Bedroom
Bedroom, leading to en suite and dressing room
Bathroom, with dressing table
Bathroom
Dressing gown.
Romantic Balloon Flight over the Barn
Christmas at Biggins.
Certificate of Excellence.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Johnandro...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Return Visit”
Reviewed 9 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just recently returned from our 3rd stay at the wonderful Biggins Grange Barn. As we very rarely make repeat visits to anywhere, to return to the Barn says everything. Lovely accommodation in a very peaceful location and ideally situated to visit the Lakes and the Yorkshire Dales. Kirkby Lonsdale is also about a mile away and has some excellent pubs and restaurants to try, the Orange Tree, the Snooty Fox and the newly opened Royal Barn to name just a few.

Tina and David, the owners, are wonderful hosts, and, as I have said before, have thought of everything to make one's stay memorable. Thank you yet again, Tina and David.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again. It's always a pleasure to welcome guests back. Hope to see you next year!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin B
1 review
“Brilliant cottage. Brilliant location. Faultless.”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Cottage has everything you need. We have been before, last time concentrating on visiting the lakes. This time the Yorkshire dales. Superb scenery and we had great weather.
Will come again. Owners make you very welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind review. So pleased you seem to have enjoyed your return visit, as much as your last one. Still plenty to see and do! Look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsP2018
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Excellent break”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was a last minute break for the both of us and an excellent choice. So, hands off, there's nothing to see here so just move on. Charming accommodation. All areas nicely decorated and clean. Peaceful and quiet location. Great views of the balloon flights taking off. Only a short walk into the town. Try the coconut and lime ice cream, it's a must. I think we will be back in the future, not something we often do.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Pleased you enjoyed your break, and you had a good time staying in the barn. Would love to see you back again, perfect guests! ( Don't quite understand "So hands off, there's nothing to see here so just move on"?)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel106
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our third stay”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely to come back to this comfy and well positioned holiday cottage. It has everything we need including nice touches such as fresh flowers and bottle of wine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Lovely to see you again, looking forward to your fourth visit!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to meet you both, and hope we can welcome you back again to Biggins Grange Barn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Johnandro...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Return Visit”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our second visit to the excellent Biggins Grange Barn and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves yet again. Superb accommodation in a fantastic setting. The location is ideal for visiting the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales , and, of course, you have the lovely village of Kirkby Lonsdale on your doorstep. Plenty of good pubs and restaurants and a delightful place to visit in its own right.

As said after our visit last year, David and Tina, the owners, have thought of everything in making the Barn such a special place to stay. Even the weather was perfect this year, but I am sure that was just a coincidence!

Thank you both so much. Hope to see you again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Lovely to welcome you back, and so pleased you enjoyed yourselves so much on your return visit. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue l
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Biggins Grange Barn was beautiful,everything you could wish for and more. The only thing i could say i missed was not having a TV in the bedroom. It was real home from home and spotless in every way.The owners Tina and David are so friedly and helpful. The TV in the lounge broke while we were there and Tina and David brought their TV round for us to use that they use in their kitchen.2 days later a brand new TV was bought and David set it all up for us...excellent service all round. If you are wanting to go to Kirkby Lonsdale then book this cottage, you really will not be disappointed I can guarantee that. 5 star.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing