We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kirkby Stephen Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great family accommodation”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just returned from our second very enjoyable family trip to the Hostel. Asked my girls (aged 11 and 12 years) why they like it so much and they said it is just so friendly and they feel completely at home. They love the big lounge/dining area as you can talk to people and 'enjoy their company' (their words) OR you can go and sit in the balcony area if you just want to read and be quiet. We enjoy it because of its relaxed atmosphere, interesting interior and handy position. Denise is friendly, warm, helpful and has brilliant local (and not so local) knowledge of good walks, pubs,etc.
Great place for families who like to get out and about.

Room Tip: Two interconnecting rooms with private shower and toilet - brilliant for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    36
    8
    11
    6
See reviews for
9
20
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A very kind host allowed us to freshen up in the Hostel on our way through. The hostel was very clean, tidy and fresh with wonderful charm! It was right in the centre of the shops, and had brilliant facilities. Highly recommended to all!

Room Tip: Grab a twin room if you can get your hands on one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here with my partner and another couple - it was the perfect pit stop in our coast to coast itinerary. We managed to get 2 rooms, both private but with interconnecting doors and shower facilities. We love the fact that the main santuary of the church has been kept - it makes the hostel unique and utterly charming.
Denise was a great host. We had a fantastic breakfast - better than most B and B's at twice the price. There is a drying room, plenty of games for children (and grown ups?) of all ages. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyprus1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We arrived at the hostel just after 6pm after a bad day attempting the W2W bike ride.
Denise quickly sorted out rooms, cycle storage, drying room, showers,etc.
We had pre-booked a two course meal which arrived as planned at 7pm.
The meal was first class - £12 for two courses was a bargain in our opinion.
Comfortable beds, good relaxing communal area, powerful hot showers, clean toilet facilities - what more could anyone want.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor bunk rooms are adjacent to toilet / shower block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Warm welcome, comfy and clean rooms, great cooking facilities and a spacious area to eat/talk/relax, easy access to shops and pubs, drying room for our wet gear, hot showers! This hostel suited our needs perfectly, making it easy to relax and unwind after a hard day! Denise was helpful, welcoming and friendly, Highly recommended! Thanks Denise :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

A lovely cosy stop over great value, Denise and meg were very welcoming with everything you would need for a great time. We cycled in great storage facilities dry and locked away. We loved our stay definitely will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppygrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Spent a night here with 5 friends whilst walking a section of the coast to coast, a very warm welcome and home cooked food, which was great after a day with rain and gales. Checked out the next morning to walk to Tan Hill, where we stayed before returning for our car at KS.Denise had offered, use of the shower on our return, after 11 miles in driving rain we were glad of that, in addition hot tea and cake awaited. As well as a warm welcome, Denise is also a keen walker and cyclist and has a good knowledge of the area, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teepeeDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Stephen
20.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#11 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
The Black Bull Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#5 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
151 reviews
4.7 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkby Stephen Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkby Stephen Hostel

Property: Kirkby Stephen Hostel
Address: Market Street, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kirkby Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkby Stephen Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please understand the word Hostel, I offer buget accomadation, bunk beds with bedding provided. You can make your own meals, there is a drying room, hot showers,common room to relax in.All you need after a long day walking, cycling,traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Kirkby Stephen Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkby Stephen Hostel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing