We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for 1 night in June 2014. Reception friendly and room immaculate.
Staff very,very attentive in restaurant and in bar. Would recommend without hesitation.
We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and both were of a high quality and taste.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Owner at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We really love hearing our guests feedback and I am so pleased that the entire team looked after you so well.

Best wishes

Lucy Fuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

What a wonderful relaxing stay we had at the Sun Inn with 5* star service. Fabulous meals, staff went out of their way to help. Comfortable seating in the bar area & good choice of wines & beers. Really friendly atmosphere

Room Tip: We had room 9 which was two singles & lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bunting3851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Front Office Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for this great review, we hope to welcome you back to the Sun Inn in the future.

All the best

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a lovely weekend in May. The staff could not be more helpful. We had dinner on the Saturday night, and this was fabulous. Beautifully cooked and presented and a superb relaxed atmosphere. The service was top notch - definitely our of the best meals I have had. The room was cosy and on the small side, but was well equipped. We definitely appreciated the free coffee from the bar, which I think was a nice touch. We would love to make a return visit

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you very much for this lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break at the Sun Inn and we enjoyed a really relaxing stay. There are so many little touches that really add to the welcome, and we especially appreciated the dog bowl (complete with biscuits!) and dog towel! Another lovely touch was the supply of ear plugs to muffle the sound of the church bells! The food at dinner and breakfast was fantastic and the service was extremely friendly. There was only one negative comment that we would make , and that was that room 6 was very warm during the evening. Only one of the windows could be opened, and that was not much, so we did feel very stuffy on the two nights. Only as we were packing to leave did we discover the fan behind a chair. We would definitely recommend The Sun and hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkwiththeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for coming to stay with us at the Sun Inn, we look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

It has been lovely & warm recently (not something we are used to in this country), not ideal for a good nights sleep I know - which is why we do provide the fans, I am just so sorry that you didn't discover it until the end of your stay.

Thank you again for your lovely review.

Kind regards

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Sun Inn and would highly recommend it! The staff were all pleasant from the moment we arrived! The room and hotel itself were spotless. We arrived on a Monday, which was "deep-clean" day-a bit disconcerting when we first arrived but everything was ship-shape by the afternoon. The little extra touches added to our experience: fresh milk and flapjack in the room, availability of free tea and coffee to residents, lovely Bath House toiletries and fruit smoothies included in the breakfast menu. We couldn't fault the food; evening dinner was super-fine-dining at its best and a high quality breakfast the next morning.
All in all a super,relaxing break.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susiesueq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Front Office Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Sun Inn on Trip Advisor, we really do read everyone and they help us make improvements all the time.

Thank you also for you understanding regarding our deep clean, we do like to keep the oak floor polished!! We hope to look after you again.

Best wishes

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our room was clean and modern. The service friendly and efficient. Delicious breakfast. We invited friends round for drinks in the bar and everyone enjoyed themselves. We will definitely recommend the Sun inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Thirdage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Owner at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for this very kind review.

We hope to welcome you back to the Sun Inn again in the future.

Best wishes
Mark Fuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely meal. They managed to serve 12 adults all at the same time and the food and service was excellent. Nice ambience and very relaxing place.
Breakfast too was superb - nicely cooked with high quality ingredients. None of your hash brown and fried egg buffets here I'm pleased to say - it's all cooked to order.

Our room was average though, a bit small. There are larger rooms available though if you want to pay (quite a bit) more. We would definitely eat here again but maybe stay somewhere different.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidSnellUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Owner at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review for us.

We are so glad you enjoyed both your breakfast and your evening meal. So sorry that the room didn't meet your expectations, some of our room are quite cosy due to the age of the building but we do feel we offer 5 star accommodation and hope that you will try us again in the future.

Kind regards
Mark & Lucy Fuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
2.7 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
506 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
618 reviews
15.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Address: 6 Market Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: £84 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Sun Inn in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale offers a luxury blend of old and new; traditional Lake District warmth of a 17th century inn with flag stone and oak floors, old beams and roaring log fires combined with stylish contemporary restaurant and deluxe hotel bedrooms. Situated on the edge of the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and Forest of Bowland, it is accessible to some of Englands finest scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Sun Inn Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing