We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Cottage is in a good location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
shaun c
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Cottage is in a good location”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Cottage is in a good location, well decorated, maintained and spotlessly clean.
It well worth it for the price we paid, but there were a few minor issues
It was very cold in the evening, but we could not access the cupboard where the central heating was kept to turn it on.
We could not turn on the gas fire the ignition system seems to be broke.
Bedside lamps in master bedroom do not work, I tried replacing them with new bulbs but there seems to be an electrical fault.
We found one small bath towel and one hand towel for each guest insufficient for our of one week stay.
There was only one tea towel in the kitchen and one plastic bin liner also insufficient for one a week stay.
The key safe at the back door is very difficult to open if you are not used to this type
Over the years we have stayed in Kirkby Steven quite a lot and comparing them against the best in this price range, it is most definitely up there.
Apart from these (minor issues) it was the only thing stopped us giving it an excellent score
we had a fantastic week at Fettler's cottage
Thank you Shaun and Mary

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevetaff...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best self catering ever ever”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This cottage was brilliant can not praise it too highly, clean, co sy, well worth the money, everything you could wish for down to carrier bags for the shopping

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry H
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exactly what we were looking for and beyond our expectations”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a very cosy cottage with everything we could ask for. It was very clean and well equipped for our stay in Kirkby Stephen.

It is well positioned to allow visitors to enjoy the town's facilities without the need to drive.

I would happily recommend this cottage as a comfortable and warm base to enjoy a break in a very friendly and welcoming Cumbrian town, and my wife and I hope to stay again in the future

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen w
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superbly clean with everything you need”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A superb little cottage with everything you need.
Spotlessly clean and in a superb location for local pubs,shops etc.
Very comfortable and warm even in december.
Definitely recommend and would use again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments! We are glad that you had a comfortable stay and hope to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginiam...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutly fantastic”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

From the minute we arrived we have had a fantastic time, the cottage its self is really lovely ,and very well equipped , very cosy and has everything you need for a relaxing break, the rooms are decorated to a very high standard, everything is spotless and clean, the cottage is close to all the shops , bakers, butchers , local co-op and spar shop, you are surrounded with beautiful views and walks, and the Kirkby railway station is only a mile and a half walking distance from the cottage, we had lovely journey to Carlisle to visit the castle, we will definitely be returning next year and we can not wait, max the dog has enjoyed every minute too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage and the walks and views
Liked least: nothing at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerbiePai...
paisley
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great week at Fettlers Cottage, Kirkby Stephen”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Had a great weeks holiday in this lovely cottage, spotlessly clean, cosy and comfortable, has everything you need. beds also really comfortable. Kirkby Stephen is a great place to base yourself. Also the cottage is 2 mins walk from all the facilities. We ate in the Kings Arms and also the Nateby inn in the next village, both very good value and lovely food. We also enjoyed various walks round the local countryside with our dog Herbie. We visited the cheese factory at Hawes, Kendal and Ambleside. We were also lucky enough to see the annual sheep sales at the Auction mart in Kirkby Stephen. Locals very friendly and a place I would recommend and also recommend Fettlers Cottage and we hope to return sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shotts
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing