We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking”
Review of Copper Kettle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copper Kettle
Ranked #12 of 12 Kirkby Lonsdale B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shocking”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Lets be honest there was absolutely nothing good about this b&b. Accomadation like this should no longer be aloud to trade. From opening the front door of the cafe to entering our room was just unbelievable, the so called deco in our room was just awfull. It made my wife and I feel physically sick, we were then kept awake till the small hours by noise from the pub next door . We do feel sorry for the owners as they were really friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    17
    10
    5
    36
See reviews for
14
49
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Firstly I cannot believe that anyone would leave a good review of this place, I am pretty certain that they're putting them on themselves, they read a bit like an advert!
We arrived at the copper kettle in high spirits but within the space of 10 mins fell into a deep depression. We were greeted by a scruffy man who came out of the kitchen, we informed him that we had booked to stay for 2 nights, with this info he chose to bellow up to wife, not a great start. The room we were given was appalling, scruffy, dirty, dated, smelly and uncomfortable. On further inspection we found that the electrics were nothing short of dangerous, something I am going to pass on to trading standards. The bed was a joke, lumpy and completely knackered, just like me after trying to sleep on it. The on suite shower tray had black dirt all on the floor. The ceiling seemed to have some tape holding up the corners of wallpaper, which was also a concoction of various scraps found in a skip, the carpets were a variety colours even in the same room, although they did try to discreetly cover this by placing bed and furniture over it.
The room furniture looked like it had been reclaimed from a desperately cheap second hand furniture store, about 20 years ago.
In order the endure our ordeal we decided that the only way could sleep was by having a few alcoholic beverages. We were helped to find another hotel for our 2nd night by the friendly staff in Plato's and left the copper kettle ASAP the next morning. Thank The Lord.
If I had a summarize this place it would be "APPAULING"

Room Tip: Don't do it
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kirkby Lonsdale hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I'm Actually thinking some of these posts are "made up" my family and I have been eating here for many years Pam and Pete are always talkative and happy always go that extra mile Food is always good I've never stayed here so cant comment on the accommodation. Great Little Place

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrChancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the copper kettle in July at the end of a fortnights touring. We unexpectedly had nowhere to stay on the Sunday evening and booked online through late rooms that afternoon. We had no idea what to expect, and were delighted to find a 17th century building in the centre of this picturesque town, comfortable beds with a variety of bedding for different temperatures, real milk and a teapot on the hospitality tray, and, joy of joys, ( we hadnt eaten, and it was 8.30) a small restaurant serving a good 3 course meal with coffee for £8.50. Breakfast was good too. The furniture is varied, in a good old fashioned,'don't throw serviceable things away' kind of way. But it was clean, very good value, and made a wonderful end to our holiday- we are intending to return this month for a meal (staying with friends this time, otherwise would have stayed at the c k again.)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adoramus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Sometimes you ignore the advice of others and things work out well.this wasn't one of those times

Let's start with the only positive, the owners are friendly, helpful and actually rather nice. Unfortunately that's where the plus points end.

I'm not one for the ersatz Ikea look and don't have a problem with carefully chosen furniture designed to accentuate the olde worlde charm of a characterful building, this however was mismatched cheap acquisitions from a local sale hall. The bed was hard (which I like) and lumpy (which I don't), water came out of the shower, just, the toilet seat was loose, the tv was new but so small you couldn't see it from the bed, the window didn't close (more on this later) and the glass was cracked.

We were put in the quiet room (3) on the top floor as we were going for an early start and would need a good night's rest. The noise from the pub next door kept us up till well gone midnight (not the copper kettles fault I should emphasize).

We were offered a 'continental breakfast' to set us up for our long drive. This consisted of 4 slices of bread, 2 bowls of cornflakes covered with cling film, a jug of milk (delivered uncovered in the evening in the hope it would still be ok in the morning, there was no fridge) and a glass each of orange and grapefruit, again just on a tray.

The whole experience was less than pleasant and not one I plan to repeat.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Skua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Peter and Pam are a lovely couple and this is their baby... the run it as a two man band... no help... I go frequently and have as yet never had a bad meal and Pam is always most talkative - sometimes too much so :) We always enjoy good banter and have found that they offer the best and most reasonable food in the area... Therefore I have to agree that you gets what you pays for!

If you are looking for the Ritz or the Savoy... steer clear... but if you want good home cooked food and a three course dinner for under £8 then look no further!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulnpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We almost booked this very cheap hotel on line through Laterooms. But due to so many awful reviews, we decided that we would go and see it for ourselves first - before maybe booking for next years holiday. We arrived at Copper Kettle on a very wet afternoon, and were more than ready for a nice hot cuppa and some lunch. We stood in the cafe for a good ten minutes, before a man who we believe to be the owner & cook, came out from the kitchen to greet us. Whilst chatting to us in his kitchen apron, he continued to scratch on a patch of loose scaly skin on his arm. Needless to say, we decided against lunch! An elderly & very abrupt lady then joined us, and seemed more than happy to show us around the B & B accomodation. Quite honsetly, it was much worse than we'd expected. Very dated, scruffy, and with a horrible smell of damp & mould throughout! The carpets were threadbare in places, and the decor was very dark and depressing!! One so called 'on suite' room was only separated with what looked like a handmade mdf stable style door!! Thank goodness we viewed this place with our own eyes before making a booking!! Couldn't wait to get out of there!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lilelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkby Lonsdale hotels
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,106 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plato's
Plato's
#2 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Kettle

Property: Copper Kettle
Address: 3-5 Market Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Copper Kettle 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copper Kettle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Kettle Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Copper Kettle Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing