We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seaham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eastshaw Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Seaham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I just spent four nights at East Shaw Guesthouse at the end of September, and it was by far our favorite part of our two week trip to the U.K. Perfect summer-like weather didn't hurt, and I'm convinced that the Wilsons ordered that up just for us so that I could spent all those idyllic hours hunting for sea glass on the beach just outside their door. My husband was a big fan of Mick's hearty breakfasts; I loved the plate of cookies we found in our room every afternoon. It was a lovely, personal, quiet, relaxing experience and our hosts went out of their way with hospitality and helpful advice to make our trip even better. Thanks so much, Mick and Jules!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

This cottage has had a lot of work spent on it . We stayed for 3 nights and would have liked to stay longer.
it has 2 bedrooms one with large bunk beds that our friends said were comfortable, We had a double room. it was very clean and comfortable Shower over a bath, but was quite adequate.
Down stairs is a very comfortable lounge. It has a small televise and it also has a CD player with a selection of C D's. Fresh flowers were in the room made a special touch, whilst the wood burning fire made it so cozy.
In the dinning room a table of 6 chairs stood around a wooden table were we ate our breakfast and evening meal. Again the room had a wood burner and the window sill had yet again fresh flowers.

The kitchenette had been finished to a high standard With enough pot pans etc to cook a full meal. We were very pleased to see the food and drink that had been left for us .

The whole weekend was enjoyed by all, easy to get around about 20 mins to Beamish The owners Mick and Jules are the nicest people. They are obliging and very welcoming It really feels that you have to go back and we certainly will. They also have a B&B were our friends stayed. I can only say that they highly recommend that as well. So you are spoilt for choice. We had breakfast there with our friends on our last morning. It was delicious. Go and enjoy

Room Tip: The cottage or their B&B are both as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peteandmaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

As soon as we entered this beautiful cottage we felt at home and on holliday. A lot of holiday houses never achieve that homely feel without feeling you're trespassing. This cottage opened its heart to us and it was ours for the week.
Beautifully restored, with so many thoughtful and personal touches; odd radios in every room, Mick and Julie's tastes and touches make it just perfect for a get away or as a very comfortable base.
We arrived to bottle'S' of wine, treats, everytthing we could possibly need for breakfast. Even Mick's infamous and delicious homemade bread. Mick even went as far, when we met him to spoil and listen to the kids exclaim about the bread, that he dropped another loaf in later in the week. Wow.
The setting was great with the little brook (beck) and seats over looking it, a constant source of entertainment for the kids, with feeding and watching the birds through the binoculars provided, and checking them in the books. Mick's love of birds rubbed off a little.
With the lovely and welcoming neighbours along with other adventures (a little piece of wonder came home with us after Mick let the children in on the secret of beach glass....), we were very sad to have to leave, The children all had a little tear when we left
A utterley wonderful, wonderful place, and a high standard for other cottages to try to live up to.

Thank you Mick and Julie.

ps And if you needed another reason to visit, check out Lickety Splits Ice Cream parlour opposite Mick and Julies East Shaw Guest House in Seaham Harbour.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaronAndKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed for a few days in the charmingly beautiful St Cuthberts Cottage which is also owned by Mick and Julie from the eastsahw Guesthouse. We were visiting friends and family and the cottage provided everything we needed. It has been beautifully restored and feels so very very comfortable. We were greeted with a welcome bottle of wine and essentials and it was so nice to curl up in front of the wood burners. We stayed there with my Border Terrier dog 'Johnny' who loved the fact he could explore the nearby woodland right on our doorstep. The Cottage was quiet and a lovely place to stay.
One minus, if indeed there is one, is the lack of of mobile phone signal in the cottage - we had a moment where the fuses tripped and the cottage alarm system went off, we had to rely on the kindness of the lovely neighbour to let us use their landline phones to phone Mick andJulie to get the code as we couldnt get a signal to call out. An infirmation pack may also have resolved this issue.
It was a lovely stay and I am sure we will be back there soon when visiting Seaham again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMF73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is our second visit to Eastshaw Guesthouse.
We travelled with our two children, 15 & 12 yrs.
What an amazing time we had!
We were welcomed with open arms by Mick & Julie (& Henry the cool black lab!).
Our rooms were amazing, very homely, the "blue" bedroom has a log burning stove which is beautiful.
The house is fantastic, very homely & relaxing with adequate space & comfort.
The living room also has a log burning stove & exceptionally comfortable sofas (so comfortable we fell asleep in them!).
The kids were over the moon with their rooms, they even had a can of coke & some Haribos left in their rooms for them as well as tea, coffee, biscuits etc.
The bed linen is excellent quality & the beds were amazingly comfortable.
The en suite bathrooms were beautiful & immaculately clean.
We dont sleep very well as a rule but for the two nights we stayed, we have never slept better!
Nothing was a trouble to Mick & Julie. They had an excellent rapport with the kids.
Micks breakfasts are top notch! His potato cakes are to die for!
The breakfast selection is varied & extensive & beautifully prepared with quality ingredients.
Mick also makes all of his bread on the morning prior to breakfast which is gorgeous.
When we left this morning, the kids were disappointed as they wanted to stay longer! (So did we!!).
The attitude & approach that Mick & Julie have with their guests is faultless.
We are looking forward to staying with them again very soon.
It was a perfect weekend away!

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely sea view, as the house is yards from the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kym0392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights over the Great North Run weekend in September. I had entered late into the run and was struggling to find a place to stay the night before, until a friend of mine, who has family in Seaham, suggested I tried the Eastshaw guest house. Im so glad they did!

Mick, Julie and of course Henry (the black labrador) made us feel so welcome throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble. The bedrooms were lovely and Micks breakfasts, including the freshly made bread were fantastic. We didnt need lunch as we were still full! I enquired about the possibility of having porridge on the morning of the run as it was not an option on the breakfast menu. This was of course no problem and Mick certainly made sure I had enough to get me through the 13.1miles!

We loved the lounge area and prefered to sit and relax there on an evening. The log burner made it a cosy retreat after dinner and Henry often came to keep us company.

Both Mick and Julie are so friendly and we cant thank them enough for a fantastic weekend.

I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this guest house to my family and friends.

We look forward to staying again in the near future.

Gareth + Helen Davis

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GD-79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Just came back from a lovely break away to St Cuthbert's Cottage. The cottage really is a credit to Michael and Julie who have clearly invested a lot of hard work into creating the perfect holiday home! The cottage is homely, welcoming and beautifully decorated, with original features and fireplaces it soon feels like a home from home. A hamper of goodies including wine and home made bread awaits your arrival in the kitchen which overlooks a lovely little stream surrounded by trees and flowers.

Would highly recommend this cottage, especially if you are in need of some relaxation and TLC. Go on treat yourself!

Katy & Chris.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
0.8 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,505 reviews
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Houghton-le-Spring
280 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
756 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastshaw Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastshaw Guest House

Address: 2 Bath Terrace, Seaham SR7 7EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Seaham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Seaham
Price Range: £73 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Georgian four storey guesthouse overlooking the popular Seaglass beaches at Seaham Harbour County Durham.A unique aspect of our guesthouse is that once you make a booking with us the guesthouse is exclusively yours. If you are travelling alone or in a group, no other guests will be here. You have your own living room with logburner and wine on an evening. Fresh bread will be made every morning for you if you would like some. Furthermore we have our little holiday cottage by the stream in the delightful hamlet, Dalton le dale. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eastshaw Guest House Seaham, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing