We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury inn in beautiful town”
Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sun Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Luxury inn in beautiful town”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 excellent nights here, eating in the restaurant/bar downstairs every evening. Bedroom was very stylish in a chic rustic way, very clean, good tv, massive comfy bed, big bath to soak in. Staff and owner exceptionally friendly & professional, genuinely welcoming to our dogs, who thankfully rose to the occasion and didn't disgrace us!

Lots of noise from Kings Arms opposite in the early evening but no worries, all silent by 10.30pm through to 9am.

Food uniformly excellent, breakfast sausages and kippers outstanding. Only suggestion for improvement would be to have more 'gastro pub' style dishes for walkers in the evening. Although the £29 (3 courses) main menu was beautiful and actually good value, it was 'fine dining' and perhaps a little too fussy and elegant after you've walked 15k. The other choice was bar snacks menu, which again had tasty food on it but snack size (avg. £5) not meal size,

KL town itself was great - picturesque with little shops and set in a fantastic landscape. Blessed with 3 hot sunny days we went swimming in the Lune just under Devils Bridge - so nice and clean and fun.

Forget Cornwall - we're going to head north for our mini-breaks now!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lora20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
That is what we like to hear - head North.. life is better in the North!

We take your comments on board and have made some amends to our bar snack menu, it now includes fish & chips, which is something I would love after a 15k walk!

Thank you for this lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,175
    140
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
124
941
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Conveniently situated in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale, The Sun is the ideal location for a few days (or longer) exploring the Lune Valley.
Every member of staff is well trained, courteous and efficient, and each could not do more to make your stay enjoyable.
The food is excellent and the wine list extensive. For those preferring beer, the bar offers some local real ales as well as lagers and cider.
Kirkby Lonsdale offers some beautiful walks and local shops selling varied produce.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilkie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Owner at Sun Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write this review for us.

It really sounds like you have been seduced by our little town as we were when we moved here.

We look forward to seeing you again at the Sun Inn.

Best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

So many tempting hotels to try in this town, but The Sun Inn keeps drawing me back, and never disappoints. Personal touches, and nothing seems too much trouble.
Love it so much I'm going back again tomorrow night!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Owner at Sun Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you so much for this kind review... we hope you enjoyed your stay the next night just as much.

With kind regard

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very enjoyable stay. Staff attentive, polite and very knowledgeable. Lovely , perfect room with lots of extra little touches. Appreciated free coffee and tea after a wet afternoon watching cricket. Food most enjoyable best steak ever. Cant wait to go back !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for a great review, nothing better than a lovely cup of coffee on we rainy afternoon.

Hopefully on your next visit the sun will shine for you.

Best wishes

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just got back from a fabulous stay here.my fiancé booked it as surprise for my 30th birthday and was everything I could dream it would be .the staff were so polite,friendly and everything to make you feel welcome and art home.nothing was to much for them.the room we stayed in was lovely and very clean .the breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from and the evening meals we had were some of the best food we have ever had.we definitely stay here in the near furture

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you ever so much for this lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed celebrating your 30th birthday with us.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We just stayed for one night en route to the Lake District and chose it because of fantastic tripadvisor reviews. It was every bit as good as we expected. The bedroom was delightful, comfortable and had been very successfully modernised. We weren't disturbed by the church bells and didn't need to use the ear-plugs provided. The evening meal and breakfast were outstandingly good and service was excellent. Steve was very efficient and also very welcoming, and has the gift of making everyone feel like a special guest. We would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Owner at Sun Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for this great review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that Steve looked after you so well.

We hope to see you again,
Best wishes

Lucy Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just returned from a lovely 1 night stay at the Sun Inn. The service was exemplorary from when we walked through the door to leaving the next day. We stayed in a superior room which was nicely decorated and the bathroom was a lovely treat with a roll top bath and separate shower. The only gripe about the room were the pillows - could of either done with another 2 each or some fuller more plump versions of the ones we had!

We opted for the DBB rate and were very glad we did this as the food was the best part of our stay. The dinner was delicious, especially the lamb main course! The restaurant staff were very attentive and we had a fantastic evening.

All in all a lovely 1 night stay - just wish we had booked another night so we could have sampled more of the delicious menu!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Front Office Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you every so much for this great review, we have recently made some very brave changes to our menu as we have welcomed back our old head chef Sam Carter into the fold. He has a real vision for all his dishes and it is lovely to hear such great feedback.

Thank you also for you note regarding the pillows, all of our pillows are feather, we have been round the rooms now double checking them all for plumpness and purchased new where necessary.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Sun Inn again,

Kind regards

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plato's
Plato's
#2 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Property: Sun Inn
Address: 6 Market Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sun Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Sun Inn in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale offers a luxury blend of old and new; traditional Lake District warmth of a 17th century inn with flag stone and oak floors, old beams and roaring log fires combined with stylish contemporary restaurant and deluxe hotel bedrooms. Situated on the edge of the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and Forest of Bowland, it is accessible to some of Englands finest scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Sun Inn Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing