We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”
Review of Cheskin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheskin House
Ranked #16 of 25 Kirkby Stephen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2014

From the warm welcome to the beautiful room this was a wonderful place to stay for a weekend in the Dales. The personal touch is clear and nothing was too much trouble. We didn't eat in for the evening meals, but judging from the quality of the breakfast (I recommend the banana bread!) and the look of the wine store, I would expect those who choose to would be in for a treat.
Thank you for a lovely weekend, and best of luck for Beijing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Cheskin House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Thank you Edwina for a lovely couple of days stay and your warm and friendly welcome.

We stayed new years eve and new years day with Edwina, we were made to feel warm and welcome from the minute we arrived.

We had a three course breakfast both mornings with gorgeous smoothies, all the food is either home made or locally produced which is so nice to find. I have told Christine (my wife) to buck her ideas up or else I am moving in with Edwina ;)

The rooms are large with the most comfortable beds I have slept in for ages.

Thanks again for a lovely stay.

Just thought I would add if Trip Advisors rules allow it, Edwina is doing an 8000 mile road trip to Beijing over 30 days to raise money for Cancer Research UK and Macmillan Cancer Support. She deserves our support.

http://www.cheskinhouse.com/beijing-biddies/

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanWright W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A very warm welcome was the start of a most enjoyable evening. an Amazing home from home with the most wonderful collection of art to browse at before settling down to a superb dinner. Nothing was too much trouble and the attention to detail is quite remarkable. The selection of fine wines in the wine room was an experience and Edwina`s knowledge of the collection was very helpful. Cannot wait to return for our next meal. Don't leave without trying Edwina`s home made ice cream!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very recently my husband and I spent 2 great days at Cheskin House being completely spoiled by the comfort and excellent food. The lounges and bedrooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated and the food was just a treat.; breakfasts of fruit smoothies, granola, muesli, banana and chocolate loaf, pancakes with icing sugar and lemon drizzle etc - all home made!
Edwina loves experimenting with flavours and this was used also to great effect in her dinners - eg chicken breasts with a port sauce on a bed of feta cheese and rocket; crepes with ricotta cheese and raspberries.
Nothing was too much trouble for her. Definitely worth a visit if you want to give yourself a special treat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My stay at Edwina was truly exceptional: The house is located in a beautiful setting a short drive out of Kirkby Stephen. I arrived by train and she picked me up from the train station. The 2 rooms are big and decorated luxury with much attention to detail and comfort for the guests.
Edwina also offers to cook for guests in the evening. The 4 course meal was delicious and included a well chosen wine. She is very helpful in providing information on the local area and a great person to chat too over a glass of wine.

Room Tip: Both rooms are great - one has a freestanding bath tub
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si_and_Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

What a unique experience staying at Cheskin House. From the minute you arrive, Edwina anticipates your every need and you will feel truly spoilt! Fabulous home-made food, locally sourced, combining exotic taste combinations and eaten in the most fantastic surroundings. Luxurious and extremely comfortable bedroom. Highly recommended for a special break in the beautiful English countryside.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at Cheskin House for five days in June, and were absolutely blown away by the experience. Such a beautiful house in the most idyllic of landscape settings in Cumbria. From the moment you arrive Edwina Sorkin makes you feel cozy and at home, and more precisely like royalty. Every room of the house is tastefully decorated with lovely art and exact attention to detail, and what a joy it is to bask by the warmth of the fire in the guest lounge in the afternoon and enjoy a brandy or whiskey, or a pineau des charentes, with good conversation or a book. The location is superb and highly central to the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales, or even Edinburgh, but what stood out above all else to us was the incredible cooking of Edwina. We ate breakfast each day at Cheskin House, and a number of dinners as well. Each dish was prepared with passion and was so different and unique, showcasing local ingredients and produce which are of the highest quality. Edwina takes you on such a culinary adventure across multiple dishes and courses that is beyond memorable and beyond michelin quality. We have had many B&B experiences in Napa/Sonoma, New England and elsewhere, but our brief time at Cheskin House beats them all. We warmly thank Edwina for the incredible time we had and hope to come back soon! Well worth our trip from the States.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frieam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Stephen
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Moss Grove Organic
Moss Grove Organic
#6 of 20 in Grasmere
400 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#5 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheskin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheskin House

Address: New Biggin on Lune, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Stephen
Price Range: £118 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheskin House is a luxury bed and breakfast in the Eden Valley, Cumbria where the emphasis is on making each and every guest feel very welcome and special. Luxury en-suite bedrooms furnished and decorated to the highest standards. Afternoon tea served on arrival. Dinner by prior arrangement for guests and non residents. Fine selection of wines to compliment dinners based on local seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Cheskin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheskin House Kirkby Stephen, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing