We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect romantic cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rachel M
2 reviews
“Perfect romantic cottage”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We recently spent a long weekend at the cow byre. We loved it from the welcome card, wine and chocolates to the home from home comforts.
The cottage had everythig we needed and was surrounded by lovely walks and close by to Kirby Stephen.
We are looking forward to returning in the bear future.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
29cjb1972
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Romantic, perfectly planned out cottage”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

From the wine, cookies and welcome card to the wonderful slippers and bathrobes it was clear that the owners really care about this property and the guests that stay there.
Really great attention to detail made this the perfect getaway cottage. The photos really don't do it justice. Everything was just wonderful
I would highly recommend staying here - although possibly not in January as the weather was appalling!
The restaurant guide came in handy and on Saturday night we had a great indian meal in Kirkby Stephen, about 5 miles away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig G
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I booked this for a weekend treat for my wife's birthday and have to say it was the best decision I made! It is simply incredible. The pictures do not do it justice and if you are looking for a perfect, romantic weekend (or longer if you are lucky!) then this has to be the place.

Lovely personal touches, such as chocolate, bottle of wine and cookies waiting upon our arrival and fresh milk and eggs all made for a wonderfully relaxing three nights. A perfect base to tour the Lakes but plenty of local walks if you dont fancy driving once you get there.

I cannot recommend The Cow Byre enough and hope that one day we will be fortunate enough to return to this small piece of heaven. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Not applicable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilow30
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary in May and it has been beautiful! The photos of The Cow Byre are lovely but really didn't do it justice. We were amazed at how lovely it was is the flesh!
When we arrived we had milk, eggs, wine and cookies waiting for us, which was a lovely touch. The place is immaculate and decor is completely my taste. We spent the first day just saying how we could live here! I really can't rate it enough.
Mark and Lisa were fab. Really friendly and helpful. The cottage is full of information on where to visit, which was really helpful.
It's really nice to actually go somewhere and it be this perfect as there is usually something that can put a bit of a dampner on your holiday but there has literally been nothing. This has been nicer than our 2 week honeymoon abroad, even though the weather hasn't been brilliant, it hasnt mattered as its just nice to be here and everything be so easy! We will certainly be returning!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE
Reviewed 8 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Skipton
Reviewed 5 January 2012 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$52
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing