We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and Dog Friendly! A rare find.”
Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We enjoyed a long weekend at the Sun Inn with our 2 pugs at the end of June. It is hard to find somewhere with great standards that welcomes dogs and I have to say that the Sun Inn exceeded our expectations! We stayed in a large dog friendly room which was IMMACULATE! The staff are warm and welcoming, the food is amazing and you can choose to eat breakfast and dinner in the lovely bar area with your dogs if you don't want to leave them in the room. Our dogs had towels, bowls and a little bag of dog treats to welcome them in our room and we had fresh shortbread. A quick stroll through the churchyard behind the Sun Inn takes you to Ruskins View with lovely walks in both directions. There is no parking but you have a free parking pass for local car parks a short stroll away and can drop off and pick your luggage at the side of the inn. Windermere is a short drive away and again we found lots to do with the dogs as they we're welcome on ferry cruises, vintage railway, motor museum etc.
Often you feel a bit fobbed off when holidaying with pets - but we didn't find this at all here - cannot recommend it enough and we will definitely be returning. A real find this one!

Room Tip: We had room 3 on the first floor to the front of the inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Front Office Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to write this lovely detailed review for us.

Dogs are a very important part of our business, we enjoy looking after them almost as much as we enjoy looking after their owners!

We look forward to seeing you again - will try and make sure room 3 is available for you.

Thanks again

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Arrived at the start of a long walk, dripping wet, tired with three kids and a dog - all tired and wet. We were made very welcome. The rooms were comfortable with lovely extra touches like bath crystals and bath robes. The restaurant served local food, skilfully cooked and breakfast granola was really special

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank billydog_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Owner at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you, so glad you enjoyed your stop over.

I hope the rest of your long walk was just as successful, the rain certainly stayed away for the remainder.

Best wishes

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Lovely place to stay. We were warmly welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms excellent and food and service even better. The breakfast homemade granola and smoothie are to die for. We will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: Some lighter sleepers might find a room next to the church noisy because of the chiming clock but wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Front Office Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

The granola & smoothie are my two favourite things too.. I am currently on a granola ban!

Thank you for taking the time write about us, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Best wishes
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is full of charm and character. The quality of the service, room and food was top notch, we couldn't have asked for anything more. All the staff were helpful , friendly and professional. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Isobel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you every so much for choosing to stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again at the Sun Inn.

Best wishes

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our stay at The Sun was great on all levels. The room was great, huge very comfy bed, loads of space, lovely tea and coffee including freshly prepared biscuits! Bathroom was lovely and included amazing big fluffy robes. The lady who checked us in- Sarah- was very friendly and warm. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the dining room is lovely. Overall a real treat well worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Front Office Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you very kindly for this lovely review.

It was lovely to meet you and I hope your partner enjoyed his first trip to out little market town.

Hope to see you both again at the Sun Inn.

Best wishes

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very old inn with lots of character. Extremely professional and welcoming staff. Décor in decent condition, with bits that need a lick of paint, but not a big problem. Bedroom not large but good quality, nice added details and with comfortable bed and pillows. Room 10 has large modern ensuite with huge, deep bath and double size walk in shower. Very comfortable room apart from frequent disturbance from nearby church bells. Breakfast good and dinner excellent in lovely dining room. No outside space at this very old hotel but in good spot in middle of Kirby Lonsdale, with some seating nearby. If you like old historic buildings you will enjoy a short stay here. Not sure I would call it 5* though compared to other 5* star hotels I have stayed in. The staff and food are to be applauded.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BerylJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, General Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you every so much for coming to stay with us.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us - we always wish we could have an outdoor area - especially with this fabulous summer we are having.

We are very proactive to solve any maintenance problems, your comments with regard to areas that need a lick of paint have now been addressed. Thank you for bringing those to our attention.

We hope to see you again at the Sun Inn.

Kind regards

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sun Inn and thought it was a nice touch to find a complimentary bottle of bubbly in our room in recognition that this was a return visit. Couldn't fault anything - immaculate room, comfortable bed, excellent food and really lovely staff. We love Kirkby Lonsdale and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pinkdotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you every so much.. We love Kirkby Lonsdale too!!

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
2.7 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
506 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
422 reviews
0 mi away
Plato's
Plato's
#2 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Address: 6 Market Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: £83 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Sun Inn in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale offers a luxury blend of old and new; traditional Lake District warmth of a 17th century inn with flag stone and oak floors, old beams and roaring log fires combined with stylish contemporary restaurant and deluxe hotel bedrooms. Situated on the edge of the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and Forest of Bowland, it is accessible to some of Englands finest scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Sun Inn Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing