We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightfully quirky”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lonsdale Cottage

Lonsdale Cottage
1 Back Lane
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lonsdale Cottage
1 Back Lane
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Lonsdale Cottage
1 Back Lane
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen / Dining Room
Dining Area
Dining Area
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom En-suite
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
Ruskin's View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mott121
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightfully quirky”
Reviewed 30 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This cottage is quirky in a delightfully way and beatifully equipped. It is very close to the market square, shops and restaurants and is very quiet with little passing traffic.

The town itself is a wonderful timeless piece of old England and the locals are very friendly and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
Many thanks David for this lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had to bring the husbands this time!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This was our 2nd stay in Lonsdale Cottage - my sister and I had such a fabulous time before Christmas, that our husbands insisted on seeing for themselves why we thought the place was so amazing. For once, the pair of them just agreed with us without question! Our stay was, yet again, perfect in every way. Nothing to say but 'thank you'

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2018
Hi Anne. Thanks once again for your lovely review. We are delighted that your husbands also enjoyed the cottage and Kirkby Lonsdale. Hope to see you again soon
Warm regards
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place I've ever been lucky enough to stay!”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Quirky-shaped cottage in the heart of the village. Comfortable and cosy. Spotlessly clean. Our every need had been anticipated by Catherine and Tom, from the coffee pods and milk in the kitchen to the fire prepared in the living room stove. We had plans to return from the minute we walked through the door!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2017
Thank you Annie for all your kind comments, we look forward welcoming you for your up coming stay again in January

Best Regards
Tom & Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This cottage is one of the best we have stayed in after 35 years of renting holiday cottages all over the UK. It is in s fabulous location, the decor is just lovely. From the minute we walked in we loved everything about the place, it is even better than the photos suggest! The owners have fantastic taste and have left nothing out. The welcome goodies really were welcome too. Thank you Tom and Cath we most certainly will be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Julie & Brian,
Thank you for your lovely comments, Cath and I are very flattered. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we are so glad you had such a great time.

We look forward t welcoming you very soon again.

Best Regards
Tom & Cath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary T
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Spent a weekend at Lonsdale Cottage,Kirkby Lonsdale. Cottage absolutely stunning every need catered for. Beautiful welcome basket and milk in the fridge, heaven! Many thanks to owners Tom and Catherine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Thank you Mary, we are so glad you enjoyed your time at Lonsdale Cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.

Best Regards
Tom & Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt A
1 review
“Fantastic location and immaculately clean”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just got back from a weekend break in Lonsdale Cottage and it is definitely a case of believe the reviews. The cottage is immaculate and contains everything you could possibly need for a great weekend break or week away. All fixtures and fittings are of a high quality and no shortcuts have been made when it comes to utensils in the kitchen. The high level of cleanliness is apparent as soon as you walk through the door and we all commented on the decor being very tastefully done
I booked this cottage for 4 adults and a 3 month old baby and there was more than enough room (it is actually larger than you might think from the photos which doesn't happen often). The owners were always very quick to provide answers to any questions I had and their recommendations for restaurant bookings were excellent. As others have mentioned, there was a nice welcome hamper containing a bottle of bubbly, home made jam and other bits and pieces. The icing on the cake was the birthday card which had been left for my wife (very thoughtful thank you Tom).
The location couldn't be better as the main shops and restaurants are about a minutes walk away and there is safe parking for two cars.
All in all it was a very enjoyable weekend and I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend this as a fantastic holiday rental. It is very much deserving of its excellent rating.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Thank you for all your nice comments Matt. It was a pleasure having you stay for Claire's birthday. We look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards
Tom & Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you so much Paul & Heather for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you as guests, and we look forward to your return sometime in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing