We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & Tired”

Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced & Tired”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Fat Lamb after purchasing a voucher from Amazon. Unfortunately when we came to book, there was no availability for voucher use, which is something I should have checked before making the purchase. Anyway, we wanted to go on a particular weekend, so while we could use the voucher, we had to make an additional payment to the Fat Lamb making the cost about double the price of the voucher. Had we been able to use the voucher, then I would have said that it wasn't bad value for money, but I think over £100 a night bed and breakfast is very overpriced for this rather tired, lacking in TLC place. Having said that, our room was clean and the food was nice. We ate here one evening and there were no complaints, on our second night we walked into Ravenstonedale and ate at the Back Swan, which is highly recommended. In summary, a rather tired place, lacking in atmosphere. For much better value and a nicer experience, chose the Black Swan down the road.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    57
    16
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely meal lots of desserts”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The desserts, lovely service and dog friendly. Good spot on the A683. The sticky toffee pud was amazing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VanButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restorative”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Loved the Fat Lamb, had always promised ourselves a few nights there but took us 30 years to achieve - and it didn't disappoint. Must go back in the winter when the fire is lit, and there's a good chance of being snowed in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cwbderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A good base to explore the area”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Excellent welcome, good service, excellent food at both dinner and breakfast. Only negative point was the uncomfortably soft bed in our room, room4. We stayed for 2 nights on an Amazon local deal and were treated exremely well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I can't understand why anyone would give the Fat Lamb Inn a poor review. It may be not the cheapest place to eat, but we treated ourselves and found it to be no more expensive than anywhere else. Staff really friendly as soon as we arrived and fhe food was excellent. We'll certainly be eating there again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCalvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant also viewed

Brough Sowerby, Kirkby Stephen
Brough Sowerby, Kirkby Stephen
 
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District
 
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District
 

Been to Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing