We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good first time, poor second”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of water lilly

water lilly
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good first time, poor second”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Very good on the first time, had the crispy spicy beef, but very poor on the second, ordered the chicken with cashew nuts. Very bland, lacking flavour and overall very disappointed. Not a hard dish to get right!

Helpful?
Thank ACaton92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    15
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

While staying in Kirkby Lonsdale we thought we'd have a nice meal out but after failing to get a table in a restaurant we decided to get a takeaway and return to our appartment. Fish and chips or Chinese, pleased to say Chinese won. We decided on a set menu for 3 even though there were 4 of us. The quantity was fine for us and the quality of the food was very good. It was early evening so we were served very quickly. Would certainly go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nifty44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

If you want a decent Chinese takeaway then this is the place to go. Don't go the other one down the road, I think it's called silver moon. The water Lilly has great prices, great service, and even rustled up a mushroom chow mein which wasn't on the menu for my other half. It's easy to see why this place is so popular. Also, most Chinese places rely on salt for the taste, leaving your mouth very dry. This place doesn't. And it's so much better and enjoyable for that. Would come again tomorrow.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neillucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“At last - a decent Chinese takeaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We don't normally get a take-out but decided to go on a friend's recommendation, after a long day shopping. I'm normally apprehensive about Chinese takeaways as they don't always live up to their restaurant counterparts - well no worries here! The food was fantastic, decent quality and not expensive either. We particularly enjoyed the crispy spicy beef, and salt and pepper chips, which came by recommendation. The service was very friendly and efficient. Oh, and set in a lovely building too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Lonsdale
Level Contributor
161 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Much improved offering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Exactly what KL needed - a decent Chinese takeaway.

Good food on time what else could anyone ask for!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Starbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed water lilly also viewed

Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 

Been to water lilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing