We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too much waiting with no apology or explanation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Black Bull Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Kirkby Stephen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too much waiting with no apology or explanation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Although we did not stay in the hotel, we visited for a celebratory family meal on Thursday 22nd August 2013. We seated in the dinig room, and were requested to move into the bar for "ease of service", which we declined as we had a severely disabled person with us, whom we had just settled. The meal arrived 40 minutes after we ordered (we were the only people eating), although when it did arrive it was very good, if rather expensive (almost £6 for a prawn cocktail, elsewhere in town they averaged around £2 cheaper per meal/starter). We received no explanation as to why we had waited so long, and no apology. And when we went to pay the bill, there were some drunk teenagers (underage) in the bar, explained by the fact that "GCSE results were out today" and they were "celebrating their OLDER friends success"

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ju1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    59
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
50
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Great food and wine list, book early for a table as it fills up. Staff were always friendly and helpful.

We stayed in the twin room 9 for one night. It was roomy though next to a cooling unit - didn't have any problems sleeping though. Second night in room 6 a double. Smaller with a very narrow gap between foot of bed and far wall.

If management read this picture on TVs looks like a film negative from all but a limited angle.

Overral though enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wressle, Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Just ate there tonight - excellent food loved the salmon and prawn Thai curry; the fish and chips; gammon pineapple and the rump steak were also excellent - comes with really well cooked accompanying veg potatoes and chips - a really good meal indeed - would definitely recommend. Plenty to eat - we were very hungry after a long day of cycling but was more than sufficient. Good waiter too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

The landlord/ owner was very helpful on arrival was able to get evening meal, breakfast and packed lunches all sorted straight away. The room was clean comfortable and functional. The evening meal in the restaurant was great, even if the steak was slightly overdone to my liking. Breakfast was good and I was able to get sorted and get walking without delay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johngiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We wanted a rest day in Kirkby Stephen so booked 2 nights here. Our room was a good size with comfortable bed. Bathroom was small but had bath with shower over packed in so was just what we needed.

Breakfast was good both days. We didn't eat other meals here as we were pleased to be in a place with choices other than pub food but from the menu and what we saw of other people's meals it would be lovely.

Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 412melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stopped here for 2 nights on the Coast to Coast walk. The rooms are nice, what you would expect in a pub on a UK walk. What is absolutely incredible is the pub restaurant - this place doesn't serve pub food it serves brilliant bistro quality dinners. Make sure you book a table when you check in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeberala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We wanted to celebrate my birthday somewhere we could walk, have a lovely meal and stay over. The Black Bull ticked all these boxes and we really enjoyed our stay. The people who work there are all lovely, but the service is quite slow. We booked a table in the restaurant for 8pm but didn't get sat down till past 9pm. The food was lovely and I would book again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yabadaba75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Stephen
0.9 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#4 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#11 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pennine Hotel
The Pennine Hotel
#16 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tranna Hill
Tranna Hill
#2 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bull Hotel

Property: The Black Bull Hotel
Address: 38 Market Street, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Bull Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Black Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Hotel Kirkby Stephen, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing