We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottage in Dalton-le-Dale”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seaham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eastshaw Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Seaham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in Dalton-le-Dale”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend at St Cuthbert's Cottage in Dalton-le-Dale. The accommodation is very comfortable and the woodburning stoves make everything very cosy. The setting just next to the Parish church is attractive and the neighbours helpful and friendly. The welcome hamper was a lovely addition (fantastic bread!) and Mick couldn't have been more helpful. I hope we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick_and_Jules, Owner at Eastshaw Guest House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for staying at the cottage and making time to write your generous review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed the bread. There are plenty more flavours to try.

We also have a new Facebook page for St Cuthbert's cottage and Eastshaw guesthouse.

Hope to see you soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
77
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just back from a 2 day break staying with Mick & Julie at Eastshaw GH. The warm welcome, excellent bedroom, superb breakfast, fluffy dressing gowns, cosy sitting room with toasty wood burner plus fantastic local advice of where to go and where to eat were all fantastic! This is one of the best guest houses I have ever stayed in - the quality is 1st class but also the genuine interest Mick has for his guests shows in everything he does. Mick and Julie offer lots of thoughtful personal touches and made us feel so welcome in their lovely Georgian house overlooking the sea! We hope to return! ( and we fell in love with Henry the labrador too!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaCEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick_and_Jules, Owner at Eastshaw Guest House, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for staying at the guesthouse.

It was a pleasure to have you here, and to pick your brains about Scotland.

Have already recommended Scotland in a week to some pals.

Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at Easthaw Guesthouse last year. Such a find! The house is charming and couldn't ask for better hosts. Breakfast was beautifully prepared by Mick, with freshly baked bread and such offerings that would satisfy anyone's taste buds, or dietary needs. We were made to feel so welcome that we felt more like friends than house guests. Only wish we had come across this guesthouse sooner. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick_and_Jules, Owner at Eastshaw Guest House, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
What a lovely review.
We are chuffed that you enjoyed your stay and especially appreciated your breakfasts.

Thank you for staying and then taking time to write your review.

Many thamks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Every time we visit family in Seaham we make a point of booking St Cuthberts Cottage - we have been back three times now and every time it is simply charming. Mick and Julie are really wonderful hosts and really go out of their way to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.
The Cottage is very comfortable and cosy and has everything you need - the best thing being the two wood burners which are great when you want a relaxing night in in front of the television. The Cottage also has wi-fi so you can stay connected to anything you may need to.
We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMF73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick_and_Jules, Owner at Eastshaw Guest House, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We are so glad to see you both again and pleased that you enjoy those wood burners.
They really do make the difference .

Thanks for choosing to stay with us again.

Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A wonderful stay. I was made very welcome. The Guest House has a warm, comfortable atmosphere and the food is great. The home made bread rolls at breakfast were wonderful. My room was clean, quiet, and had everything I needed, plus a great view. I definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 911ASC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick_and_Jules, Owner at Eastshaw Guest House, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the homemade bread.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I was just looking for contact details for Mike as we want to make a second visit to St Cuthberts Cottage and realised that we have not written a review of our first visit last October. We stayed for a few days for our wedding anniversary and to visit family in the area. The cottage was so homely that we really felt we could live there permanently. We were so comfortable and relaxed that I actually cooked a Sunday roast (a first for me on holiday) leaving it in the oven while we went off for a local walk by the stream to the ruins The cottage has everything you would need and with two wood burners in the property it's so cozy. We did not actually manage to meet Mike as we arrived very late the first evening but he was instantly contactable by phone. We would definitely recommend this cottage and must try Eastshaw guesthouse sometime going by the reviews.

Room Tip: Our review and star rating is based on St Cuthberts cottage as not stayed at Eastshaw Guesthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earlygrey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick_and_Jules, Owner at Eastshaw Guest House, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time and writing your review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself so much that you have booked again.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My daughter Rose and I had the best time at Eastshaw Guesthouse but it has taken me this long to write the review because I'm so tech simple about how to do it. Mick and Julie were such excellent, interesting hosts. Mick cooks and bakes like a dream. He had excellent ideas for where to go to beach hunt for glass which had been the reason my daughter wanted to come to Seaham. Our stay was outstanding, the guesthouse commodious, access to the beach so convenient. We absolutely would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JewelSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick_and_Jules, Owner at Eastshaw Guest House, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Better late than never.

I hope you are both well and the Seaglass hunting is continuing to be fruitful.

Thanks for staying and leaving your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
0.8 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,364 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
8.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Houghton-le-Spring
269 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
719 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastshaw Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastshaw Guest House

Property: Eastshaw Guest House
Address: 2 Bath Terrace, Seaham SR7 7EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Seaham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Seaham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Georgian four storey guesthouse overlooking the popular Seaglass beaches at Seaham Harbour County Durham.A unique aspect of our guesthouse is that once you make a booking with us the guesthouse is exclusively yours. If you are travelling alone or in a group, no other guests will be here. You have your own living room with logburner and wine on an evening. Fresh bread will be made every morning for you if you would like some. Furthermore we have our little holiday cottage by the stream in the delightful hamlet, Dalton le dale. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eastshaw Guest House Seaham, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing