We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of calm with loads of attention to detail”
Review of Cheskin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheskin House
Ranked #16 of 25 Kirkby Stephen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My stay at Edwina was truly exceptional: The house is located in a beautiful setting a short drive out of Kirkby Stephen. I arrived by train and she picked me up from the train station. The 2 rooms are big and decorated luxury with much attention to detail and comfort for the guests.
Edwina also offers to cook for guests in the evening. The 4 course meal was delicious and included a well chosen wine. She is very helpful in providing information on the local area and a great person to chat too over a glass of wine.

Room Tip: Both rooms are great - one has a freestanding bath tub
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si_and_Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Cheskin House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

What a unique experience staying at Cheskin House. From the minute you arrive, Edwina anticipates your every need and you will feel truly spoilt! Fabulous home-made food, locally sourced, combining exotic taste combinations and eaten in the most fantastic surroundings. Luxurious and extremely comfortable bedroom. Highly recommended for a special break in the beautiful English countryside.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at Cheskin House for five days in June, and were absolutely blown away by the experience. Such a beautiful house in the most idyllic of landscape settings in Cumbria. From the moment you arrive Edwina Sorkin makes you feel cozy and at home, and more precisely like royalty. Every room of the house is tastefully decorated with lovely art and exact attention to detail, and what a joy it is to bask by the warmth of the fire in the guest lounge in the afternoon and enjoy a brandy or whiskey, or a pineau des charentes, with good conversation or a book. The location is superb and highly central to the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales, or even Edinburgh, but what stood out above all else to us was the incredible cooking of Edwina. We ate breakfast each day at Cheskin House, and a number of dinners as well. Each dish was prepared with passion and was so different and unique, showcasing local ingredients and produce which are of the highest quality. Edwina takes you on such a culinary adventure across multiple dishes and courses that is beyond memorable and beyond michelin quality. We have had many B&B experiences in Napa/Sonoma, New England and elsewhere, but our brief time at Cheskin House beats them all. We warmly thank Edwina for the incredible time we had and hope to come back soon! Well worth our trip from the States.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frieam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Joe and I arrived for a four-night stay and were greeted by Edwina's scrummy tea. Lovely house and garden in a very good position for glorious walks. The Champagne bedroom was beautifully furnished and the bed very, very comfortable. The huge bath and the bathroom with candles was so relaxing. We had 4 breakfasts, all different and absolutely delicious. Edwina is an amazing, friendly and welcoming hostess and her food was so tasty. Next time we will definitely be staying in for dinner. Nothing was too much trouble for Edwina and we had a marvellous stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Both bedrooms are individual and elegant with great comfort and luxury. Many extra touches. A few words to describe Cheskin House....Indulgent,Luxurious,Different,Committed to quality and attention to detail.
The wine and food is excellent and Edwina can easily bowl you over with her attention to making your stay memorable!

Room Tip: Choose the room with the exotic bath tub with its grand candles n all.......have a soak you will nev...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheetal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My husband John and I have had the pleasure of dining at Cheskin House twice now, we took our son and daughter-in-law aswell. Edwina's hospitality is second to none not to mention her excellent cooking and presentation. She also uses locally sourced ingredients to her credit. Her letting rooms are very stylish with no expense spared in their fittings it would be luxurious to stay if we didn't have a cottage nearby.We certainly look forward to dining there again perhaps in the summer when we could eat in the conservatory. Her wine room is impressive with wines for all tastes and pockets.
Keep up the good work Edwina, we shall see you again soon

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juner886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The food, the wine, the decore and the style were amazing. It took some time for it to dawn on us that the wonderful friendly welcome with foodie delights and log fire in the guests lounge were just the beginning of a unique culinary and wine experience. Our Sancerre bedroom was beautifully furnished, the facinating pictures throughout the house thought provocing & if we had failed to take dinner what a blunder it would have been. We would unhesitatingly return at the slightest excuse to this glorious Eden Valley haven.

Room Tip: Only 2 - take either
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Stephen
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Moss Grove Organic
Moss Grove Organic
#6 of 20 in Grasmere
400 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#5 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheskin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheskin House

Address: New Biggin on Lune, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Stephen
Price Range: £118 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheskin House is a luxury bed and breakfast in the Eden Valley, Cumbria where the emphasis is on making each and every guest feel very welcome and special. Luxury en-suite bedrooms furnished and decorated to the highest standards. Afternoon tea served on arrival. Dinner by prior arrangement for guests and non residents. Fine selection of wines to compliment dinners based on local seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Cheskin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheskin House Kirkby Stephen, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing