We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful in every way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manor House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkby Stephen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Manor House B&B
Ranked #13 of 25 Kirkby Stephen B&B and Inns
Bega
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I arrived at this beautiful home in September - wet, tired and muddy from a day's walking - yet after just 5 minutes in Jean's lounge room I was in heaven!
Jean certainly knows how to dish out warm and friendly hospitality. Her kitchen was perhaps the nicest I have ever eaten in - with a view of the birds feeding in the bird feeder at the front window, pheasants and Macaws in the back yard and the Aga stove keeping it cosy.
Peter is the best trained husband I have met - ironing very piece of bed linen to perfection.
Breakfast was a treat with fresh fruit salad made on the spot.
I couldn't drag myself away and luckily there was a rare vacancy so I stayed an extra night.
What a perfect B and B!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryRoseNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you want a relaxing break either short or longer what could be more pleasing than a stay at the most friendly of B and B's we have stayed at. Where else are you met by the owners and offered tea and cake even before you see your room.

Both Jean and Peter make you feel like you are at home from the minute the door opens. The down stairs visitors living room is very comfortable with tea and coffee facilities and doors opening on to a large garden with seating around a pond where you will see everything from an amazing variety of birds including Macaws flying freely to pheasants and red squirrels.

The rooms are well maintained and all have wonderful views of the gardens. Once you drag yourself out of the comfortable beds and make your way to the kitchen at a time of your choice you find yourself at a huge table where Jean cooks breakfast in front of you exactly to your liking and filling you up for the day ahead.

Now back home I am planning my next visit to a home from home "the Manor house Kirkby Stephen".

Room Tip: Rear room for couples front for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We felt so welcomed as soon as we arrived. Jean made us feel like we were all at home. We had arrival tea/coffee and home made fruit toast. Stayed one night and it was by far the best night on the coast to coast. Breakfast was delicious, Jean made a fruit salad and had vegetarian options for hot breakfasts as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dandiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bd2 3rx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at the Manor House on June 28th. We stayed with Jean who is the most welcoming person we have met. She was so friendly, as soon as we arrived she made us tea and toast and made sure that we had a reservation for a meal that night. Her home is lovely and comfortable. She has cats and a bird sanctuary in her wonderful garden. Our round was large, comfortable and airy. In the morning she welcomed us into her kitchen whilst she made our breakfast. he treated like family members. What more could two coast to coasters ask for!

Room Tip: The Manor House has beautiful gardens and is a in a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razBd23rx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Yet again a wonderfull experience from start to finish, there is no other B&B where you are made so welcome on arrival! A nice piece of warm cake and a cuppa, a update on the animals both domestic and wild not fogeting the Maccaws which visit daily. As for the accomodation spotless and comfortable from the quest TV room to both the rooms. The hosts Jean and Peter are so attentive and allways remember to put us in the rear room facing the garden. The beter half and I try to visit every other month and if you want evening food ask Jean for advice on where to eat, you wont be dissapointed. As for breakfeast cooked in front of you on the argor its amazing big and more than filling and all local produce. Cant wait till the 20th were back again. 20/10

Room Tip: Rear room looks on to garden full of animals from phesants, red squirels to the visiting badger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekandMaria09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

The woman who owns this house made it a very comfortable stay - she's very welcoming and friendly. It's just off the main street in town, so the location is perfect. The rooms were cozy, comfy and clean. Overall, it was a really relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We walked the Coast to Coast in May of 2013 and staying with Jean for two nights and it was the highlight of the trip in terms of B&B for the 14 days along the walk. There was no accommodation in Keld for the next day so we took the taxis back for the second night there. We arrived both nights quite wet from the rainy walk and Jean helped us get out boots and gear all dried out on both days. The house is a nice big historic mansion, the rooms are large and had everything we wanted. The B&B is close to everything in town and really quiet. We had great breakfasts both days, and she packed us a grand lunch each day (extra charge) for our walk. She was kind enough to recommend two great dining places and made the reservation for us. We had such fun in the big warm kitchen talking to Jean, visiting with her cats, and hearing stories about various animals (e.g. parrots) that visit her house each day, and of course watching all the birds that visit outside the kitchen window.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globewalker1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkby Stephen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#4 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel Restaurant and Bar
0.1 mi away
Fletcher House
Fletcher House
#11 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
4.8 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House B&B

Property: The Manor House B&B
Address: The Manor House Mellbecks, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Stephen
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manor House B&B Kirkby Stephen, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing