We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How bad can it get!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper Kettle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copper Kettle
Ranked #12 of 12 Kirkby Lonsdale B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“How bad can it get!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Would I give it one star ? Not a chance. This is by far the worst B/B experience I've ever had in my life! The place is filthy and in need of major refurbishment. My god it's a bloody disgrace and that in itself is an exaggeration it's worse!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    10
    5
    35
See reviews for
13
44
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We booked a en-suit room from lateroom for one night, but was put in a room without en-suit. We have to use a shared shower room next door. The room is very dated but clean and with a tiny window can only open a tiny gap. In fact everything is dated but clean, all facility is working. I cannot lock the door as no locker found, the door is very small and about 1.5 meter height, my head was hit once. The lady owner is lack passion to greeting except asking your breakfast time, which not include in the room price. NO car park next to this hotel. I was asked to park next to a library in the night but need to move in morning, you can found a paid car park about 100/200 meter away from hotel. It's ok for us just a night, but won't stay more longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kirkby Lonsdale hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I booked this b and b for two nights whilst visiting relatives in the area, thinking that it would be of good standard. Not so! I asked to see the room, but the owner insisted on taking balance of the money first. I didn't even unpack as the room smelled strongly of cheap cooking fat. The toilet was dirty, but the owner was more concerned with the tv - which was not working. Everything I touched was sticky and/or dusty. the floor was also grubby.
I left the next morning (despite having paid for two nights) and was quite upset by the experience, as the lady owner was very abrupt at all times.
Luckily, then managed to book into The Orange Tree, a double room, which for the same money was excellent and clean, with an amazing large and immaculate bathroom. Very friendly and really good well cooked food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed in this delightful historic property the first week of August 2013 as part of my career break in publishing. I run a Customer Experience team for a large company so i know what quality and service look like. Anyone who overlooks this place for its traditional impression will miss out on the gem of Kirkby Lonsdale. The mature couple who run this take exceptional pride in cleanliness and quality throughout. Although basic, every need is catered for and you get a great value experience right in the heart of the town centre. This couple care and it shows. Welcoming with great service, they are a credit to the town. Would recommend to anyone looking for great value and characterful accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Run by an elderly couple who are very welcoming and friendly to customers.

Slightly dated place but the food is very reasonable value and of very good quality too.

These people are a credit to the town and long may they keep serving tourists.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boygeorgefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We visited recently (Summer 2013) to attend a wedding a few miles away, and we were really happy we chose to stay here. The owners were delightful; friendly, helpful and attentive. The room was perfectly fine, it was much nicer than we had expected (having read a couple of negative reviews among all the positive ones ). It was clean and tidy, had everything we needed and was very good value for money.
I would like to mention, that we left our car at the friend's house a good 10 minute drive away, and the owner of the b&b kindly offered to drive us there the next morning to drop us off. This was such a wonderful and thoughtful thing to do and he really didn't need to offer but then I guess sometimes you just meet people that are truly kind and generous. I would recommend the Copper Kettle to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Croix, VI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I was amazed when my husband, who has been known to get lost going around the block, led us back to the Copper Kettle after a visit there 4 yrs ago. Though his main criteria is price, he also remembered the quaint setting and generous, well-presented meal. Settled into the cozy corner table by the stone fireplace, we once again enjoyed reasonably-priced good food. And, being the only customers, the full but not-intrusive attention of the hostess/owner.

Though we did not stay overnight, she allowed me to take a peek at the rooms. If old buildings with steep, creaky stairs, rooms fitted into stone-walled odd-shaped spaces, located in the center of a busy tourist village appeals to you, then do consider this place. Good use of space and character count for me, so I'd consider staying here, but realize it's not for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruzan-Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkby Lonsdale hotels
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plato's
Plato's
#2 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast
Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Kettle

Property: Copper Kettle
Address: 3-5 Market Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Copper Kettle 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Copper Kettle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Kettle Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Copper Kettle Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing