We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food ..nice atmosphere”
Review of Orange Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkby Lonsdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orange Tree Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is an excellent example of a traditional real ale pub, really great friendly atmosphere, I fancied a dark beer and the barman fetched a bottle from the cellar...we ordered starters and main meals at the same time ...service was quick and the food was lovely ..well recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Your never sure what you are going to get when you stay in a pub style hotel but The Orange Tree was brilliant.

The room was very charming and homely and the best nights sleep I've had when staying away.

The staff are really friendly and the locals make for a great atmosphere, along with really good food I would definitely recommend it and I will definitely be staying here again next year when I'm back for the West Morland Show.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Booked the last room on the Saturday night as we were travelling by motorbike and the weather was horendous and decided to pull off M6. Had been in pub before and alway's fancied staying so this was an ideal opportunity.

Room (1) was a nice room with two large single beds with new matresses and decorated as you would expect it to be, a bit quaint, but fresh and clean. Bathroom didn't have shower but did have a spa bath and complimentary shampoo etc.

Bar is well stocked and if you are a real ale drinker then I think you would be really happy here in it's well stocked and cosy bar. We ate dinner in the hotel and enjoyed the home cooked food and we didn't find it too expensive being £46.00 for starters and mains with a bottle of red. Breakfast is really good, hot and plenty of it with hot toast and fresh brewed coffee or a pot of tea and all the usual cereals with the milk and the orange juice on your table as opposed to more and more buffet style; it was a nice touch.
All in all was a good stay, I do think the room is slightly over priced at £90, however it was the last room in Kirby Lonsdale that night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Called in on spec for one night,ended up staying for three.This is a great pub with great beer,great food,and comfortable rooms.Ideal for touring and handy for the town.Stayed here a few years ago and had a mixed grill that would have fed a family of four.Nice to see things haven't changed,still a great place.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paladin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

What would you expect from a Camra pub of the year with a micro brewery? What you will find is a good range of several great beers most tried and in excellent condition. Well looked after pub with inexpensive food and good atmosphere. A must to visit if you are anywhere near. What a pleasant change from recent visits to different pubs in the area over last 18 months which too often serve up dodgy and unreliable beer.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank badlybaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights, the room was clean enough but the bed was just a metal frame camp bed pushed against a wall, no headboard.
The room had got a conservatory that opened on to some decking that was very wobbly and unstable, across the decking was the boiler room that was quite noisy, not loud enough to keep you awake but loud enough to notice all the time droning on in the background. Breakfast was very unimaginative, fry up or fry up the choice is yours! No yoghurt or Fruit, No fish or vegetarian option, jam and marmalade came in those sealed plastic pots that you get in service stations. The waitress, in jeans and a hoody, didnt know where the sausages or bacon were from, being a farmer i think traceability is very important. I wouldnt rush back, it served a purpose - no more. I dont think they can call themselves a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farmerswife44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I was shocked to read one review of this hotel as it bore no resemblance to the stay we just enjoyed. First I did know of the 3 for 2 and booked on that basis. No one mentioned a curfew to us at any time, we were just told to hand the key in so they knew if we were back!!
Closing time is midnight Saturday anyway!! We enjoyed the breakfasts and the evening meal we had here!
We got as much coffee , toast etc as we wanted and all meat products were a high quality. And scrambled eggs when requested!! Our bed was a bit soft for my taste but clean and fresh bedding. My friend had no cups one day but on asking that was easily remedied and with an apology too!! The beer choice was great, and the food choices too.
I have limited mobility and I would hardly describe the journey to the top floor as 4 FLIGHTS!!
You would have to park in the same street for the Sun as that has no parking either!! Both would use street parking up the hill!! And if the rooms are superior at THe Sun, so are the prices! Altogether we enjoyed our stay and didnt feel the price for 3 nights excessive, taking into account the food quality.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a conservatory looking over a deck area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lluckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
0.2 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
135 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
517 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree Hotel

Address: 9 Fairbank, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: £45 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historic market town of Kirkby Lonsdale, The Orange Tree Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore the surrounding Lake District and Yorkshire Dales national parks.Our family run establishment typifies everything you might expect of an English country pub; warm open fires, oak beams and an intimate, relaxed atmosphere. We are renowned for the quality of our sumptuous, hearty meals and our impressive range of beers from our own Kirkby Lonsdale brewery and changing guest ales. Whether you wish to stay in quality accommodation or simply need a refreshing pint of traditional cask ale, The Orange Tree Hotel is your destination of choice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orange Tree Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing