We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful welcome, generous hospitality”

Castle View Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkby Stephen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 25 Kirkby Stephen B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful welcome, generous hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed four nights and found this Band B ideally situated for walks in the Eden valley from the front door. The room was immaculate, very spacious and beautifully refurbished to modern taste. The shower was superb and we had tea & coffee making facilities in the room as well as Katie's complimentary tea and cupcakes after 4pm every day. Katie and Jonny go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. They were able to recommend high quality local eateries; we enjoyed four different places, all in Kirkby Stephen, or in nearby Ravenstonedale. This B&B is the perfect base for a walking holiday and one we would happily return to.

Room Tip: The attic room has a bath but less light, room one faces the high street, room two the back garden a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Big thank you to Katie for making us so welcome. Perfect accommodation whilst cycling Coast 2 Coast, great position to use as your main base. Perfect bedrooms and bathrooms, accompanied by a superb breakfast. Good food available locally however if you stay on Saturday nights, ask about Katie's mums evening meal (if available) as an option, it was fantastic. If we are ever crazy enough to do the c2c again this would be my first booking!

Room Tip: We had all rooms booked as part of our trip, the attic room has a bath to relax the aching muscles!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Beautiful b & b run by sweet young family. Great accommodation and afternoon tea, and breakfast. Arrived with two extras (non stayers) no discomfiture just produced to extra teas, delicious homemade by the way. Laundry done rooms clean, neutral and comfortable- great bathrooms.

Would highly recommend and if lucky enough to do C2C again would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in the Castle View in May, having completed the western section of Wainwright's Coast to Coast path. It's bang on the main street in Kirkby Stephen so very convenient. The welcome was warm, the room was spacious and very comfortable, the shower was powerful (oh my!) and the food was delicious with a wide breakfast choice - and lovely little cupcakes & tea on arrival. Baby Tommy (if we've remembered his name correctly - apologies if not, Kate) is a delight.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennyamraoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire, North Wales.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We arrived here from Orton Raisbeck on the Coast to Coast walk and stayed for one night.
On arrival Kate welcomed us and provided tea and chocolate cake, much appreciated after a days walking.
We had a twin room with ensuite, which was clean and comfortable and had tea and coffee making facilities.
We ordered a packed lunch for the next day, which was very good and Kate also did some of our washing for us.
Breakfast was plentiful with plenty to choose from, we would recommend this place and certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Spacious comfortable rooms, and afternoon tea on arrival very welcome after a long walk. B&B well located nearby to eateries and local knowledge to advise on where to go. A great choice for breakfast to cater for all tastes and delicious. Thoroughly recommend to walkers or anybody wanting a stop in Krkby Stephen.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the back so it was nice and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LornaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Katie at Kirkby Stephen. The house is ideal for bed and breakfast with large comfortable rooms and excellent facilities. Katie made us very welcome, recommend where to eat that evening and prepared an excellent breakfast the next morning. We would like to stay again when we repeat the Coast to Coast. Look out for the bright blue parrots on the roof.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0yreiver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkby Stephen hotels
0.8 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tranna Hill
Tranna Hill
#2 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
The Black Bull Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#11 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#4 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fletcher Houses
Fletcher Houses
#9 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Castle View Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 High Street, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Stephen
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Castle View Bed And Breakfast Kirkby Stephen, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing