We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous and worth a stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkby Stephen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bollam Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 25 Kirkby Stephen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We visited whilst walking Lady Annes Way and we were greeted with tea and cake. The room was delightful and the bathroom was fabulous too. We cant wait to return on the Coast to Coast and enjoy the wonderful breakfast that Peter served to us!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliescrazyoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Another warm welcome for 2 weary MTBrs limping into KS, the first stopover of a grueling 200 mile pennine circuit. Bollam was chosen for a specific reason; we stopped last year during C2C trip and were so impressed we planned a new route and made sure this B&B was the first stop - it's that good! It's not just the immaculately furnished rooms, comfortable lounge, superb breakfasts, cycle shed etc but the additional things as well - the warm welcome from Elaine with tea & cake, the lit fire because rain was forecast, great MTB banter with Pete and a genuine interest in people and travel.
No matter what your particular interests are, if you'e in the area this really is a great B&B.
Tip for all you hungry MTBrs; not many eateries in KS will need to book at busy times Elaine happy to advise, chippies x2 close approx 19:30.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Second visit. Wonderful both times. Very good quality accomodation . Immaculately clean, warm, cosy, comfortable with excellent en- suite shower. Lovely downstairs lounge. Elaine is so friendly and genuinely did everything to make our stay so special. Cakes after a hard days walking and somewhere for wet boots to dry. And the breakfasts are terrific. It's only a short walk from the town centre so easy to walk down for shopping or to go out for an evening meal. And the views from the bedrooms are lovely- with lambs and horses in adjacent fields . Unreservedly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My partner and I were in Brough and Kirkby Stephen for the Annual Commercial Vehicle Rally and returned to Bollam Cottage for B.andB. Having stayed there last year we knew what a lovely home we were visiting. Elaine and Peter are friendly,helpful and welcoming hosts who show a real interest in the welfare of their guests.It's a pleasure to be in their company! As for the cottage-beautifully renovated and artistically decorated throughout with quiet bedrooms overlooking lovely views. A wonderful breakfast with healthy and delicious options - an absolute pleasure to stay there. We would highly recommend Bollam Cottage in the lovely Eden Valley and look forward to our next visit.
Sarah and Lawrence

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed with Elaine at Bollam Cottage on the nights before and after our Coast to Coast walk. She has a superb property and is a kind and welcoming hostess. She's interested in and supportive of her C2Cers. Facilities are first class - our lovely room with ensuite was an absolute corker. This is a very fine place to stay in KS.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the road side, above the kitchen. It's a twin and I'm not sure what the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vogel421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I had a 2 night stop in Kirkby Stephen during a Coast to Coast walk in September 2013, booked with Packhorse. As I came down the hill into KS I was told my booked accommodation elsewhere in KS had a plumbing issue but that Bollom Cottage had agreed to me staying with them at short notice. Elaine and Peter were a joy. Welcomed with tea and cake and then left to the run of this beautiful, warm and cosy accommodation I also happened upon an acoustic guitar which allowed a perfect afternoon out of the rain. Peter advised a better route than Wainwright's up to Nine Standards, and Elaine was a wonderful host. Well done to the Jolly Farmers and Packhorse for executing the change so late in the day, but I couldn't have asked for a better place to rest my blisters than Bollom Cottage.

Room Tip: If you have a couple of friends then book the whole place. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

4 of us started our trip from here on a recent coast to coast cycling trip. Elaine was very welcoming and the whole set up was lovely. The cottage held up to 6 people, and we near enough had the place to ourselves. Lounge, dining room, bedrooms etc... Lovely hot drinks and cake when we arrived, beautiful breakfast in the morning. Had a lovely view out of the back bedroom window, and even managed to feed the neighbours horses with toast left over from breakfast. Full points Elaine for attention to detail, like providing small torches to use when coming back on a night from Kirkby Stephen. Would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkby Stephen hotels
0.3 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#5 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
507 reviews
4.6 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#11 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
The Black Bull Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
171 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tranna Hill
Tranna Hill
#2 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bollam Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bollam Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Bollam Cottage Nateby Road, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Stephen
Price Range: £35 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you in this traditional toll cottage, serving homemade refreshments on arrival. This property is tastefully refurbished with all the charm of a bygone era - Original features include a wood burning stove, beams, flag floors and much much more. Close to the town centre with outstanding views. Ideal location in the Pennines close to the Lake District, the Yorkshire Dales and on Wainwright's Coast to Coast route. Two twin en-suite rooms- which can be converted to super kings and a double room available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bollam Cottage Bed And Breakfast Kirkby Stephen, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing