We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't really fault a thing”

Martino's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 59 Restaurants in Seaham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Durham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Can't really fault a thing”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a short wait for our table so we ordered drinks at the bar. Once seated the table was in a nice light and airy location. Service was efficient and friendly. All of the food was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection, we didn't leave a scrap. We had lunch from the main menu and our average cost was £12pp including a tip but there was a lunchtime special offer on aswell. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank borobabe_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    87
    32
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I visited the restaurant for the first time a few months back and have been a regular ever since.There's a lovely restaurant for celebrations, family/friend get togethers, a date night out or jut for an amazing Italian meal. The food is reasonably priced, cooked to perfection and comes in hearty portions (as you would expect in Italy!). Once you've finished the meal there's a relaxed bar area and a more social pool table area, which is great for kids, adult and groups of friends. All of the staff are welcoming, up beat, polite and kind, which makes the night all the better. When you visit, (and I strongly recommend you do) the potato skins are the best in Sunderland and the waiter Tenshey (pronounced tunshy) is the best waiter I've ever been served by in any restaurant. He is kind, caring and will do anything he can to make your night special. Get yourself down, you'd be missing a treat if you didn't!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miley447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TACKLETART1974
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Booked a works night out here, staff were pleasant and very helpfull, food was to a good standard, thanks for a lovely night

Helpful?
Thank TACKLETART1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I visited Martino's for the first time at the weekend, in a group of 16 celebrating an engagement. The restaurant was full with a few more large groups and couples. I didn't have a starter but my husband had the mussels in white wine and garlic sauce and said it was really tasty. I had the lamb shank for my main meal which was delicious. My husband really enjoyed his chicken Kiev which came with homemade chunky chips. I had the crime brûlée for dessert which was to die for, and something I'd definitely recommend.
The service was fine but nothing spectacular, as I found the staff weren't very engaging but maybe this was because they were busy.

On the whole I'd recommend but I have to say that I much prefer The Italian Kitchen in Sunderland!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claire277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Went to celebrate my birthday and had a fantastic meal and evening.

Staff were fantastic - so good we booked to come back the next evening

That was equally great and to cap it all off, due to a lack of taxis, the owners wife took us all back to the hotel. What a nice touch

Great place, buzzing atmosphere

Can't wait to go back the next time we return to seaham

Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Martino's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Martino's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing