We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kaber chapel

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo C
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 1 November 2018 for a stay in October 2018

A group of 4 couples stayed here for birthday celebrations. It is an amazing conversion of chapel to living space and is enough to take your breath away, set in a secluded spot with sheep and cows as neighbours. Alison kindly showed us around, answered our questions and explained the instructions for the sauna, indoor BBQ, the hot tub and locking up. This is a glorious place which has to be seen to be appreciated; the photos just don't do it justice. The kitchen is stocked to the nines and Alison kindly left some milk and other supplies to get us started. Roald Dahl also features within the chapel and there are a few gifts dotted around the place too. All in all, the only fault that we could find was that we didn't live there. We would definitely recommend this gorgeous chapel to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
1 review
“Perfect accommodation for groups”
Reviewed 29 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

We stayed from Friday to Monday as a group of 4 couples. We were celebrating 2 big birthdays and couldn't have found a better place.

On arrival each couple was equally as gobsmacked when walking in.

We got a Tesco delivery for our supplies for the weekend which arrived with no issues not long after we arrived ourselves. Once that was all put away we chose our rooms and settled down for a night in.

We used the BBQ for tea and settled at the huge dining table which would be where we spent the majority of our time in the chapel. We used the lounge on the mezzanine that evening aswell.

On the Saturday we had a little walk around Kaber for some fresh air. Its a very small village so doesn't take long at all. We then made use of the spa facilities before heading out for an evening meal. We booked a minibus with Prima travel, who are based nearby, and went to the bay horse in Winton. I would highly recommend a visit here aswell. The food was amazing and the staff are lovely.

On the Sunday we went to Barnard castle which is a short drive away. The castle was more of a ruin so we didn't pay to walk around the grounds. We instead ended up playing mini golf by the nearby playground and had a coffee .

Then back home and again had BBQ and used the sauna and jacuzzi for our last night.

It was a perfect weekend and we made some great memories. Most of the group are now thinking about returning with some of their other friends and/or family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatrionaD...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, luxurious accommodation, everything you could ask for!”
Reviewed 30 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

I booked Kaber Chapel for my friends hen do, the photos online looked amazing and Alison was very helpful in communications before our arrival, e.g. sending us local activity options.

When we arrived we were blown away, the photos online just don't capture the size or amazing-ness of the place! The entrance is quite breathtaking as you walk in, with a large open space dining/kitchen area and a mezzanine-type living area and bedrooms above. The hot tub and indoor BBQ are part of the back of the chapel and really made our stay perfect. Alison provided us with all the necessary items such as toilet roll, washing up liquid, washing tablets, BBQ coal, a bottle of prosecco... Each room had shampoo, conditioner, soap and even little sew kits etc - it felt like staying in a fancy hotel! There is also a Roald Dahl theme to the place as the Dahl's used to own the chapel, and there's lots of little themed gifts about the place which was a nice extra.

Everyone who stayed with us was very impressed and have now got plans to come back again with different groups!

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay Alison! :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCandSS
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had a great weekend at Kaber Chapel. Alison was an excellent host.

The Chapel itself is brilliant, ideal for large families. Great family space, large kitchen and a cozy lounge on the mezzanine floor. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alant0dd
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely get together and the accommodation/location were spectacular. Alison was so helpful and could not do enough to make sure we understood the full range of features. We left a t shirt and Alison was kind enough to post to our home address. The toiletries were so nice with fully stocked soaps and lotions. Sound system was fab and free wifi made this a wonderful fun location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you for the great review. Glad the T shirt got back to you ok.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing