We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Seaton Lane Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Seaham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights, room was spotless, quiet, and everything worked. Shower was very good in particular.

Food was exceptional, both in quality and value. Best of all though were the staff, very friendly and extremely helpful.

I'm happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    54
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
45
94
10
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here now on two occasions and both have been excellent.
Great room which was highly maintained and cleaned.
Great food and an excellent cooked to order breakfast.
I am looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had eaten in the restaurant a while ago, so decided to stay for a night whilst touring the area on holiday. The Seaton Inn exceeded our expectations. Wonderful room, very comfortable bed, and magnificent shower. Decor brilliant. Good size TV. We chose to be in a room set back far from the road, so very peaceful, and completely free from any traffic noise.

Plenty of car parking, and turn off on to the A19 north, very close by.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and had a wonderful meal, with very good service. Great choice from the menu. Breakfast was very nice, and plenty of it.

All the staff were friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be staying at the Seaton Inn again in the future, and cannot recommend it too highly. Have travelled all over the world on business and pleasure in the past, and value for money this is one of the best places have stayed at. The owners have done a superb job. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V2-60885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow,Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had an overnighter with Mrs Mystic last month at the Seaton Lane Inn. Well recommended, great service, with a smile. Food excellent British cuisine, good portions. Timothy Taylor 'Landlord' beer, a star amongst stars in my opinion. Easy to get to and from via the main Newcastle to Sunderland road. Rooms very comfortable and recently upgraded.
Well recommended. MM

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysticMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Having worked in Sunderland on and off for a few months, I am surprised I never found this great Inn earlier. Ideally located and easy to find just off the A19, it is an ideal pub hotel. The rooms which are large and fantastically furnished are in an attached annex. So unlike many pub hotels I have stayed at, here you do not get to hear the noise of the pub, or for that matter the A19 if you need to sleep early. Food was very good and served with a smile, what a difference that makes, breakfast was good and quick too. Plenty of off street parking is available. Will be going back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms look good and were not too hot either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

stay here all the time when I am working in Seaham - faultless boutique pub hotel.

Great food - tasty and much better that your average pub grub

rooms are small but perfectly formed and very clean - with huge beds with good quality furnishings

cocktail menu is a good one - amaretto sour - yummy !!!!

always stay here - highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Right from the start of my 5 day stay, the staff were extremely helpful. The manageress, waitresses and cleaners were pleasant from breakfast till last thing at night. The breakfasts and meals I had there were all very good, served to a very high standard. The room was clean, well laid out and quite at night. I was returning to this area to recapture some of my happier moments when my late dear wife was with me. The Seaton Lane Inn and staff just made my visit that extra bit special, and of course Sunderland won on Sunday which was the icing on the cake.
Thank you all for looking after me so well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
1.4 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,360 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
4.3 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Houghton-le-Spring
269 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seaton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seaton Lane Inn

Property: The Seaton Lane Inn
Address: Seaton Lane, Seaham SR7 0LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Seaham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Seaham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seaton Lane Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
\Imagine you find your ideal country pub, enjoy a fine meal and a few drinks – why move on? Well, now you don’t have to because the Seaton Lane Inn will provide you with somewhere luxurious to lay your sleepy head – at a price you can afford. The roadside inn has been extended with an 18-bedroom hotel which is attached to the main building and overlooks a paved, outdoor area. It is well sheltered from the prevailing winds and surrounded by colourful plants – including a herb garden. At night, the paved area twinkles with sunken lights and you won’t feel cold – the powerful heat lamps do their job. The hotel’s boutique-style bedrooms have been tastefully furnished by a top quality interior design team, decorated in different styles to a high standard and equipped with plasma TV, WiFi and king-size and super king-size beds. En suite shower rooms are of a high standard and hair dryers and tea and coffee making facilities are provided. There is also luxury, ground floor accommodation for disabled guests. Door entry is by card key and guests can take their choice of visiting other North East attractions – or spend a relaxing evening enjoying the culinary delights and friendly atmosphere of the Seaton Lane Inn’s restaurant, lounge and bar. Comfort, pleasant surroundings and a choice of locally sourced food and drinks to tempt the most discerning of palates – what more could you desire? For a start, you may be looking for an ideal base to savour the best of all the North East of England has to offer. That place is the newly extended and tastefully renovated Seaton Lane Inn boutique hotel. Situated by a country road through a village, it is only a few hundred yards from the A19 – making is less than 30 minutes to Newcastle upon Tyne and equally convenient for Durham City. Sunderland is just minutes away. The Seaton Lane Inn has come a long way from its early incarnation as a blacksmith’s forge; it now incorporates a stylish lounge/dining area, traditional bar and a new two-story hotel attached to the original building. The pub/hotel is run by owners who head a talented team. Their purpose is to make your stay at the Seaton Lane Inn a memorable one – for all the right reasons. These include the friendliness of the staff, the affable type of clientele you meet in a country inn, a tempting and varied menu (try the seafood) and wide range of beers, including excellent cask conditioned ales served from the hand pump, wines and spirits. You can relax in the comfort of the lounge, which has Sky TV, or join the regulars in the adjacent bar. The new hotel has 18 en suite double rooms which are tastefully furnished and have all modern conveniences including TV and radio, wireless internet access, toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Seaton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seaton Lane Hotel Seaham
The Seaton Lane Inn Seaham, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing