We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay!”
Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

the Sun Inn is a great hotel in a lovely location, excellent food, excellent staff - would do anything to help. Nice touch - free coffee at the bar if you are staying there, much better than a mini kettle in the room.

the village is lovely and we would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, General Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you so much for this kind review, I am so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality as much as you enjoyed or little town.

We hope to see you again, all the best

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just returned home from a very enjoyable stay. Food, and service was excellent. We had a beautiful delux room. Great attention to detail even down to earplugs just in case your partner snores.

Room Tip: A beautiful Church is the view from the bedrooms at the back of the hotel very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squilly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for coming to stay with us and for reviewing us on Trip Advisor... we find those ear plugs can be a necessity for snoring partners!!

Best wishes

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The Sun Inn never disappoints, and a meal there is always a highlight of our visits to the Yorkshire Dales. Staff are welcoming, service great - you never feel rushed onto the next course. And the food is just stunning... delightful flavours, exceptional local ingredients, beautiful presentation - and excellent house wines as well as an extensive wine list. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank helidjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you ever so much,

Your words mean such a lot as the kitchen team have been working really hard recently making many exciting changes to our menu. It is a really interesting time for the whole team and comments like yours give us the confidence to carry on and develop the menu further.

We look forward to hosting you again when you are next in and around the Yorkshire Dales.

Best wishes
Sam Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Helen, our daughter gave us a gift voucher for the Sun. We couldn't understand why. Who wants to stay in Kirby Lonsdale?. Having now used the gift voucher (plus a bit more) we now know why. We had a delightful two night break and cannot praise the quality of the room, the food and the service too highly. The absence of on site parking is overcome with a flexible permit usable all over South Cumbria. Could be a disadvantage in inclement weather. Highly recommended. We are already discussing a repeat booking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Owner at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I am so pleased you found our little town to be a pleasant surprise, a town hopefully you will visit often in the future.

I hope you are enjoying this lovely weather, we certainly are.

Kind regards
Mark Fuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We found the Sun Inn(and lovely Kirkby Lonsdale) while searching for lodging north of Manchester that would be close for our first day in the country. This was a fantastic discovery! Beginning with our early arrival for a brief rest after our overnight flight, and ending with a very courteous farewell, everything about our stay was flawless. Nick and Sarah helped us the most, but other staff members were just as attentive to our needs. The evening meal and the following morning's breakfast were excellent, and the room was spacious and comfortable, while also retaining its historic charm.

We loved this place, and look forward to a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EVANSMONTGOMERY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello & thank you so much for taking the time to write about us on Trip Advisor.

We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip just as much and if you are in the county again, you know where to find us!

Best wishes

Sarah & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The location of this pub cannot be bettered. From our bedroom (we didn't have the cheapest room) we had an amazing view of St Mary's church (gorgeous garden) with Ruskin's view of the hills behind. The service in the hotel was quite exceptional too, as was the breakfast (reviewed separately).

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the church are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Owner at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review us, I am so pleased you enjoyed the charm of St Marys church during your stay and that the team looked after you so well.

All the best

Mark Fuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed at the Sun Inn for two nights. Perfect location, parking pass provided, room lovely and food fantastic. We had a problem with our shower and were moved to a better room, nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nataliaml7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you very much for you kind comments, we were happy to be able to organise a room move for you.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes
Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
123 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
514 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
428 reviews
0 mi away
Plato's
Plato's
#2 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Address: 6 Market Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: £94 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Sun Inn in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale offers a luxury blend of old and new; traditional Lake District warmth of a 17th century inn with flag stone and oak floors, old beams and roaring log fires combined with stylish contemporary restaurant and deluxe hotel bedrooms. Situated on the edge of the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and Forest of Bowland, it is accessible to some of Englands finest scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Sun Inn Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing