We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eastshaw Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaham Hall(Seaham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
212
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
212
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea glassdalton le dalehomemade breadst cuthbertsblack labgreat hostshome from homewood burningwelcome hampereach morningliving roomcomfortable loungehouse is beautifuleach eveningbed and breakfasta wonderful stayhadrian's wall
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had three nights at St Cuthberts Cottage for the Fourth Test of the Ashes 2013, Mick was there when we arrived watering the plants, the garden and house were both immaculate, it is so nice to arrive somewhere and for it to be the same in 'real life' as in the pictures, so often I am disappointed (being of a particularly fussy nature!) . The cottage is welcoming and homely with just enough modern twists to make it comfortable but in keeping with the charm and age of the property.

Mick was very helpful in giving us directions into the town, the nearest supermarket and to Chester-Le-Street for the cricket (a bit of insider local knowledge for free parking too!)

Located by the church and a green park the cottage is very peaceful, even on a Sunday morning when everyone is arriving for church. My husband and I actually commented that we could happily live there ourselves.

The cottage is nicely decorated with some beautiful pieces of furniture and lots of thoughtful touches and extras.

Apart from the fact that we don't really have any need to go to Durham I would happily stay there again and would definitely recommend it, particularly as it is basically a B&B price, so many self catering cottages/houses are overpriced for what they offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldsGirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick_and_Jules, Owner at Eastshaw Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your smashing review.
We are so pleased you appreciated our lovely little slice of tranquility.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just returned from another fabulous stay at this "perfect" little retreat. Lovingly restored in a style true to it's heritage, this end of terrace cottage is set overlooking the stream, park and church. The outside area is filled with plants and flowers, a perfect spot to enjoy a morning coffee or an evening glass of wine and listen to the stream bubbling by. Just idyllic. Mick and Julie's hospitality is second to none and nothing is too much trouble.
Most holiday lets provide a "welcome pack" including bread, butter, milk etc... but this welcome pack contained Mick's homemade olive and feta bread! - just delicious!
There is so much to see and do in the area (be it collecting sea glass from the beach or visiting historical monuments or walking along Hadrian's Wall) that we just have to return... when can we come?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 312Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick_and_Jules, Owner at Eastshaw Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your return trip to St Cuthberts cottage.

Many thanks for taking time to write your generous review.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Had a very relaxing 3 day stay at Eastshaw whilst visiting relatives. It was a real home from home with the availability of the lounge, complete with chocolate and wine, being just what we needed for ourselves and 89 year old Mum. Mick and Julie were very welcoming and we plan to return soon.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick_and_Jules, Owner at Eastshaw Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Sandra and I once again visited Mick and Julie on a long weekend stay visiting friends.
What's to say,the same warm hospitality, the superb setting on the cliff top, the sublime room and decor and not forgetting Henry ensuring we eat ALL our breakfast.
Ah, the breakfast! A feast that keeps you going all day!

So, in summary, bloody great!!!!

See you later in the year,

Paul and Sandra.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick_and_Jules, Manager at Eastshaw Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for taking time to write your review.

It's always our pleasure to have you stay with us.

See you in November.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at Eastshaw Guesthouse whilst collecting son from Durham University. The whole house was spotlessly clean. Mick and Henry the dog welcomed us and made us feel instantly at home. The bed was comfy, shower clean, breakfast choice amazing, can't decide whether the best bit was Mick's home made bread, or his speciality potato cakes. We tried a different bread every day and are still trying to decide which was the favourite.

Lovely views over the harbour and beach area.

Mick is a great source of local knowledge, whether it be restaurants in Seaham and Durham or how to extend the coastal walk and catch the train back from Hartlepool.

We will be back sometime during the next 3 years!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolate179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick_and_Jules, Owner at Eastshaw Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Eastshaw and for taking the time to write your kind review.
It was our pleasure to have you stay here.
Hope to see you all in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews