We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea”
Review of Orange Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkby Lonsdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orange Tree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea”
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We were looking forward to our visit to the Orange Tree and indeed were swayed slightly by the reviews on here. We had one double room and one courtyard room booked. Our friends had the courtyard room (only one was available) and it was absolutely beautiful - a really lovely room for £95.00. On the other hand our room at £85 was a dreadful disappointment - I wouldnt have expected to pay more than £65 for this. I didn't find the place at all welcoming - it seems a 'local' place. The menu did not appeal to me in the slightest, it was all meat - fine if you are a burly rugby player but there was nothing for anyone with a lighter appetite. Breakfast was again a disappointment - I have never stayed anywhere that didn't serve sausages with a '"full english breakfast". There are signs all over the place warning you not to take your keys out of the pub and a pleasant sign saying if you are in later than 11.00pm you will be locked out!! If you still intend to book here then I would definitely go for one of the courtyard rooms as you wouldn't believe the difference an extra £10 makes! Eat at the Sun Inn, much more digestible food. Perhaps stay there too for a very similar price!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PortiaLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    39
    8
    10
    2
See reviews for
19
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
catleton,rochdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2008

just returned from a weekend break at the lake district.me,denise and my daughter jade arrived at the orange tree friday afternoon to be welcomed very warmley by the owner.
all staff very friendly and helpfull.then shown the family room no 4 which was very spaicous and modern including 1 double bed and 1 single bed ,tv,radio built in wardrobe,tea coffee kettle ect.
bathroom very large with walkin double shower and spa bath all new and modern.good value for money and will be staying again.

  • Liked — food delicious
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tonydaffadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2007

We recently stayed at the orange tree during the rugby world cup. The rooms are very nice and clean. The food came highly recomended and after sampling i would recomend the steaks! There was a great atmosphere in the bar on the saturday night with the England beating France result certainly contributing to that! We will definatly be back!

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — Going home
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyb2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2007

After reading the last review we were worried about our stay but found everything to be the complete opposite. We stayed for the Victorian Fair which was very good. The hotel was clean and tidy all the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The food was excellent booking is advisable as the restaurant was very busy. The stay 3 nights for the price of 2 deal is great value for money and reommended. Overall a great stay well worth a visit. We will be back!

  • Liked — Great atmosphere, very welcoming great food and guest beers
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestYorks
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2007

Booking this hotel was a gamble as we didn't know anything about the place. It didn't pay off! The staff are all teenagers and not helpful at all. The rooms are dated and dusty. There is a curfew of 11 pm as the pub downstairs closes and if your not back you are warned you'll be locked out!! Very welcoming!! Stay clear!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yorky666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2007

Breakfasts are great, rooms good value, staff friendly. I really like this place. The bar is pretty lively (I think it has ties with the local rugby team), but with a nice atmosphere.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Hungry_Hungry_Horace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2005

Stayed in the orange tree 10/05.
rooms were ok but had a musty smell.
Room 3 has a rooftop terrace ideal for those with dogs.
Food was excellent ( try the mixed grill )
Dont stop in room 2 if you want an early night as the front door is right below and you wont get to sleep until atleast 2am!!!
i have stayed in the snooty fox and orange tree but the food here is the best. BE WARNED BOOK A TABLE as being a resident does not gaurentee a table for evening meal.
Brakfast was good.
Not on main street but good enough. Parking can be a problem.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WIGAN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.3 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,119 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
491 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copper Kettle
Copper Kettle
#12 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree Hotel

Property: Orange Tree Hotel
Address: 9 Fairbank, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historic market town of Kirkby Lonsdale, The Orange Tree Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore the surrounding Lake District and Yorkshire Dales national parks.Our family run establishment typifies everything you might expect of an English country pub; warm open fires, oak beams and an intimate, relaxed atmosphere. We are renowned for the quality of our sumptuous, hearty meals and our impressive range of beers from our own Kirkby Lonsdale brewery and changing guest ales. Whether you wish to stay in quality accommodation or simply need a refreshing pint of traditional cask ale, The Orange Tree Hotel is your destination of choice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orange Tree Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing