We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed open late - just for us”

Coast To Coast Fish and Chip Shop
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Stayed open late - just for us”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Went to this chippy as we were turned away from the one next to out hotel as we were dining at about 19:50

We arrived at 19:59 and looked at the closed sign, but the owner was still behind the counter.
We asked if he was still open - "yes" - could we sit down to eat - "of course" he said.
That's the difference between talking to the owner and just the staff in the other chippy.

Food was promptly served, was piping hot, very tasty and filled the spot just right.
Price was fine for sit in fish and chips.

Well done for going the extra mile - very much appreciated.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seanclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    3
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yarm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Find another chippy !!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Out of the 3 fish and chip shop's in Kirkby Stephen, we had to choose this one !
Whilst the chips were not actually too bad the fish was revolting.
It looked like it had been cooked and stood for about 3 hours.
The batter was so hard I literally had to saw through it - not like fish batter should be at all.
I don't know what the other fish shop's are like but they have to be better than this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wallsy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“fish and chips !”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

6th of may bank holiday tried this chip shop and was very dissatisfied with what was served the batter was brown not golden under the brown shell the batter was raw and soggy
The fish for what there was of it was just cooked the chips the dog would not eat them very poor i will never go in again

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leonard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle under Lyme
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great chips”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Have a sit down meal here. Enjoy the great fish and chips. If you are not absolutely stuffed to the gills, live wildly and try the deep fryed creme egg. Much nicer than it sounds!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LynnParsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best chippy in town”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Paul and his staff are ACE. The fish is always fresh and the chips just right. They also offer a sit down cafe which we have used once. We will not go anywhere else for fish and chips in Kirkby Stephen and they do a great pizza

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stainmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coast To Coast Fish and Chip Shop also viewed

Kirkby Stephen, Eden District
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District
 
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District
Brough Sowerby, Kirkby Stephen
 
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District
 

Been to Coast To Coast Fish and Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing