We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A totall gem”
Review of Barbon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barbon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful 2 nights stay with my sister. An old 17th century coaching inn, steeped in history. Very friendly village. Amy, Dan+ all staff helpful. Anyone looking for negatives does not warrant a stay here. Walking superb. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valerieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Arrived earlier than expected but Sandra let and booked me in, as soon as I got in could smell the open log fire in the lounge and relaxed immediately, Sandra gave me the key to my room explained everything I needed to know and made me feel so welcome.
After putting all my gear away having a shower, getting dressed for the evening went downstairs to explore, what beautiful place, tastefully decorated with all original features, this continued throughout the bar, entrance hall and restaurant.
After ordering a large glass of Merlot from the extremely friendly, entertaining and helpful barman,settled in front of fire with the extensive menu, ordered the gammon steak with thick cut chips & salad and it was superb as was the full English breakfast, the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble and everyone dining were chatting to each other like old friends, such a good atmosphere.
My room was great, with period furniture and fantastic views, the gardens well stocked and well maintained, just couldn't fault it.
Out and about the next day the countryside is picture postcard, artists dream, went up to Devils Bridge, awsome and down to the old town, everyone is friendly and accommodating, all in all had such a pleasant and relaxing stay, would recommend it to anyone and I will certainly be going back again, fantastic value for money, couldn't have wanted for anymore !!!!

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms and when chatting to all the residents no one had a complaint about any of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kriss414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a 2 night bed and breakfast deal. We booked dinner on the first night and were so impressed by the quality and presentation of the food we ate there on the second night also. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. The rooms are adequate and the beds very comfortable . Add to that the friendly owner and staff and you have all you need for an excellent break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonnielassStrathaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the Barbon Inn. Lovely old building with great staff, breakfast was brilliant, the wines nice and affordable, and the pint of ruskins was just what I needed after a day in the countryside. Had a evening meal on the first night which was very nice but a bit on the small side (steak). The rear car park entrance is only for the brave!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheDaddy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a 2 night cheap and cheerful break, with our 2 dogs, Inn very welcoming , staff very friendly breakfast was very good too. Room tired and shower not the best, but maybe we where in a room where they allow dogs? Lovely walks In the area. Value for money

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FabFiftymerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a lovely pub. The beds are as comfortable as you can get and the food whilst a little expensive perhaps was of excellent quality and the portions are handsome. The locals add to the atmosphere

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gingernutScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

If you are looking for somewhere that is both cheap and cheery you won't go far wrong here. If you are celebrating something special you might be better going elsewhere.

The rooms are of a reasonable size and were (apparently) refurbished about five years ago. There wasn't much sign of refurbishment and the only thing that was apparent was that the central heating had been capped off and replaced with non-working electric wall heaters. In fairness there was a floor standing heater, although that seemed to have only two settings: volcanic and off. There was little space in the bathroom and the toilet is located too close to the wall.

We booked a double room and naively assumed that we would get a double bed, yes I do know what they say about people who assume; anyhow, the bed was actually two single beds fastened together with a zip down the middle. I suppose that the saving grace was that neither of us slipped down the middle and ended up on the floor.

We had two breakfasts and one lunch during our stay: the breakfasts were superb, although it would have been nice to try some of the black pudding that the barman said we would love. The leg of lamb was again superb as was the fish and chips, but if you describe then as huge, jumbo, massive etc don't let us down by serving something barely bigger than a child's portion.

The staff were lovely, but Sandra could probably have been a bit more tactful when she felt we were trying to leave without paying. Communication is key, my dear; as are processes that allow each of you to know when a guest has paid (as we had half an hour before) and when they are still to pay!

It might sound like I'm moaning but I have been selective and I have been fair. The place was in a beautiful location and the staff were lovely and helpful. The pub was warm and welcoming, and had the potential to be the hub of the local community; the dining area was tastefully decorated but freezing cold, surely you could light the fire before the guests come down for breakfast?

This place has the potential to be something very special, unfortunately that potential wasn't realised on this occasion. By spending a few quid and improving some processes you really will be onto a winner. I do hope that happens.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BoltonNoonoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
3.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,139 reviews
17.1 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
23.8 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
503 reviews
11.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
561 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbon Inn

Address: Nr Kirkby Lonsdale, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: £27 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barbon Inn and Restaurant near Kirkby Lonsdale has been around since the 1650s and started life as a farmhouse. Situated in the peaceful and tranquil village of Barbon, this country inn offers old world elegance in its accommodation restaurant and pub. The Barbon serves traditional English cuisine with a modern twist. Specialty dishes using local produce with choices like confit duck leg served with dauphinoise potatoes, sautéed leeks and a rich blackberry sauce; menu choices change with the seasons. The inn has an excellent wine list which has been a labour of love for one of the owners, and she will help you select from the connoisseurs list. The Barbon Inn has 10 bedrooms one with a four-poster bed. It’s located halfway between the Lake District National Park and the Yorkshire Dales National Park which makes it the perfect base for exploring both. The pastoral feel is added to by a local racetrack that holds the Barbon Hill Climb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barbon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbon Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Barbon Inn Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing